Olympus UK E-System User Group
Olympus UK E-System User Group

Join our unique resource for Olympus Four Thirds E-System DSLR and Pen and OM-D Micro Four Thirds photographers. Show your images via our free e-group photo gallery. Please read the e-group.uk.net forum terms and conditions before posting for the first time. Above all, welcome!


Go Back   Olympus UK E-System User Group > Cameras, lenses and system accessories > Camera conference > Micro Four Thirds > Olympus OM-D E-M10

Olympus OM-D E-M10 The smallest and lightest Micro Four Thirds camera from Olympus with an integrated Electronic Viewfinder

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #16  
Old 20th August 2015
Gwyver's Avatar
Gwyver Gwyver is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: nr Stockport
Posts: 1,493
Thanks: 92
Thanked 332 Times in 209 Posts
Likes: 345
Liked 456 Times in 204 Posts
Re: Cable Release EM-10

By way of an alternative that could make use of stuff you might already possess...

If you use a E-M1, E-M10, or E-M5ii - which all have built-in WiFi - then why not use the OI-Share app on a Smartphone as your "Cable Release". You can change the settings on the OI-Share app to select Remote Shutter mode in place of the Remote LiveView and then it behaves just like a cable release but without the need to plug/unplug the tiny, hard to access, USB connector on the camera.
__________________
Chris
Reply With Quote
The Following User Liked This Post:
mstphoto (20th August 2015)
  #17  
Old 20th August 2015
mstphoto mstphoto is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Aberdeen, NE Scotland
Posts: 1,211
Thanks: 314
Thanked 117 Times in 109 Posts
Likes: 517
Liked 774 Times in 183 Posts
Re: Cable Release EM-10

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gwyver View Post
By way of an alternative that could make use of stuff you might already possess...

If you use a E-M1, E-M10, or E-M5ii - which all have built-in WiFi - then why not use the OI-Share app on a Smartphone as your "Cable Release". You can change the settings on the OI-Share app to select Remote Shutter mode in place of the Remote LiveView and then it behaves just like a cable release but without the need to plug/unplug the tiny, hard to access, USB connector on the camera.
Yes, I've used the app - not bad at all
I use a 2 year old iPhone 5 who's battery is flat by the time I get to the end of the street!!
OK, a very slight exaggeration but I can't depend on the phone battery

Mike
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 11th September 2015
mstphoto mstphoto is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Aberdeen, NE Scotland
Posts: 1,211
Thanks: 314
Thanked 117 Times in 109 Posts
Likes: 517
Liked 774 Times in 183 Posts
Re: Cable Release EM-10

Quote:
Originally Posted by mstphoto View Post
I recently bought a E-M10 from JohnN here on the forums.
I tried my E-M1 remote which is also a cheapy Amazon version (3.25) but found that it didn't work. Something was happening as it was focussing but not tripping the shutter.
I ordered another one which stated that it was for the E-M10 and E-M5 with no mention of the E-M1 so I thought it must be different from my own one.
It arrived yesterday and lo and behold it still didn't work.
Out came the Swiss Army Knife and I paired a wee bit off the plastic collar to make the connecter slightly longer and hey presto it works!!
I was rather chuffed with myself as I'm not known for my DIY skills

Mike
Don't try this at home folks
I tried the remote the other day and the innards of the connector detached and stuck inside the camera
Easily removed with pliers fortunately

Mike
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 16th May 2016
MJ224's Avatar
MJ224 MJ224 is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Carmarthenshire
Posts: 12,915
Thanks: 870
Thanked 682 Times in 633 Posts
Likes: 6,462
Liked 3,486 Times in 1,626 Posts
Re: Cable Release EM-10

Quote:
Originally Posted by mstphoto View Post
I recently bought a E-M10 from JohnN here on the forums.
I tried my E-M1 remote which is also a cheapy Amazon version (3.25) but found that it didn't work. Something was happening as it was focussing but not tripping the shutter.
I ordered another one which stated that it was for the E-M10 and E-M5 with no mention of the E-M1 so I thought it must be different from my own one.
It arrived yesterday and lo and behold it still didn't work.
Out came the Swiss Army Knife and I paired a wee bit off the plastic collar to make the connecter slightly longer and hey presto it works!!
I was rather chuffed with myself as I'm not known for my DIY skills

Mike
Yes my solution was the same.............

Circumcised the connector and no problems since

Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 16th May 2016
MJ224's Avatar
MJ224 MJ224 is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Carmarthenshire
Posts: 12,915
Thanks: 870
Thanked 682 Times in 633 Posts
Likes: 6,462
Liked 3,486 Times in 1,626 Posts
Re: Cable Release EM-10

Quote:
Originally Posted by mstphoto View Post
Don't try this at home folks
I tried the remote the other day and the innards of the connector detached and stuck inside the camera
Easily removed with pliers fortunately

Mike
only needs a mm sliced off to make it work.

Certainly in the connector is compromised, start again.

Mj
Reply With Quote
  #21  
Old 16th May 2016
Wee man's Avatar
Wee man Wee man is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Newcastle Co. Down N. Ireland
Posts: 7,995
Thanks: 2,392
Thanked 1,151 Times in 1,026 Posts
Likes: 281
Liked 1,232 Times in 802 Posts
Re: Cable Release EM-10

MST you are now top of the DIY class!

Wee Man
__________________
Ed

What if the Hokey Cokey is what its all about?
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 14th October 2016
lookmore lookmore is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: BE
Posts: 17
Thanks: 8
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Likes: 0
Liked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Re: Cable Release EM-10

I have a cheap intervallometer whose connector broke the first time I tried it. The metal part loved my camera so much that when I pulled the cable out the separated from the cable and stayed in the camera... Pulled that gently out and super glued it back into the cable end... Now it kind of works but I can't really recommend it. It is the Ishoot brand.

Sent from my thl 4000
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 18th October 2016
MJ224's Avatar
MJ224 MJ224 is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Carmarthenshire
Posts: 12,915
Thanks: 870
Thanked 682 Times in 633 Posts
Likes: 6,462
Liked 3,486 Times in 1,626 Posts
Re: Cable Release EM-10

I had problems with various cable releases for the Em10

I took an internet suggestion, that was to file down the plastic surround on the cable connector, effectively making the male end longer (ha ha)

Much as the suggestion above by pushing it in further (ha ha ha!!)

Mj
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
For sale RM-CB1 remote cable release RogerRamjet For sale or wanted small ads 2 10th September 2014 09:21 PM
Free cable release alfbranch For sale or wanted small ads 1 23rd November 2012 06:30 AM
HELP! Cable release on e600 baldyb Olympus E-620/600 12 27th January 2011 06:46 PM
HELP! Hahnel HRO 280 cable release Ian Accessory talk 7 12th January 2010 09:22 AM
FS - Olympus RM-CB1 cable release for E-3 StephenL For sale or wanted small ads 7 4th November 2009 11:42 AM


All times are GMT. The time now is 04:07 PM.


The Write Technology Ltd, 2007-2019, All rights reservedAd Management plugin by RedTyger