Olympus UK E-System User Group
Olympus UK E-System User Group

Join our unique resource for Olympus Four Thirds E-System DSLR and Pen and OM-D Micro Four Thirds photographers. Show your images via our free e-group photo gallery. Please read the e-group.uk.net forum terms and conditions before posting for the first time. Above all, welcome!

Go Back   Olympus UK E-System User Group > Site news and information > Introduce yourself

Introduce yourself Don't be bashful - please say hello so we can all welcome you here!

Old 14th July 2016

Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Hello, nearly ready to jump.

Hi all,
Im a noob to photography and have been reading reviews till my eyes have bled over the last few weeks trying to decide on what camera to buy. I don't want anything big and bulky like a DSLR, it has to be easy to carry around as the MRS. will be using it too (maybe) and I'm more interested in stills than video, at the moment, but wouldn't mind having 4K option. I have narrowed my choices to two models that seem to fit my needs most having settled on the M43 system due to its size and choice of quality & affordable lenses. These two are the Olympus OM D EM5 MKii and the Panasonic GX8. I live in the west of Ireland where it always rains so weatherproofing is probably an important factor also.
At the moment my interests are in using this camera for general family photography, maybe some landscapes(just for myself nothing for commercial purposes) and some street photography & travel.
Anyway that's me, looking forward to being here more often once I make the jump and actually buy one of the above mentioned cameras.
Old 14th July 2016

Thanked 1,257 Times in 942 Posts
Liked 6,007 Times in 1,955 Posts
Re: Hello, nearly ready to jump.

Will since this is an Olympus forum you're unlikely to get an unbiased answer! Of course the E-M5ii is better:

- Smaller (have you handled the GX8?)
- Prettier
- Better IBIS (by a margin)
- Better handling