Olympus UK E-System User Group
Olympus UK E-System User Group

Join our unique resource for Olympus Four Thirds E-System DSLR and Pen and OM-D Micro Four Thirds photographers. Show your images via our free e-group photo gallery. Please read the e-group.uk.net forum terms and conditions before posting for the first time. Above all, welcome!


Go Back   Olympus UK E-System User Group > Cameras, lenses and system accessories > Software

Software Discuss Olympus Master, Studio and Viewer software applications as well as third party programs like Adobe Photoshop, Lightroom, Apple Aperture, and others.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 13th June 2011
Benedict Benedict is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Wales
Posts: 672
Thanks: 158
Thanked 55 Times in 44 Posts
Likes: 2
Liked 1 Time in 1 Post
Why choose 64bit software over 32 bit

Not really a camera question,however there a quite a few Techies on here who may offer their unbiased opinions - and for that I am extremely grateful.


So why should I buy 64 bit Windows 7 or any other 64-bit software. Am I fooling myself into thinking that something wonderful is about to happen with my new desktop now on order? The guys at PC World weren't exactly the brighest,more a case of how much have you got to spend !

I did read somewhere that you can still operate 32 bit software on Windows7 64 bit - can anyone answer this one as well

Many thanks
__________________
Benedict
---------

People may not remember exactly what you did, or what you said, but they will always remember how you made them feel.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 13th June 2011
Bikie John's Avatar
Bikie John Bikie John is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Wessex
Posts: 3,968
Thanks: 187
Thanked 649 Times in 577 Posts
Likes: 500
Liked 729 Times in 487 Posts
Re: Why choose 64bit software over 32 bit

I'm not an expert, but....

If you want to use lots of RAM you need the 64 bit version. Not sure where the limit is for 32-bit, probably 2 or 4 gigabytes.

Some 32 bit software will run happily on a 64 bit OS, some won't even install, some will install and then just fall over. I think some of the more expensive manifestations of Windows 7 will support some sort of 32 bit emulator, which is presumably supposed to run 32 bit apps quite happily.

There may be some hacks that will allow some 32 bit apps to run, as well. I think someone on here was talking about film scanners recently which needed something like this.

Last time I upgraded I wanted 8 gigs of RAM (ended up with 6, but that's another story) so needed 64 bit. Most things are fine, including some which protested during install. The regular scanner interface is called TWAIN which only runs on 32 bit. Installing Photoshop on a 64 bit system installs a 32 bit version as well. So as long as the scanner driver runs OK, it will import directly into PS which is my preferred workflow.

Ciao ... John
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 13th June 2011
catkins catkins is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: North east England
Posts: 1,193
Thanks: 106
Thanked 118 Times in 87 Posts
Likes: 135
Liked 71 Times in 37 Posts
Re: Why choose 64bit software over 32 bit

Having had major problems with Windoze XP failing (although luckily a Linux CD let me access all the hard drives and my data at the crucial time), I upgraded to Windows 7 Pro 64bit, and to date have had no problems with older programs that I have.
I installed onto a clean new large disk (upgrades from XP have to be a clean installation rather than upgrade), got rid of a lot of old programs left filling space on the old drive, and only updated a few programs - none have been paid for upgrades due to issues arising from 64bit software. Epson had some issues with not supplying 64bit drivers but that has been sorted I seem to remember, but certainly no obvious problems for me.

My reason for 64bit was the better use of memory (always difficult in reality to see), good reports from a relative, and for Windows 7 the news that Microsoft would stop supporting XP.

If you have a family student member check out SoftwareforStudents http://www.software4students.co.uk/M...n-details.aspx
Windows 7 Pro 64bit for about 40! Well worth the upgrade at that price.

Regards
Chris
__________________
If I'm out I'm JustSwanningAround
or more often at www.facebook.com/JustSwanningAround
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 13th June 2011
Dick Bowman Dick Bowman is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: N/a
Posts: 124
Thanks: 0
Thanked 7 Times in 6 Posts
Likes: 0
Liked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Re: Why choose 64bit software over 32 bit

I don't really understand why Microsoft is making such a pigs ear of rolling out 64-bit Windows - especially when Joe Soap can go to the computer shop or department store and buy a PC with 64-bit installed by default (and not really know what he's getting).

Short story is that for the individual user the extra addressing offered by 64-bit is currently overkill (except for RAM, where the 3+GB of 32-bit is already a bit tight for some applications) - get 64-bit and you could consider yourself in some sense future-proofed.

There probably are a few (oldish) applications that won't run in 64-bit, and you need 64-bit drivers for hardware. There are also application developers who take a "let's be cautious" line because they haven't actually tried the 64-bit environment. But I moved over a couple of years ago and haven't hit any show-stoppers.

Chances are that in future years there are going to be increasing numbers of applications which require 64-bit.

Staying in 32-bit seems to me potentially aligning with the "the world will ever only need five computers" and "640k RAM is more than adequate" tales of olden days.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 13th June 2011
JohnF JohnF is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Oberstedten, Germany
Posts: 56
Thanks: 61
Thanked 8 Times in 4 Posts
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Re: Why choose 64bit software over 32 bit

Hi -

16-bit applications won't work under 64-bit operating systems. Support for legacy hardware can be...difficult at best. Looking forward, it's the only way to go. I recently upgraded my home machine at a six-core machine with 12 GB. Worth it. :-)

JohnF
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 13th June 2011
timg timg is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Cornwall, UK
Posts: 1,208
Thanks: 43
Thanked 115 Times in 110 Posts
Likes: 13
Liked 73 Times in 38 Posts
Re: Why choose 64bit software over 32 bit

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bikie John View Post
If you want to use lots of RAM you need the 64 bit version. Not sure where the limit is for 32-bit, probably 2 or 4 gigabytes.
It's 4GB, but remember that also includes the memory from the graphics card, so if your graphics card has 1GB RAM then only the first 3GB of system RAM can be used.

To be honest the question these days is why would you choose 32bit software over 64bit...
__________________
GX7, EP3, 9-18, 14-45, 45-150, 20 1.7, 25 1.4, 45 1.8, FL36 & various OM glass. flickr
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 13th June 2011
shenstone's Avatar
shenstone shenstone is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Cardiff
Posts: 3,377
Thanks: 166
Thanked 318 Times in 242 Posts
Likes: 411
Liked 507 Times in 281 Posts
Re: Why choose 64bit software over 32 bit

Another tecchie dropping by

I agree 64 bit for more memory and future proofing. Any current issues where a vendor has not yet gone 64 bit will be soon resolved (unless you deal with specialist engineering software where the equipment vendors are causing me a real headache at work - some only support XP SP2 on their latest machines )

if you want to see how your current set-up is coping take a look at task manager (ctrl Alt Delete and then select task manager if it doesn't just appear). If you have much less than 1000000 showing as available physical memory before you load your favorite photo application then you will probably see benefits and if you have a system that's already got 3 / 4 Gb as described above then the only way you can get more is to run a 64 Bit OS

Regards
Andy
__________________
My Kit (OK I'm a hoarder...)
4/3 E500, E510, E30 + 35macro, 50macro, 7-14, 11-22, 14-45 (x2), 14-54, 40-150 (both types), 50-200, 70-300, 50-500,
m 4/3 EM1MkII + 60 macro, 12-100 Pro
FL20, FL36 x2 , FL50, cactus slaves etc.
The Boss (Mrs Shenstone) E620, EM10-II, 14-41Ez, 40-150R, 9 cap and whatever she can nick from me when she wants it

My places
http://www.shenstone.me.uk
http://landroverkaty.blogspot.com/
https://vimeo.com/shenstone
http://cardiffnaturalists.org.uk/
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 13th June 2011
sponner sponner is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Staffordshire Moorlands
Posts: 1,211
Thanks: 12
Thanked 164 Times in 143 Posts
Likes: 7
Liked 28 Times in 21 Posts
Re: Why choose 64bit software over 32 bit

I have a 64 BIT version of windows (Vista, don't ask!) and note very few problems from any app's including the older ones I use.
If I had the choice I would steer clear of anythign Vista unless it's preinstalled on a bargain system, that's why I have it but I'll format and upgrade to Win7 when I get around to it.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 15th June 2011
Benedict Benedict is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Wales
Posts: 672
Thanks: 158
Thanked 55 Times in 44 Posts
Likes: 2
Liked 1 Time in 1 Post
Re: Why choose 64bit software over 32 bit

Thanks all for all your comments. Since I don't replace my computer regulalrly it will be the 64-bit for me.
__________________
Benedict
---------

People may not remember exactly what you did, or what you said, but they will always remember how you made them feel.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
5 Macro Images - Help me choose...? CallaWolf Looking for improvement 13 6th June 2011 06:43 AM
Fake Antivirus scam software looks like 'real' software from AVG Wally The lounge 22 7th February 2011 06:21 PM
So what made you Choose Olympus then? shenstone Camera conference 42 13th October 2009 02:15 PM
Lightroom on Mac - make sure you select 64bit mode theMusicMan Software 0 2nd September 2009 09:31 PM
How did you choose ... Ellie The lounge 15 8th December 2008 10:18 PM


All times are GMT. The time now is 09:23 AM.


The Write Technology Ltd, 2007-2019, All rights reservedAd Management plugin by RedTyger