Olympus UK E-System User Group
Olympus UK E-System User Group

Join our unique resource for Olympus Four Thirds E-System DSLR and Pen and OM-D Micro Four Thirds photographers. Show your images via our free e-group photo gallery. Please read the e-group.uk.net forum terms and conditions before posting for the first time. Above all, welcome!


Go Back   Olympus UK E-System User Group > Cameras, lenses and system accessories > Camera conference > Olympus E-3

Olympus E-3 E-3 specific discussion.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #46  
Old 6th June 2008
Ian's Avatar
Ian Ian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Hemel Hempstead, Hertfordshire, UK
Posts: 11,593
Thanks: 425
Thanked 2,534 Times in 1,274 Posts
Likes: 870
Liked 1,715 Times in 774 Posts
Re: AA batteries

I've now tried the Sony Stamina Platinum heavy duty alkalines and I get about the same kind of performance as the Duracell Ultra M3s. In other words, you take a few pictures - say 5-10 - and then the low battery warning comes on. But despite that, I am able to keep shooting, including using live view and continuous high speed shooting. Yesterday I got 50 shots out of a part used set of Duracell Ultra M3s and I only stopped because of lack of time.

Olympus Europe say that depending on the battery, 30-100 shots can be expected from a set of alkaline AAs, and this actually seems reasonable.

I'm still waiting for the special Panasonic batteries, but I'm now going to try a set of 'ordinary' alkalines (standard Duracells or own-bran alkalines).

So far the main points seem to be that the warning light comes on prematurely, but that it doesn't necessarily mean you can't take pictures any more. That's my experience of course and I know that some have had a much less useful experience, which does point to a particular hardware fault specific to them.

Ian
__________________
Founder and editor of:
Olympus UK E-System User Group (http://e-group.uk.net)
Four Thirds User (http://fourthirds-user.com)
Digital Photography Now (http://dpnow.com)
Olympus camera, lens, and accessory hire (http://e-group.uk.net/hire)

Twitter: www.twitter.com/ian_burley
Flickr: www.flickr.com/photos/dpnow/
Pinterest: www.pinterest.com/ianburley/
NEW: My personal BLOG ianburley.com
Reply With Quote
  #47  
Old 6th June 2008
angelpaaul's Avatar
angelpaaul angelpaaul is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Wirral
Posts: 400
Thanks: 43
Thanked 21 Times in 20 Posts
Likes: 44
Liked 44 Times in 30 Posts
Re: AA batteries

I picked up my E3 on Tuesday after being repaired by Olympus, faulty shutter button. Out of curiosity I tried my E-3's AA battery holder to see if there was any difference.

I used a (fresh) set of bog standard Energizer alkaline AA batteries. Nothing fancy, just the cheapos. I managed to rattle off 30-40 shots before the low battery warning came on but it didn't stop or lock-up. Time didn't permit me to run it until it stopped but I imagine I may have been able to double that figure.

Before my E3 went in for repair it would only manage about 10-20 shots then give up and that was with the same type of battery. Well, it beat me as to why it now works but it does. The cameras firmware is v1.1 if that means anything.

Regards - Paul
Reply With Quote
  #48  
Old 6th June 2008
Ian's Avatar
Ian Ian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Hemel Hempstead, Hertfordshire, UK
Posts: 11,593
Thanks: 425
Thanked 2,534 Times in 1,274 Posts
Likes: 870
Liked 1,715 Times in 774 Posts
Re: AA batteries

Quote:
Originally Posted by angelpaaul View Post
I picked up my E3 on Tuesday after being repaired by Olympus, faulty shutter button. Out of curiosity I tried my E-3's AA battery holder to see if there was any difference.

I used a (fresh) set of bog standard Energizer alkaline AA batteries. Nothing fancy, just the cheapos. I managed to rattle off 30-40 shots before the low battery warning came on but it didn't stop or lock-up. Time didn't permit me to run it until it stopped but I imagine I may have been able to double that figure.

Before my E3 went in for repair it would only manage about 10-20 shots then give up and that was with the same type of battery. Well, it beat me as to why it now works but it does. The cameras firmware is v1.1 if that means anything.

Regards - Paul
Hi Paul - did you upgrade the firmware, out of interest? 1.1 is the latest. Most E-3s have shipped with 1.0.

Ian
__________________
Founder and editor of:
Olympus UK E-System User Group (http://e-group.uk.net)
Four Thirds User (http://fourthirds-user.com)
Digital Photography Now (http://dpnow.com)
Olympus camera, lens, and accessory hire (http://e-group.uk.net/hire)

Twitter: www.twitter.com/ian_burley
Flickr: www.flickr.com/photos/dpnow/
Pinterest: www.pinterest.com/ianburley/
NEW: My personal BLOG ianburley.com
Reply With Quote
  #49  
Old 6th June 2008
angelpaaul's Avatar
angelpaaul angelpaaul is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Wirral
Posts: 400
Thanks: 43
Thanked 21 Times in 20 Posts
Likes: 44
Liked 44 Times in 30 Posts
Re: AA batteries

Hi Ian - no, I didn't upgrade the firmware, it came back with it on already. That's one on the reasons I tried the battery holder, to see if the upgrade had cured the 'fault'. If I get time at the weekend, I'll try the camera out using the battery holder and fresh batteries. I'll use it as I would normally to see what happens. No point in firing away until it dies as you don't use it that way in reality do you?

Regards - Paul
Reply With Quote
  #50  
Old 8th June 2008
angelpaaul's Avatar
angelpaaul angelpaaul is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Wirral
Posts: 400
Thanks: 43
Thanked 21 Times in 20 Posts
Likes: 44
Liked 44 Times in 30 Posts
Re: AA batteries

I managed to find time to try the E3 battery holder today. Loaded with fresh Energizer alkaline AA batteries I set out for my local botanical gardens.

The camera was set to single shot with the preview set to 5 seconds and I didn't use live view. After about 5-6 shots the low power light came on but I ignored it. I took 22 shots then I stopped for a quick break, about five minutes. When the camera was turned on again the low power light was off but came back on again after 3-4 shots. I managed another 48 shots before the camera locked up completely. Turning the camera off then back on again didn't really make much difference at this point so I went back to the standard BLM-1.

So, I managed to get 70 shots out of a fresh set of Energizer alkaline batteries, is this good or bad? Personally, I don't think I'll be using the pack, not even for an emergency. I think I'll just pack some extra, freshly charged, BLM-1s.

Regards - Paul
Reply With Quote
  #51  
Old 21st June 2008
Paulpp
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Re: AA batteries

Thought people might be interested in the following reply from Olympus Customer Services - not tried it as yet, but it seems they have been looking into the issue.

"We have tried an E-3 here today with the HLD-4, using Duracell Power Pix AA batteries 1.5V Nickel Oxy Hydroxide, and have currently taken around 70 shots... this was using the flash, LCD screen, etc randomly whilst shooting.

It might be worth giving these a try.

You can purchase from RS Components - http://uk.rs-online.com/web/search/s...0155456#header - hopefully the link will work.

Kind regards
Lydia"

It looks as if the link is not fully reproducing in this post.

Last edited by Paulpp; 21st June 2008 at 08:19 AM. Reason: Correction
Reply With Quote
  #52  
Old 21st June 2008
Ian's Avatar
Ian Ian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Hemel Hempstead, Hertfordshire, UK
Posts: 11,593
Thanks: 425
Thanked 2,534 Times in 1,274 Posts
Likes: 870
Liked 1,715 Times in 774 Posts
Re: AA batteries

Quote:
Originally Posted by Paulpp View Post
Thought people might be interested in the following reply from Olympus Customer Services - not tried it as yet, but it seems they have been looking into the issue.

"We have tried an E-3 here today with the HLD-4, using Duracell Power Pix AA batteries 1.5V Nickel Oxy Hydroxide, and have currently taken around 70 shots... this was using the flash, LCD screen, etc randomly whilst shooting.

It might be worth giving these a try.

You can purchase from RS Components - http://uk.rs-online.com/web/search/s...0155456#header - hopefully the link will work.

Kind regards
Lydia"

It looks as if the link is not fully reproducing in this post.
The forum shortens the visual representation of long urls, but they should still work normally.

I've bought a set of eneloop rechargeable AAs and have received some Panasonic OxyRide AAs and will give these a try shortly.

Ian
__________________
Founder and editor of:
Olympus UK E-System User Group (http://e-group.uk.net)
Four Thirds User (http://fourthirds-user.com)
Digital Photography Now (http://dpnow.com)
Olympus camera, lens, and accessory hire (http://e-group.uk.net/hire)

Twitter: www.twitter.com/ian_burley
Flickr: www.flickr.com/photos/dpnow/
Pinterest: www.pinterest.com/ianburley/
NEW: My personal BLOG ianburley.com
Reply With Quote
  #53  
Old 4th July 2008
Melaka's Avatar
Melaka Melaka is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Bucks
Posts: 2,344
Thanks: 760
Thanked 228 Times in 155 Posts
Likes: 722
Liked 325 Times in 134 Posts
Send a message via ICQ to Melaka
Re: AA batteries

Quote:
Originally Posted by Paulpp View Post
Thought people might be interested in the following reply from Olympus Customer Services - not tried it as yet, but it seems they have been looking into the issue.

"We have tried an E-3 here today with the HLD-4, using Duracell Power Pix AA batteries 1.5V Nickel Oxy Hydroxide, and have currently taken around 70 shots... this was using the flash, LCD screen, etc randomly whilst shooting.

It might be worth giving these a try.

You can purchase from RS Components - http://uk.rs-online.com/web/search/s...0155456#header - hopefully the link will work.

Kind regards
Lydia"
I spoke to Lydia this morning as I think the camera in question is the one I have asked for to replace my current E3/HLD4. The plan is that once they have a fully functioning outfit I'll drive over and swap it for my kit. However I told Lydia that I won't accept one that only works with Nickel Oxy Hydroxide as the specification says it should work with AA alkaline and AA lithium. This must be a tricky issue for Olympus as some people have been successful with AAs and others haven't. I'm awaiting further developments.
__________________
David

EM1i, EM1ii, EM10ii
Reply With Quote
  #54  
Old 4th July 2008
Ian's Avatar
Ian Ian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Hemel Hempstead, Hertfordshire, UK
Posts: 11,593
Thanks: 425
Thanked 2,534 Times in 1,274 Posts
Likes: 870
Liked 1,715 Times in 774 Posts
Re: AA batteries

Quote:
Originally Posted by Melaka View Post
I spoke to Lydia this morning as I think the camera in question is the one I have asked for to replace my current E3/HLD4. The plan is that once they have a fully functioning outfit I'll drive over and swap it for my kit. However I told Lydia that I won't accept one that only works with Nickel Oxy Hydroxide as the specification says it should work with AA alkaline and AA lithium. This must be a tricky issue for Olympus as some people have been successful with AAs and others haven't. I'm awaiting further developments.
I have been getting up to 50 shots or so with premiumj heavy duty alkalines (Sony Stamina Platinum and Duracell Ultra M3, for example), but the oxyride type batteries last about twice as long. Not yet re-tested lithiums, but will soon.

Ian
__________________
Founder and editor of:
Olympus UK E-System User Group (http://e-group.uk.net)
Four Thirds User (http://fourthirds-user.com)
Digital Photography Now (http://dpnow.com)
Olympus camera, lens, and accessory hire (http://e-group.uk.net/hire)

Twitter: www.twitter.com/ian_burley
Flickr: www.flickr.com/photos/dpnow/
Pinterest: www.pinterest.com/ianburley/
NEW: My personal BLOG ianburley.com
Reply With Quote
  #55  
Old 5th July 2008
Joop Joop is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Holland
Posts: 19
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Likes: 0
Liked 3 Times in 1 Post
Re: AA batteries

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ian View Post
I have been getting up to 50 shots or so with premiumj heavy duty alkalines (Sony Stamina Platinum and Duracell Ultra M3, for example), but the oxyride type batteries last about twice as long. Not yet re-tested lithiums, but will soon.

Ian
There is a big difference in using it uninterrupted or with some pauses between sets of shots. Alkalines will recharge to some extend it they are used with pauses between sets of shots, ie camera power off. This might double the number of shots.
Reply With Quote
  #56  
Old 8th August 2008
Melaka's Avatar
Melaka Melaka is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Bucks
Posts: 2,344
Thanks: 760
Thanked 228 Times in 155 Posts
Likes: 722
Liked 325 Times in 134 Posts
Send a message via ICQ to Melaka
Re: AA batteries

Success at last! Olympus sent me an HLD-4 which they said worked with Duracell M3s. I tried the same batteries in my own HLD and they worked there too, running off 20 shots before I stopped. I've returned the second HLD to Olympus. I looked up the M3s on a Duracell website and they are designed to be used with cameras etc whereas the more common Plus are not. It would have saved a lot of hassle and numerous posts on this and other forums if the instructions made clear that 'super' rather than ordinary alkalines are needed. It was also disappointing that it took six months before Olympus came up with a solution that fits what it says on the tin.
__________________
David

EM1i, EM1ii, EM10ii
Reply With Quote
  #57  
Old 9th August 2008
Invicta's Avatar
Invicta Invicta is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Third rock from the sun
Posts: 1,022
Thanks: 66
Thanked 243 Times in 125 Posts
Likes: 19
Liked 82 Times in 47 Posts
Re: AA batteries

Just done a test today with my new Ni-MH rechargables. The low battery warning came on but I was able to fire off 65 shots before I decided to stop. Placing the batteries back in the charger showed them at 75% charged so I am very happy with this as a fall back position. I was planning to use the batteries just for the flash gun but I think I will be adding another set for emergencies.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
CR-V3 batteries in FL-36 ianinsuffolk Flash 4 13th March 2008 09:19 PM
New Restrictions on Batteries when travelling to the US or flying within it shenstone General accessories 12 28th February 2008 01:32 PM
Batteries. Barr1e Flash 13 4th December 2007 08:48 AM


All times are GMT. The time now is 09:06 PM.


The Write Technology Ltd, 2007-2019, All rights reservedAd Management plugin by RedTyger