Olympus UK E-System User Group
Olympus UK E-System User Group

Join our unique resource for Olympus Four Thirds E-System DSLR and Pen and OM-D Micro Four Thirds photographers. Show your images via our free e-group photo gallery. Please read the e-group.uk.net forum terms and conditions before posting for the first time. Above all, welcome!

Go Back   Olympus UK E-System User Group > Show your photos > Foto Fair

Foto Fair Post your photos for friendly, non-critical feedback. This is the place to show pictures if you aren't yet ready for full-blooded critique, or simply want to share an interesting picture with other e-group visitors.

Old 2nd June 2010

Liked 1 Time in 1 Post
Novice trip to the nature reserve....

I think this is my very first post on here, certainly the first pictures I have put up.

Anyway, to give you a bit of background I'm new to the world of photography, I started off with a bridge camera, the S100FS - a fine camera but my only niggle is the LCD viewfinder, I find it much harder to view/track shots.

Anyway, I wanted to move into DSLR - but budget was tight (isn't it always!) I came across a used E-510 with 14-42mm and 40-150mm lenses and thought I would take the plunge. I've been reading both this, and other forums but have been a bit of a lurker, until now.

I am interested in a wide range of photography, from macro to portraits to nature to sport!!

At the moment my interest is mainly focusing around nature (creatures/flowers rather than landscapes)

I've been shooting pictures while out walking my dogs, to try and get a feel for the camera (steep learning curve!!) but today I decided to go to my local nature reserve (approx 5 minutes walk from my front door!!) and this is what I found.....

Now, I moved away from the pond on the reserve and took a walk. When I entered the reserve I knew there were no other people there, other than the 3 or 4 people who worked there - as all visiters have to sign in and mine was the only signature!!