Olympus UK E-System User Group
Olympus UK E-System User Group

Join our unique resource for Olympus Four Thirds E-System DSLR and Pen and OM-D Micro Four Thirds photographers. Show your images via our free e-group photo gallery. Please read the e-group.uk.net forum terms and conditions before posting for the first time. Above all, welcome!


Go Back   Olympus UK E-System User Group > Out of Focus area > The lounge

The lounge Relax, take a break from photo and camera talk - have a chat about something else for a change. Just keep it clean and polite!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11th January 2010
jackprw1
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Windows 7 RAM Problem

Hey, I'm running Windows 7 Professional 64-Bit and I have 6GB of Kingston HyperX RAM on my motherboard which is a ASUS P6T SE which can have 24GB of RAM, but Windows 7 is only saying there is 4GB of RAM, but when I run CPUZ is says I have 6GB. Anyone know what might be wrong?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11th January 2010
gno
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Re: Windows 7 RAM Problem

Maybe CPUZ is telling you how much RAM is installed instead of what is being used.

How many sticks?

Windows has built in RAM diagnostics check this out.

Regards

Gavin
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11th January 2010
Ste1976
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Re: Windows 7 RAM Problem

few things you can do

Make sure your voltage for your memory is set to 1.64v or 1.66v in the bios either of these it doesn't matter as there is no 1.65v on that mobo

if that fails and it still only showing 4gig instead of 6

check your motherboard to see if you has any bent pins, i7's mobo's are very prone to this, you need a magifying glass.

if your heatsink is the screw type, to much pressure can also cause this problem also the above problem try loosen it slightly.

if that also fails check each stick of your memory in the first slot see if they boot.

My best guess it your memory these triple channel set's can be funny as usually one stick is weaker than the others.

If all else fails RMA it, don't buy Corsair as this memory even worst for that kind of problem.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12th January 2010
jima's Avatar
jima jima is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: West Midlands, UK
Posts: 224
Thanks: 4
Thanked 55 Times in 24 Posts
Likes: 3
Liked 14 Times in 11 Posts
Re: Windows 7 RAM Problem

Quote:
Originally Posted by jackprw1 View Post
Hey, I'm running Windows 7 Professional 64-Bit and I have 6GB of Kingston HyperX RAM on my motherboard which is a ASUS P6T SE which can have 24GB of RAM, but Windows 7 is only saying there is 4GB of RAM, but when I run CPUZ is says I have 6GB. Anyone know what might be wrong?
No offence but you're absolutely sure your Win 7 is 64-bit, right? the 32-bit version has a 4GB limit.

Jim
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12th January 2010
PaulE PaulE is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Mid Wales
Posts: 330
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Re: Windows 7 RAM Problem

Quote:
Originally Posted by jima View Post
No offence but you're absolutely sure your Win 7 is 64-bit, right? the 32-bit version has a 4GB limit.

Jim
That's the first thing that jumped into my head but after a bit of thought ruled it out as you'll never actually see a full 4GB shown in 32bit windows as video cards etc will pinch a bit. I'ill be interesting to hear what the cause of the problem whatever...
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Windows 7 or vista..? jackprw1 The lounge 9 9th January 2010 06:24 PM
SOLVED Windows Live Messenger problem - anyone help? Ian The lounge 6 25th October 2009 11:37 PM
Windows Vista RAW codec Ian Software 4 24th November 2008 09:14 PM
Windows Live 'Mesenger' scam Ian The lounge 12 3rd September 2008 10:18 PM
Windows XP ORF thumb viewer Garrie Software 15 9th March 2008 06:40 PM


All times are GMT. The time now is 02:23 PM.


The Write Technology Ltd, 2007-2019, All rights reservedAd Management plugin by RedTyger