Olympus UK E-System User Group
Olympus UK E-System User Group

Join our unique resource for Olympus Four Thirds E-System DSLR and Pen and OM-D Micro Four Thirds photographers. Show your images via our free e-group photo gallery. Please read the e-group.uk.net forum terms and conditions before posting for the first time. Above all, welcome!


Go Back   Olympus UK E-System User Group > Out of Focus area > The lounge

The lounge Relax, take a break from photo and camera talk - have a chat about something else for a change. Just keep it clean and polite!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 7th July 2012
Chevvyf1's Avatar
Chevvyf1 Chevvyf1 is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Devon, UK
Posts: 12,269
Thanks: 1,744
Thanked 1,281 Times in 1,112 Posts
Likes: 1,169
Liked 522 Times in 392 Posts
anyone had a "glitch" like this ?

One of my holiday shots ...



It is a Coconut Tree full of fruit ... I think there must have been a power drop at some point ? Anyone ever had this ?
__________________
.
.
[I].
.
I Lurve Walking in our Glorious Countryside; Photography;
Riding Ducati Motorbikes; Reading & Cooking ! ...


http://www.flickr.com/photos/photomagicf1_chevvy/sets/

the ONE photo album
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 7th July 2012
ardvorlich's Avatar
ardvorlich ardvorlich is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Lochearn Scotland
Posts: 589
Thanks: 9
Thanked 21 Times in 19 Posts
Likes: 0
Liked 3 Times in 1 Post
Re: anyone had a "glitch" like this ?

Chevvy can't see the exif.Did you have flash active in this shot looks like an flash sync speed prob. maybe to high a shutter speed?
Iain
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 7th July 2012
Kees's Avatar
Kees Kees is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 202
Thanks: 39
Thanked 18 Times in 15 Posts
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Re: anyone had a "glitch" like this ?

If you paid full price for that holiday I'd complain with the travel agency.
__________________
Some of my pictures can be viewed here.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 7th July 2012
Stewart G's Avatar
Stewart G Stewart G is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: California
Posts: 792
Thanks: 34
Thanked 95 Times in 89 Posts
Likes: 0
Liked 38 Times in 24 Posts
Re: anyone had a "glitch" like this ?

Because of the "smeared" color band in the middle, I'd guess it's a write-to-card problem. I've seen non-camera software do this (Painter Classic used to do this almost daily). Or as ardvorlich says, a flash sync problem, though I'd not expect the smearing to occur if the synch was out of whack, just the black band.
__________________
http://technopeasant.org
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 7th July 2012
DerekW DerekW is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Hampshire
Posts: 3,081
Thanks: 90
Thanked 334 Times in 261 Posts
Likes: 33
Liked 534 Times in 373 Posts
Re: anyone had a "glitch" like this ?

It could be a shutter curtain problem - the curtains move vertically on a horizontal shot - hence side to side on a portrait shot - did any other shots do this - was the battery running down any other strange symptoms
__________________
This space for rent
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 7th July 2012
Chevvyf1's Avatar
Chevvyf1 Chevvyf1 is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Devon, UK
Posts: 12,269
Thanks: 1,744
Thanked 1,281 Times in 1,112 Posts
Likes: 1,169
Liked 522 Times in 392 Posts
Re: anyone had a "glitch" like this ?

Hi Iain, Kees, Stewart and Derek, no flash was used - sorry but it seems I saved as jpeg no exif apologies
__________________
.
.
[I].
.
I Lurve Walking in our Glorious Countryside; Photography;
Riding Ducati Motorbikes; Reading & Cooking ! ...


http://www.flickr.com/photos/photomagicf1_chevvy/sets/

the ONE photo album
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 7th July 2012
Chevvyf1's Avatar
Chevvyf1 Chevvyf1 is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Devon, UK
Posts: 12,269
Thanks: 1,744
Thanked 1,281 Times in 1,112 Posts
Likes: 1,169
Liked 522 Times in 392 Posts
Re: anyone had a "glitch" like this ?

I would add that I can "view" the tiny RAW tile as complete - but as soon as I click on the shot it changes to this !

ps I have added an exif jpeg nw (and delted the other)
__________________
.
.
[I].
.
I Lurve Walking in our Glorious Countryside; Photography;
Riding Ducati Motorbikes; Reading & Cooking ! ...


http://www.flickr.com/photos/photomagicf1_chevvy/sets/

the ONE photo album
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 8th July 2012
David Morison's Avatar
David Morison David Morison is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Fulbeck, Lincolnshire
Posts: 3,507
Thanks: 71
Thanked 588 Times in 472 Posts
Likes: 48
Liked 298 Times in 175 Posts
Re: anyone had a "glitch" like this ?

This is exactly like the images I got just before my Digilux 2 sensor went kaput (replaced under warranty even though 4 years old) but if you can read the RAW tile OK then it's not that. Is it just on this image or some others?

David
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 8th July 2012
Chevvyf1's Avatar
Chevvyf1 Chevvyf1 is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Devon, UK
Posts: 12,269
Thanks: 1,744
Thanked 1,281 Times in 1,112 Posts
Likes: 1,169
Liked 522 Times in 392 Posts
Re: anyone had a "glitch" like this ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by David Morison View Post
This is exactly like the images I got just before my Digilux 2 sensor went kaput (replaced under warranty even though 4 years old) but if you can read the RAW tile OK then it's not that. Is it just on this image or some others?

David
Just this one image David, of 2,000 taken in two weeks on holidays ! I am fearing it was a "power surge" when I downloaded it ... I should check the card (if I have not done a format yet ...)
__________________
.
.
[I].
.
I Lurve Walking in our Glorious Countryside; Photography;
Riding Ducati Motorbikes; Reading & Cooking ! ...


http://www.flickr.com/photos/photomagicf1_chevvy/sets/

the ONE photo album
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 8th July 2012
Nick Temple-Fry's Avatar
Nick Temple-Fry Nick Temple-Fry is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Wiltshire
Posts: 4,395
Thanks: 17
Thanked 190 Times in 142 Posts
Likes: 0
Liked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Re: anyone had a "glitch" like this ?

Well the 'RAW' tile is actually a tiny embedded jpg image in the file.

Could be a corruption on reading the file, might just possibly be a bug in the raw converter used. I suppose if you managed to power off the camera while it was writing from the buffer to the card this might happen.

But my guess would be a card fault.

Sorry

Nick
__________________
Nick Temple-Fry

Medicine as a science ranks somewhere between archaeology and economics.

www.theChurchPhotographer.co.uk 90 Churches -- Fairford St Mary's, exceptionally splendid
www.temple-fry.co.uk
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 8th July 2012
David Morison's Avatar
David Morison David Morison is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Fulbeck, Lincolnshire
Posts: 3,507
Thanks: 71
Thanked 588 Times in 472 Posts
Likes: 48
Liked 298 Times in 175 Posts
Re: anyone had a "glitch" like this ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chevvyf1 View Post
Just this one image David, of 2,000 taken in two weeks on holidays ! I am fearing it was a "power surge" when I downloaded it ... I should check the card (if I have not done a format yet ...)
If in any doubt, providing I have downloaded all the relevant images I would always format the card. In fact I never "erase all" in camera I always re-format.

David
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 8th July 2012
DerekW DerekW is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Hampshire
Posts: 3,081
Thanks: 90
Thanked 334 Times in 261 Posts
Likes: 33
Liked 534 Times in 373 Posts
Re: anyone had a "glitch" like this ?

OK

Chevvy sent me the ORF file and I was able to read it into Aperture and see the whole image - I then exported a PSD version and sent it back to Chevvy
__________________
This space for rent
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 8th July 2012
ringneck's Avatar
ringneck ringneck is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Birmingham
Posts: 2,860
Thanks: 59
Thanked 135 Times in 131 Posts
Likes: 159
Liked 48 Times in 32 Posts
Re: anyone had a "glitch" like this ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by DerekW View Post
OK

Chevvy sent me the ORF file and I was able to read it into Aperture and see the whole image - I then exported a PSD version and sent it back to Chevvy
So does this tell us why it happened ?

The exif IS there ....
E5
F 5.6
1/30
iso 250
14mm length.
__________________
Keith


http://www.flickr.com/photos/68459774@N05

E500,E510 now dead,E520 (now retired),E600 and Grip,14-42,14-45,2x40-150,Sigmas 105 and 135-400 Now Dead..ex 25. Manfrotto 190. Plus lots of OM stuff.
Now also 4 items from the dark side...........
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 8th July 2012
DerekW DerekW is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Hampshire
Posts: 3,081
Thanks: 90
Thanked 334 Times in 261 Posts
Likes: 33
Liked 534 Times in 373 Posts
Re: anyone had a "glitch" like this ?

I can see the full EXIF data in Aperture. I think that there was a data combination in the file that could not be handled in the program that Chevvy was using yet it can be handled in Aperture.

I was also able to convert it into a DNG file using Adobe Digital Negative Converter program.

So I think that it is not a problem in the file but a deficiency in Chevvy's program.
__________________
This space for rent
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 9th July 2012
Ross the fiddler's Avatar
Ross the fiddler Ross the fiddler is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Blue Mtns, NSW Australia
Posts: 13,939
Thanks: 2,058
Thanked 1,309 Times in 1,024 Posts
Likes: 5,357
Liked 2,066 Times in 1,119 Posts
Re: anyone had a "glitch" like this ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chevvyf1 View Post
Hi Iain, Kees, Stewart and Derek, no flash was used - sorry but it seems I saved as jpeg no exif apologies
It looks like a card write failure to me. That is the sort of thing that can happen with emailed photos sometimes (on the horizontal) if half the data is lost.
__________________
Ross
I fiddle with violins (when I'm not fiddling with a camera).
Flickr: https://www.flickr.com/photos/ross-the-fiddler/
Cameras: OM-D E-M1 & Mk II, Olympus Stylus 1, OM-D E-M5.
Lenses: M.ZD12-40mm f2.8 PRO Lens, M.ZD40-150mm f2.8 PRO Lens, MC-14, MC-20, M.ZD12-50, M.ZD60 Macro, M.ZD75-300 Mk II, MMF-3, ZD14-54 II, Sigma 150mm F2.8 APO Macro DG HSM.
Flashes: FL36R X2, FL50R, FL50.
Software: Capture One Pro 10 (& Olympus Viewer 3).
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
"All" vs "Not Transferred Yet" When Uploading - Can I Set A Default On Launch? Phaedrus Software 1 4th July 2011 08:52 AM
31st Challenge - "Inspired by a painting or painter" Voting dbutch Photo challenges 4 30th July 2010 07:51 PM
31st Photo Challenge - "Inspired by a painting or painter" dbutch Photo challenges 12 22nd July 2010 07:18 AM
30th Photo Challenge -"Inspired By a Song Title" Voting gregles Photo challenges 6 27th June 2010 09:29 PM
How do I switch from "HELP" to "SOLVED" Graham_of_Rainham The lounge 1 8th April 2010 10:10 AM


All times are GMT. The time now is 07:06 AM.


The Write Technology Ltd, 2007-2019, All rights reservedAd Management plugin by RedTyger