Olympus UK E-System User Group
Olympus UK E-System User Group

Join our unique resource for Olympus Four Thirds E-System DSLR and Pen and OM-D Micro Four Thirds photographers. Show your images via our free e-group photo gallery. Please read the e-group.uk.net forum terms and conditions before posting for the first time. Above all, welcome!


Go Back   Olympus UK E-System User Group > Cameras, lenses and system accessories > Camera conference > Olympus E-500

Olympus E-500 E-500 specific discussion.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 18th May 2009
colin stares
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
remote shutter release cable

Hi does anyone know if there is a remote shutter release cable ie (RM-UC1)that will work with the E-500
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 18th May 2009
Ian Grego Ian Grego is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Belper Derbyshire
Posts: 363
Thanks: 2
Thanked 37 Times in 37 Posts
Likes: 0
Liked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Re: remote shutter release cable

Hello Colin

I dont know about a cable release but I have just checked the wireless remote I got off ebay, it does not list the E500 but it may be worth asking the question.

I am not very good at posting the link by that I mean I dont know how to do it so here is the item number, 220353792904.

I am very please with the working of mine very handy taking photos at the daughter wedding.

See what you think

Ian
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 18th May 2009
EH1
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Wink Re: remote shutter release cable

The RM-1 remote control will work with an e-500
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 18th May 2009
Jim Ford Jim Ford is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Watford, Herts..
Posts: 8,762
Thanks: 480
Thanked 626 Times in 542 Posts
Likes: 2,811
Liked 1,730 Times in 1,112 Posts
Re: remote shutter release cable

Quote:
Originally Posted by EH1 View Post
The RM-1 remote control will work with an e-500
I find the RM-1 extremely unreliable and frustrating in use on the E3 - and yes, I'm aware of the zone you need to operate it within.

Jim
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 18th May 2009
Graham_of_Rainham's Avatar
Graham_of_Rainham Graham_of_Rainham is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Rainham
Posts: 8,220
Thanks: 647
Thanked 950 Times in 735 Posts
Likes: 2,311
Liked 1,623 Times in 936 Posts
Re: remote shutter release cable

Quote:
Originally Posted by colin stares View Post
Hi does anyone know if there is a remote shutter release cable ie (RM-UC1)that will work with the E-500
I've DIYed an old air release to use on my one. Cost 5 off ebay inc P&P

__________________
Graham

We often repeat the mistakes we most enjoy...
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 18th May 2009
Archphoto
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Re: remote shutter release cable

It will if you have the rectangular 10 pin connection at the back of your camera.
I have both the E410 and E520 and it works on both.

Peter
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 18th May 2009
benvendetta's Avatar
benvendetta benvendetta is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Pontypool, South Wales
Posts: 3,750
Thanks: 83
Thanked 297 Times in 262 Posts
Likes: 167
Liked 340 Times in 230 Posts
Re: remote shutter release cable

I don't think that you can use anything other than the RM-1 with the E-500. There is no socket to plug a wired remote into. I use the RM-1 with both my E-500 and E-3 but how I wish there was a sensor on the back of the bodies. Close to the cameras the RM-1 works fine and is useful for timed exposures when you are near the camera. It doesn't work so well at a distance but I have the 'proper' wired remote for that. But I find that even this is a bit of a faff to use and so far I prefer the RM-1.
__________________
Dave

E-M1 Mk2, Pen F, HLD-9, 17, 25, 45, 60 macro, 12-40 Pro, 40-150 Pro, 12-50, 40-150, 75-300, MC-14, MMF-3 (all micro 4/3rds), 7-14 (4/3rds), 50, 135 (OM), GoPro Hero 3, Novo/Giottos/ Manfrotto supports. Lowepro, Tamrac, Manfrotto, and Billingham bags.

External Competition Secretary, Cwmbran PS & Welsh Photographic Federation Judge
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 20th May 2009
colin stares
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Wink Re: remote shutter release cable

Hi to all that responded to my question, unfortunatelly there dos'nt appear to be a 10 pin socket anyware on my E-500, I just find it strangely annoying that olympus should have one on most of there other dslr's. I guess if i want to take photos from the rear of my camera i will have to purchase a tele lens.
Anyway enough of my wineing lets get on with getting the most out of what we got. Regards to all. Colin.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 20th May 2009
benvendetta's Avatar
benvendetta benvendetta is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Pontypool, South Wales
Posts: 3,750
Thanks: 83
Thanked 297 Times in 262 Posts
Likes: 167
Liked 340 Times in 230 Posts
Re: remote shutter release cable

Not sure what you mean about getting a tele lens? I would get an RM-1 (genuine verson) or a clone from EBay. I got the former for about 12 after I sold my C8080WZ, which had one with it.

Quote:
Originally Posted by colin stares View Post
Hi to all that responded to my question, unfortunatelly there dos'nt appear to be a 10 pin socket anyware on my E-500, I just find it strangely annoying that olympus should have one on most of there other dslr's. I guess if i want to take photos from the rear of my camera i will have to purchase a tele lens.
Anyway enough of my wineing lets get on with getting the most out of what we got. Regards to all. Colin.
__________________
Dave

E-M1 Mk2, Pen F, HLD-9, 17, 25, 45, 60 macro, 12-40 Pro, 40-150 Pro, 12-50, 40-150, 75-300, MC-14, MMF-3 (all micro 4/3rds), 7-14 (4/3rds), 50, 135 (OM), GoPro Hero 3, Novo/Giottos/ Manfrotto supports. Lowepro, Tamrac, Manfrotto, and Billingham bags.

External Competition Secretary, Cwmbran PS & Welsh Photographic Federation Judge
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 20th May 2009
colin stares
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Re: remote shutter release cable

Hi Benvandetta, I didn't explain very well. What i meant was that i would sometimes like to set up the camera on a tripod by a pond or bird feeder and sit back at a distance to capture an image, the rm-1 would work ok, (but I wanted to work from the back of the camera sometimes)only if i could get to the front of the camera without disturbing the subject.So i will use a zoom or telephoto lens to keep my distance instead when necessary.Regards. Colin
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 16th July 2009
Dave Dave is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Bristol
Posts: 12
Thanks: 3
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Likes: 1
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Re: remote shutter release cable

I have just returned from a trip to my daughter's and got the chance to try my Hahnel remote control with her E500. Although the cable will fit the socket on the E500 the remote does NOT work. It would appear that Olympus has not put in the necessary connections. I might add that the Hahnel remote (model no HW433 OL80) is excellent and works well with my E510 and E30.

Hope this is useful.

Dave
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hahnel Remote Shutter Release Paulpp General accessories 1 25th February 2009 11:07 PM
Cable release - buyer beware! StephenL Olympus E-3 13 24th February 2009 10:16 AM
Any suggestions for remote cable release for E-3...? theMusicMan Accessory talk 14 21st October 2008 05:05 PM
Anyone suggest a remote shutter release for my E-3... theMusicMan General accessories 4 28th December 2007 04:50 PM
Excellent value E-3 Remote cable beardedwombat Olympus E-3 4 19th December 2007 10:18 AM


All times are GMT. The time now is 11:06 PM.


The Write Technology Ltd, 2007-2019, All rights reservedAd Management plugin by RedTyger