Olympus UK E-System User Group
Olympus UK E-System User Group

Join our unique resource for Olympus Four Thirds E-System DSLR and Pen and OM-D Micro Four Thirds photographers. Show your images via our free e-group photo gallery. Please read the e-group.uk.net forum terms and conditions before posting for the first time. Above all, welcome!


Go Back   Olympus UK E-System User Group > Cameras, lenses and system accessories > Camera conference > Olympus E-520

Olympus E-520 E-520 specific discussion.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 3rd August 2011
g9ern g9ern is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Wisbech
Posts: 105
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Am I missing something?

I've just bought an E520 but there seems to be a problem - I can't achieve a focus lock.
It came with the 40-150 zoom and this is OK on another body and I've tried a different lens on the 520 - no different.
I went through the menus then reset then went through the menus again, still no joy.
The only thing I haven't done yet is compared the settings to my E510.
Any ideas or is the body faulty?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 3rd August 2011
Zuiko's Avatar
Zuiko Zuiko is online now
Administrator
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Dunmow, Essex
Posts: 22,190
Thanks: 1,991
Thanked 3,175 Times in 2,480 Posts
Likes: 3,448
Liked 4,504 Times in 2,141 Posts
Re: Am I missing something?

Does the body even attemot to focus the lens? If not it might be set to manual focus.

Another problem could be dirty lens contacts in the body, try giving the a careful clean.

Does the lens lock positively when mounted on the body, without any play? Damage to the lens mount on the body is another possibility.

Good luck, hope it's easily sorted.
__________________
John

"A hundredth of a second here, a hundredth of a second there even if you put them end to end, they still only add up to one, two, perhaps three seconds, snatched from eternity." ~ Robert Doisneau
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 3rd August 2011
g9ern g9ern is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Wisbech
Posts: 105
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Re: Am I missing something?

Hi John

Thanks for your prompt reply.

The camera does attempt to focus. As you activate the AF (set to Fn button) there is a delay before the lens focus 'zooms' out and back without achieving lock.

I've rubbed the contacts with a clean cotton bud but no difference.

There is no undue play in the mounting.

Ian
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 3rd August 2011
Zuiko's Avatar
Zuiko Zuiko is online now
Administrator
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Dunmow, Essex
Posts: 22,190
Thanks: 1,991
Thanked 3,175 Times in 2,480 Posts
Likes: 3,448
Liked 4,504 Times in 2,141 Posts
Re: Am I missing something?

Hopefully some others will chip in with ideas. My only other thought at this stage, is it set to single or continuous AF?
__________________
John

"A hundredth of a second here, a hundredth of a second there even if you put them end to end, they still only add up to one, two, perhaps three seconds, snatched from eternity." ~ Robert Doisneau
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 3rd August 2011
Nick Temple-Fry's Avatar
Nick Temple-Fry Nick Temple-Fry is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Wiltshire
Posts: 4,395
Thanks: 17
Thanked 190 Times in 142 Posts
Likes: 0
Liked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Re: Am I missing something?

When you half press the shutter - does the f-number display in the viewfinder, or does it remain blank. If the latter then it does suggest the contacts (or something else in the connection twixt camera/lens) is at fault.

Nick
__________________
Nick Temple-Fry

Medicine as a science ranks somewhere between archaeology and economics.

www.theChurchPhotographer.co.uk 90 Churches -- Fairford St Mary's, exceptionally splendid
www.temple-fry.co.uk
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 3rd August 2011
g9ern g9ern is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Wisbech
Posts: 105
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Re: Am I missing something?

John

The camera is set to S-AF+MF at present. Just tried it on C-AF and it behaves exactly the same.

Nick

The f-number etc is displayed.

I'm thinking the camera is malfunctioning.

Ian
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 3rd August 2011
Zuiko's Avatar
Zuiko Zuiko is online now
Administrator
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Dunmow, Essex
Posts: 22,190
Thanks: 1,991
Thanked 3,175 Times in 2,480 Posts
Likes: 3,448
Liked 4,504 Times in 2,141 Posts
Re: Am I missing something?

Must admit it seems to be a case of return to seller, what a nuisance.
__________________
John

"A hundredth of a second here, a hundredth of a second there even if you put them end to end, they still only add up to one, two, perhaps three seconds, snatched from eternity." ~ Robert Doisneau
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 3rd August 2011
peak4's Avatar
peak4 peak4 is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Buxton, Derbyshire.
Posts: 1,702
Thanks: 130
Thanked 221 Times in 186 Posts
Likes: 205
Liked 190 Times in 126 Posts
Re: Am I missing something?

You could try blowing out the AF sensor window in the throat of the camera, at the bottom, just behind the lens mount. There could be a bit of fluff in there.
I don't have an E520 myself, but how does the live view work. Can you get it to focus in LV mode? (this would only be relevant if you can set it to Contrast AF in LV mode)


Good luck
__________________
Best Regards
Bill

The nearest I have to a home page.
http://www.flickr.com/photos/peak4/
They're Watching You!
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 4th August 2011
g9ern g9ern is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Wisbech
Posts: 105
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Re: Am I missing something?

Thanks for all your help but still no joy.

I've contacted the seller about sending it back and he says he won't accept returns.

Since it was from Ebay I guess I'll have to make a claim.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 4th August 2011
Howi Howi is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Sheffield
Posts: 180
Thanks: 6
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
Likes: 4
Liked 1 Time in 1 Post
Re: Am I missing something?

Quote:
Originally Posted by g9ern View Post
Thanks for all your help but still no joy.

I've contacted the seller about sending it back and he says he won't accept returns.

Since it was from Ebay I guess I'll have to make a claim.
It's not a return if it is faulty!
Get your claim in to ebay.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 4th August 2011
meach meach is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Stockton-on-Tees, UK
Posts: 653
Thanks: 125
Thanked 30 Times in 28 Posts
Likes: 0
Liked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Re: Am I missing something?

He has no choice if it's faulty - you're covered by the Sale of Goods Act.
__________________
Paul
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 4th August 2011
g9ern g9ern is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Wisbech
Posts: 105
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Re: Am I missing something?

Howi/Paul
I know, he's not willing to give me his address so it's off to Ebay we go!
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 4th August 2011
DJMC's Avatar
DJMC DJMC is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Lutterworth, Leics
Posts: 1,236
Thanks: 2
Thanked 46 Times in 35 Posts
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Re: Am I missing something?

Quote:
Originally Posted by meach View Post
He has no choice if it's faulty - you're covered by the Sale of Goods Act.
Not if it's 2nd hand. Applies to new goods from a retailer only (or services).
It IS covered by contract law however, but ebay claim is easier and cheaper!

Have you tried re-setting defaults?

Ebay claim seems the best way. Usually works out fine, but a lengthy process!

__________________
David
--------------------------
-XZ-1 * VF-2+EP-9
--------------------------
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 4th August 2011
g9ern g9ern is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Wisbech
Posts: 105
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Re: Am I missing something?

Quote:
Originally Posted by DJMC View Post
Not if it's 2nd hand. Applies to new goods from a retailer only (or services).
It IS covered by contract law however, but ebay claim is easier and cheaper!

Have you tried re-setting defaults?

Ebay claim seems the best way. Usually works out fine, but a lengthy process!

Yes, unfortunately I have had to do this before and it usually comes out on the buyers side.

Yes I tried the reset this morning.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 4th August 2011
Ian's Avatar
Ian Ian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Hemel Hempstead, Hertfordshire, UK
Posts: 11,655
Thanks: 427
Thanked 2,546 Times in 1,280 Posts
Likes: 882
Liked 1,757 Times in 793 Posts
Re: Am I missing something?

Quote:
Originally Posted by DJMC View Post
Not if it's 2nd hand. Applies to new goods from a retailer only (or services).
It IS covered by contract law however, but ebay claim is easier and cheaper!

Have you tried re-setting defaults?

Ebay claim seems the best way. Usually works out fine, but a lengthy process!

Not sure this is correct - any item sold (especially by a business - does the vendor have a 'shop' on eBay?) must meet the description as advertised and autofocus is fundamental to the operation of the camera.

Ian
__________________
Founder and editor of:
Olympus UK E-System User Group (http://e-group.uk.net)
Four Thirds User (http://fourthirds-user.com)
Digital Photography Now (http://dpnow.com)
Olympus camera, lens, and accessory hire (http://e-group.uk.net/hire)

Twitter: www.twitter.com/ian_burley
Flickr: www.flickr.com/photos/dpnow/
Pinterest: www.pinterest.com/ianburley/
NEW: My personal BLOG ianburley.com
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
I'm sure I'm missing something....... Homer Simpson Camera conference 10 1st January 2011 08:50 PM
HELP! CF card, missing space Ezzer General accessories 5 28th December 2010 10:36 PM
HELP! Missing person appeal Graham_of_Rainham The lounge 1 13th December 2009 05:10 PM
One thing missing from the E3 andym Olympus E-3 0 13th July 2008 06:46 PM
E-3 missing bits on their way Ian Olympus E-3 20 21st December 2007 10:47 PM


All times are GMT. The time now is 11:48 AM.


The Write Technology Ltd, 2007-2019, All rights reservedAd Management plugin by RedTyger