Olympus UK E-System User Group
Olympus UK E-System User Group

Join our unique resource for Olympus Four Thirds E-System DSLR and Pen and OM-D Micro Four Thirds photographers. Show your images via our free e-group photo gallery. Please read the e-group.uk.net forum terms and conditions before posting for the first time. Above all, welcome!

Go Back   Olympus UK E-System User Group > Cameras, lenses and system accessories > Lens focus

Lens focus The place to talk about your camera's glassware.

Old 11th April 2012

Liked 87 Times in 54 Posts
Four Thirds Lenses v Micro Four Thirds

I'm still fairly new to MFT, I have an E-P1 and a Canon 50D APS-C.
My PEN E-P1 is very very nearly as good as my 50D considering output but the 50D scores on focussing.
I'm investing more in MFT with a OM-D on pre-order. I will likely sell the 50D and 24-105 and 70-200 lenses if I'm happy with the OM-D.

My question is this - is there any benefit in investing in Four Thirds lenses and using an adaptor over MFT lenses?
or are the MFT lenses as good?
I have an Olympus 14-42 and 40-150 and a Lumix 20 f1.7 at present...will soon have an Olympus 12-50 too - ordered with the OM-D.
I also have a 50mm 1.8 OM lens (and adaptor just ordered from ebay).

Sorry for such a long winded question....I'd really appreciate your wisdom on this ...I'll soon be hankering after a 12 f2, 9-18 and 75-100....so I need to choose the right direction.
Old 11th April 2012

Liked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Re: Four Thirds Lenses v Micro Four Thirds

Well Olympus 4/3'rds lenses are well known for their quality - and that applies for all the HG and SHG lenses, and for most of th SG lenses. The m4/3'rds lenses are regarded as good - but Olympus has only just started to populate the HG end of the range.