Olympus UK E-System User Group
Olympus UK E-System User Group

Join our unique resource for Olympus Four Thirds E-System DSLR and Pen and OM-D Micro Four Thirds photographers. Show your images via our free e-group photo gallery. Please read the e-group.uk.net forum terms and conditions before posting for the first time. Above all, welcome!


Go Back   Olympus UK E-System User Group > Cameras, lenses and system accessories > Software

Software Discuss Olympus Master, Studio and Viewer software applications as well as third party programs like Adobe Photoshop, Lightroom, Apple Aperture, and others.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 31st March 2013
andym's Avatar
andym andym is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Epping Forest
Posts: 4,355
Thanks: 37
Thanked 346 Times in 258 Posts
Likes: 39
Liked 1,010 Times in 300 Posts
But why?

Probably in the wrong forum.

Last night my desktop running windows 7 suddenly started saying "user profile service failed the login"at the start-up page and not letting me load my desktop.
On my wife's account I could log in no problem.
I played around this morning and found this with a Google.

Click Start, type regedit in the Search box, and then press ENTER.
In Registry Editor, locate and then click the following registry subkey:
HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows NT\CurrentVersion\ProfileList
In the navigation pane, locate the folder that begins with S-1-5 (SID key) followed by a long number.
Click each S-1-5 folder, locate the ProfileImagePath entry in the details pane, and then double-click to make sure that this is the user account profile that has the error.

If you have two folders starting with S-1-5 followed by some long numbers and one of them ended with .bak, you have to rename the .bak folder. To do this, follow these steps:
Right-click the folder without .bak, and then click Rename. Type .ba, and then press ENTER.

Right-click the folder that is named .bak, and then click Rename. Remove .bak at the end of the folder name, and then press ENTER.

Right-click the folder that is named .ba, and then click Rename. Change the .ba to .bak at the end of the folder name, and then press ENTER.

If you have only one folder starting with S-1-5 that is followed by long numbers and ends with .bak. Right-click the folder, and then click Rename. Remove .bak at the end of the folder name, and then press ENTER.
If you have two folders starting with S-1-5 followed by some long numbers and one of them ended with .bak, you have to rename the .bak folder. To do this, follow these steps:
Right-click the folder without .bak, and then click Rename. Type .ba, and then press ENTER.

Right-click the folder that is named .bak, and then click Rename. Remove .bak at the end of the folder name, and then press ENTER.

Right-click the folder that is named .ba, and then click Rename. Change the .ba to .bak at the end of the folder name, and then press ENTER.

If you have only one folder starting with S-1-5 that is followed by long numbers and ends with .bak. Right-click the folder, and then click Rename. Remove .bak at the end of the folder name, and then press ENTER.
Double-click the folder without .bak in the details pane, double-click RefCount, type 0, and then click OK.

Click the folder without .bak, in the details pane, double-click State, type 0, and then click OK.

Close Registry Editor.
Restart the computer.
Log on again with your account.

Here's a link

http://support.microsoft.com/kb/947215

I don't like playing around with registry entries on PC's but it worked fine.

But why did it happen in the first place?

Though I'd post this just in case anyone else gets it.

Ps glad I loaded my wife's profile as an admin otherwise I assume I'd have been piddling with safe modes etc.
__________________
All the best

Being left handed my brain sometimes works sdrawkcab

Andy

Lots of cameras and lenses.


My Flickr
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to andym For This Useful Post:
Graham_of_Rainham (31st March 2013)
  #2  
Old 31st March 2013
Jim Ford Jim Ford is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Watford, Herts..
Posts: 8,321
Thanks: 455
Thanked 589 Times in 511 Posts
Likes: 2,647
Liked 1,630 Times in 1,042 Posts
Re: But why?

Yeah, well - 'Windoze'!

Jim
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 31st March 2013
peak4's Avatar
peak4 peak4 is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Buxton, Derbyshire.
Posts: 1,677
Thanks: 128
Thanked 212 Times in 178 Posts
Likes: 192
Liked 180 Times in 120 Posts
Re: But why?

Well there's a strange one; I had the same this morning on XP SP3 when I started Opera with several tabs open. About half of the tabs which should have logged into a newsgroup, this one amongst them, displayed a similar message.
The only way I could get it to clear was to close the tab and re-open it.

Also about half the time I try and post a message on here, I get

You tried to access the address http://e-group.uk.net/forum/newreply...treply&t=26358, which is currently unavailable. Please make sure that the web address (URL) is correctly spelled and punctuated, then try reloading the page.

After two or three goes of hitting the back button and re-submitting the post, it works fine.
__________________
Best Regards
Bill

The nearest I have to a home page.
http://www.flickr.com/photos/peak4/
They're Watching You!

Last edited by peak4; 31st March 2013 at 06:42 PM. Reason: Added bit about posting issue
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 31st March 2013
StephenL's Avatar
StephenL StephenL is offline
Senior Pixelmonger
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Yorkshire Dales
Posts: 9,863
Thanks: 984
Thanked 1,126 Times in 921 Posts
Likes: 658
Liked 755 Times in 499 Posts
Re: But why?

Sounds a bit iffy, two users having a similar problem about the same time. My brain's starting to think malware ....
__________________
Stephen

A camera takes a picture. A photographer makes a picture

Fuji X system, + Leica and Bronica film

My Flickr site
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 31st March 2013
Ulfric M Douglas Ulfric M Douglas is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Northumberland
Posts: 2,894
Thanks: 263
Thanked 234 Times in 215 Posts
Likes: 128
Liked 172 Times in 119 Posts
Re: But why?

Malware sometimes alters the registry, I've seen similar before on XP.
Time to run MalwareBites etc Andy.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 31st March 2013
peak4's Avatar
peak4 peak4 is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Buxton, Derbyshire.
Posts: 1,677
Thanks: 128
Thanked 212 Times in 178 Posts
Likes: 192
Liked 180 Times in 120 Posts
Re: But why?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ulfric M Douglas View Post
Malware sometimes alters the registry, I've seen similar before on XP.
Time to run MalwareBites etc Andy.
Already done so, nothing shown and no further problems. Touch wood
__________________
Best Regards
Bill

The nearest I have to a home page.
http://www.flickr.com/photos/peak4/
They're Watching You!
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 31st March 2013
Imageryone Imageryone is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Suffolk,England
Posts: 4,934
Thanks: 1,101
Thanked 797 Times in 755 Posts
Likes: 656
Liked 564 Times in 336 Posts
Re: But why?

Don't know if this has any bearing, but when I loaded Viewer 3 the other day, my lappy froze up solid after the immediate update.
I am totally comptuer illiterate, so Andy's post was so much goobledygook to me, but I unistalled Viewer 3 and everything went back to normal.
__________________
The picture tells the story, great when you have a bad memory.DW.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 1st April 2013
Ross the fiddler's Avatar
Ross the fiddler Ross the fiddler is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Blue Mtns, NSW Australia
Posts: 14,056
Thanks: 2,081
Thanked 1,326 Times in 1,033 Posts
Likes: 5,418
Liked 2,133 Times in 1,140 Posts
Re: But why?

It is the 1st of April now (here)!
__________________
Ross
I fiddle with violins (when I'm not fiddling with a camera).
Flickr: https://www.flickr.com/photos/ross-the-fiddler/
Cameras: OM-D E-M1 & Mk II, Olympus Stylus 1, OM-D E-M5.
Lenses: M.ZD12-40mm f2.8 PRO Lens, M.ZD40-150mm f2.8 PRO Lens, MC-14, MC-20, M.ZD12-50, M.ZD60 Macro, M.ZD75-300 Mk II, MMF-3, ZD14-54 II, Sigma 150mm F2.8 APO Macro DG HSM.
Flashes: FL36R X2, FL50R, FL50.
Software: Capture One Pro 10 (& Olympus Viewer 3).
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 1st April 2013
Melaka's Avatar
Melaka Melaka is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Bucks
Posts: 2,329
Thanks: 759
Thanked 227 Times in 154 Posts
Likes: 713
Liked 324 Times in 133 Posts
Send a message via ICQ to Melaka
Re: But why?

A couple of times in the past fortnight I've had the dreaded 'enter network password' message. On investigation I found it wasn't an Outlook problem but one connected with Yahoo. When I tried to log in to my Yahoo account from Firefox I was told my computer was not recognised and had to enter a piece of memorable information. I then had to change my password, after which all was fine until it happened a second time.

I can only assume that somehow the IP address of my computer changed but I've no idea how or why. Can anyone shed any light please?
__________________
David

EM1i, EM1ii, EM10ii
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 1st April 2013
DerekW DerekW is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Hampshire
Posts: 3,088
Thanks: 90
Thanked 335 Times in 262 Posts
Likes: 33
Liked 536 Times in 374 Posts
Re: But why?

Unless you have a fixed IP address from your ISP then you could get a new one after restarting the modem/router.
__________________
This space for rent
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 1st April 2013
Melaka's Avatar
Melaka Melaka is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Bucks
Posts: 2,329
Thanks: 759
Thanked 227 Times in 154 Posts
Likes: 713
Liked 324 Times in 133 Posts
Send a message via ICQ to Melaka
Re: But why?

BT fitted a new modem earlier in the month but I don't think that was the cause of the first message. The modem and a bit of tinkering with the incoming line have increased both speed and reliability.
__________________
David

EM1i, EM1ii, EM10ii
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 05:48 PM.


The Write Technology Ltd, 2007-2019, All rights reservedAd Management plugin by RedTyger