Olympus UK E-System User Group
Olympus UK E-System User Group

Join our unique resource for Olympus Four Thirds E-System DSLR and Pen and OM-D Micro Four Thirds photographers. Show your images via our free e-group photo gallery. Please read the e-group.uk.net forum terms and conditions before posting for the first time. Above all, welcome!


Go Back   Olympus UK E-System User Group > Cameras, lenses and system accessories > Accessory talk > Flash

Flash FL-related discussions can be found here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 15th August 2012
jdal's Avatar
jdal jdal is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Northumberland
Posts: 4,046
Thanks: 129
Thanked 503 Times in 439 Posts
Likes: 202
Liked 665 Times in 283 Posts
Remotely operating Oly flashes AARRGGHH

I have an E-P2 and an E-M5, the clip-in flash for the E-M5 (FL-LM2), FL50 and FL50R.

The FL50R is wireless - but optically, not radio. And not just plain vanilla optical either, something else is going on because the FL-50 won't fire the FL50R. Is it a weird combination of radio + optical trigger?

So I can fire the FL50R from my E-M5 if I use the clip-in. But the clip-in doesn't work on the E-P2 (WHY NOT) so I can't fire the FL50R remotely with the E-P2 without buying and then carting around yet another flash.

Why oh why do they not just use radio triggering from the camera

As it is, I'm stuck with radio triggers for the E-P2

That was just a moan, BTW, although a reply saying "you idiot, you just do ......" would be appreciated.
__________________
John

m4/3: E-P2, EM-5, 100-300, 14-42mm 12-50mm, 45mm, panny 14mm. 4/3: 7-14 + Flashes & tripods & stuff

"Take nothing but pictures and leave nothing but footprints".

Flickr gallery
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 15th August 2012
Bikie John's Avatar
Bikie John Bikie John is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Wessex
Posts: 3,930
Thanks: 187
Thanked 643 Times in 571 Posts
Likes: 484
Liked 723 Times in 483 Posts
Re: Remotely operating Oly flashes AARRGGHH

This rings very distant bells. Is there some mode that you have to set the FL50R to in order for it to work as a conventioanl slave flash? Not sure of the details as I don't have one, but I think it's something to do with avoiding pre-flashes (for when the camera calculates exposure) or something odd like that.

Good luck ... John
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 15th August 2012
Ross the fiddler's Avatar
Ross the fiddler Ross the fiddler is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Blue Mtns, NSW Australia
Posts: 13,939
Thanks: 2,058
Thanked 1,309 Times in 1,024 Posts
Likes: 5,357
Liked 2,067 Times in 1,120 Posts
Re: Remotely operating Oly flashes AARRGGHH

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bikie John View Post
This rings very distant bells. Is there some mode that you have to set the FL50R to in order for it to work as a conventioanl slave flash? Not sure of the details as I don't have one, but I think it's something to do with avoiding pre-flashes (for when the camera calculates exposure) or something odd like that.

Good luck ... John
That's the only way the FL50 & FL50R flashes can be used together, by setting the FL50R to slave (in Auto or Manual) with the other on the camera in normal flash mode in either Manual or Auto, because using TTL (in the FL50 on the camera) might be a bit eratic in consistancy with another slave flash playing its part.

I'm not sure, but I think the FL600R might be usable (maybe) as a commander in RC mode too, otherwise it's either the built in flash or provided clip on flashes for the PENs & OM-D that are the commanders & the FL50 (which goes for the FL50R & FL36R as well) can't be used for that.
__________________
Ross
I fiddle with violins (when I'm not fiddling with a camera).
Flickr: https://www.flickr.com/photos/ross-the-fiddler/
Cameras: OM-D E-M1 & Mk II, Olympus Stylus 1, OM-D E-M5.
Lenses: M.ZD12-40mm f2.8 PRO Lens, M.ZD40-150mm f2.8 PRO Lens, MC-14, MC-20, M.ZD12-50, M.ZD60 Macro, M.ZD75-300 Mk II, MMF-3, ZD14-54 II, Sigma 150mm F2.8 APO Macro DG HSM.
Flashes: FL36R X2, FL50R, FL50.
Software: Capture One Pro 10 (& Olympus Viewer 3).
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 15th August 2012
Wee man's Avatar
Wee man Wee man is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Newcastle Co. Down N. Ireland
Posts: 7,995
Thanks: 2,392
Thanked 1,151 Times in 1,026 Posts
Likes: 281
Liked 1,232 Times in 802 Posts
Re: Remotely operating Oly flashes AARRGGHH

Sorry cannot help but could not resist.....................

"you idiot, you just do ......"



I'll get my coat and will try not to slam the door on my way out.
__________________
Ed

What if the Hokey Cokey is what its all about?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 15th August 2012
PeterBirder's Avatar
PeterBirder PeterBirder is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: BRAINTREE ESSEX
Posts: 5,950
Thanks: 1,760
Thanked 1,024 Times in 854 Posts
Likes: 1,922
Liked 797 Times in 466 Posts
Re: Remotely operating Oly flashes AARRGGHH

Hi John.
There is a similar thread to this on fourthirds-user from a member who seems to have had the same problem and has apparently found it was to do with the connection between the camera and the clip in flash.

Here's the link. http://fourthirds-user.com/forum/sho...?p=85547#85547

Regards.
__________________
Peter

she looked at me and said "It's official. I hate your camera. It's just so amazing and perfect I want one!"

E-M10 MK II, E-M5, E-PL1, E-PM2, mZ 12-50, mZ 14-42mm EZ, mZ 17mm f 1.8, mZ 25mm f1.8, mZ 45mm f1.8, mZ 75-300mm II.
OM1n, OM 50mm f1.8.
Oly Viewer3, Dxo Pro 11. FastStone.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 15th August 2012
jdal's Avatar
jdal jdal is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Northumberland
Posts: 4,046
Thanks: 129
Thanked 503 Times in 439 Posts
Likes: 202
Liked 665 Times in 283 Posts
Re: Remotely operating Oly flashes AARRGGHH

Thanks for the tips, I'l have another try with different flash settings. I suppose I'll have to re-read the manuals

Peter - The clip-in works on the E-M5, but it doesn't even fire on the E-P2, the LCD stops it sliding right in.
__________________
John

m4/3: E-P2, EM-5, 100-300, 14-42mm 12-50mm, 45mm, panny 14mm. 4/3: 7-14 + Flashes & tripods & stuff

"Take nothing but pictures and leave nothing but footprints".

Flickr gallery
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Slave flashes Metz ian_t Flash 5 27th January 2012 08:18 AM
For sale E3 + lenses and flashes JeffC For sale or wanted small ads 14 3rd July 2011 05:28 PM
Sunpak SP140 and Auto 170 Flashes Alan Clogwyn For sale or wanted small ads 0 3rd August 2010 01:01 PM
Firing the FL-50 remotely...? theMusicMan Accessory talk 8 19th July 2010 09:41 PM
New Standard Operating Procedures sapper The lounge 5 8th June 2009 10:07 AM


All times are GMT. The time now is 10:25 AM.


The Write Technology Ltd, 2007-2019, All rights reservedAd Management plugin by RedTyger