Olympus UK E-System User Group
Olympus UK E-System User Group

Join our unique resource for Olympus Four Thirds E-System DSLR and Pen and OM-D Micro Four Thirds photographers. Show your images via our free e-group photo gallery. Please read the e-group.uk.net forum terms and conditions before posting for the first time. Above all, welcome!


Go Back   Olympus UK E-System User Group > Cameras, lenses and system accessories > Camera conference > Olympus E-3

Olympus E-3 E-3 specific discussion.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 14th February 2011
monoboard monoboard is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: kendal
Posts: 167
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
fn button for raw!

Hi folks

To switch from L/N to raw and back again in the middle of a shoot quickly i gather you should be able to use the FN button and turn a dial at the same time, I am usally in S mode and when i press the FN button and turn one of the dials it only adjusts the speed?



reg

monoboard
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 14th February 2011
andym's Avatar
andym andym is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Epping Forest
Posts: 4,355
Thanks: 37
Thanked 346 Times in 258 Posts
Likes: 39
Liked 1,010 Times in 300 Posts
Re: fn button for raw!

Hi

I don't have my E3 at the moment as it's out on loan but on the E5 you can save a myset which if I remember correctly is mymode on the E3 with raw in it.You can then set the Fn button to mymode and hey presto you can go straight into raw.The only problem with this method if you have to hold the Fn button all the time you want to use raw.

Others may come up with another method.

I shoot raw all the time so not thought about it before.

Good luck
__________________
All the best

Being left handed my brain sometimes works sdrawkcab

Andy

Lots of cameras and lenses.


My Flickr
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 15th February 2011
monoboard monoboard is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: kendal
Posts: 167
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Re: fn button for raw!

I must be missing something, it says on page 99 in the instructions about pressing the FN button and turning either of the dials but that only seems to aduste the speed when i am in S mode. When i am taking large qty of pics if i take them all in the raw it will be a massive amount of memory if i save the raw settings for certain shots it would be handy but i would need to be able to change over VERY quickly.

reg

Monoboard
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 15th February 2011
peak4's Avatar
peak4 peak4 is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Buxton, Derbyshire.
Posts: 1,700
Thanks: 130
Thanked 221 Times in 186 Posts
Likes: 203
Liked 190 Times in 126 Posts
Re: fn button for raw!

You should be able to, but I think you need to pre-assign the button to that particular function.
Menu
Spanner 1
Spanner B Button/Dial
Down to FN Button (4th Down)
Right Arrow
Down arrow 3 times.

On the other hand, you could just use the Super Control Panel;
Press OK
Move the cursor so that the Raw options box is yellow
Press OK to turn it off.
When you want to change to raw, press OK again; It remembers where you left the cursor, so a quick scroll of the wheel will enable raw.
__________________
Best Regards
Bill

The nearest I have to a home page.
http://www.flickr.com/photos/peak4/
They're Watching You!
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 15th February 2011
monoboard monoboard is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: kendal
Posts: 167
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Re: fn button for raw!

Hi Bill

That worked a treat, the only slight problem i can swap between large normal and raw + large normal when it would be handy to have raw or large normal but i can live with that.

many thanks

David
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HELP! Button Lock Graham_of_Rainham Olympus Pen E-PL1 4 10th February 2011 09:08 AM
E620 function button/depth of field preview davidsa Olympus E-620/600 7 26th July 2009 04:17 PM
E-3 Tip: Button Timer dlinney Olympus E-3 9 30th November 2007 05:33 PM
Fn Function Button Crouchy Olympus E-3 3 26th November 2007 12:47 PM


All times are GMT. The time now is 01:17 PM.


The Write Technology Ltd, 2007-2019, All rights reservedAd Management plugin by RedTyger