Olympus UK E-System User Group
Olympus UK E-System User Group

Join our unique resource for Olympus Four Thirds E-System DSLR and Pen and OM-D Micro Four Thirds photographers. Show your images via our free e-group photo gallery. Please read the e-group.uk.net forum terms and conditions before posting for the first time. Above all, welcome!


Go Back   Olympus UK E-System User Group > Cameras, lenses and system accessories > Camera conference > Micro Four Thirds > Olympus OM-D E-M1 Mark II

Olympus OM-D E-M1 Mark II The second Micro Four Thirds camera that offers phase detect focusing so you can use Four Thirds DSLR lenses normally as well a Micro Four Thirds lenses.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #16  
Old 29th January 2017
kbouk kbouk is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Piraeus - Greece
Posts: 64
Thanks: 1
Thanked 28 Times in 16 Posts
Likes: 0
Liked 7 Times in 6 Posts
Re: Remote shutter release.

I also bought a Canon RS-60E3 and costs 18€, OLYMPUS EM1.2's release shutter cable with 2.5Pin Jack is RM-CB2 and costs 65-80€ here in Greece.

https://www.olympus.co.uk/site/en/c/...cb2/index.html
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 3rd March 2017
blu-by-u blu-by-u is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Selangor, Malaysia
Posts: 1,993
Thanks: 230
Thanked 107 Times in 93 Posts
Likes: 370
Liked 709 Times in 378 Posts
Re: Remote shutter release.

Many have in the past purchased the RM-UC1 to accompany our beloved olympus cameras. (I got a compatible)


The New OMD EM1ii have moved to a different socket. So being a miser, I decide to hack my old RM-UC1. If you do not have or own or have sold older models that uses the USB connector for remote,you can cut the USB connector totally off. But I kept mine as I still use the MK1.

Bought the 2.5mm stereo plug


From about 100mm of the USB plug, Cut off about 20mm of the covering to expose the 3 wires inside.


Just to confirm the required positions of the 3 wires, I removed the back of the trigger to check the wires.

Yellow being the common, White for focus and Red for shutter.
This may differ from different makers.

Then carefully remove about 5mm of the individual wiring insulation.


Carefully solder to the 2.5mm plug


I use hot shrink to cover the plug ends.


The completed remote now looks like this


Hack is at your own risk.
__________________
* Henry
* Location: Subang Jaya, Selangor
* Malaysia


All my garbage so far.
Reply With Quote
The Following 4 Users Say Thank You to blu-by-u For This Useful Post:
Bikie John (3rd March 2017), MJ224 (28th March 2017), Phill D (15th November 2017), Wee man (3rd March 2017)
The Following Users Liked This Post:
AMc (3rd March 2017), drmarkf (26th March 2017), Phill D (15th November 2017)
  #18  
Old 3rd March 2017
Bikie John's Avatar
Bikie John Bikie John is online now
Full member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Wessex
Posts: 4,049
Thanks: 187
Thanked 666 Times in 587 Posts
Likes: 535
Liked 754 Times in 500 Posts
Re: Remote shutter release.

Nice one!

John
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Bikie John For This Useful Post:
blu-by-u (10th March 2017)
  #19  
Old 26th March 2017
drmarkf's Avatar
drmarkf drmarkf is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Cambridge, UK
Posts: 5,647
Thanks: 360
Thanked 508 Times in 422 Posts
Likes: 2,219
Liked 1,281 Times in 728 Posts
Re: Remote shutter release.

Cheapest I've found on the UK for the Canon RS-60E3 is Calumet, who sold me one at the Photo Show for 13 quid.

It's nice and small and the lip around the plug has a rubberised coating, which I suspect will provide some weather proofing as long as it's pushed fully home.

I do use the phone app as well, but having a physical button to press is a lot easier when it's freezing cold or pi$$ing down.
__________________
Regards,
Mark

------------------------------
http://www.microcontrast.com
Too much Oly gear.
Panasonic GM5, 12-32, 12-35, 15. Laowa 7.5.
Assorted legacy lenses, plus a Fuji X70 & a Sony A7S.
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 26th March 2017
Beagletorque's Avatar
Beagletorque Beagletorque is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Extreme South Midlands, England
Posts: 7,257
Thanks: 1,239
Thanked 874 Times in 791 Posts
Likes: 2,268
Liked 4,077 Times in 1,504 Posts
Re: Remote shutter release.

Genuine fake one on eBay for a tenner...

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Genuine-Ca...3D162427311382
Reply With Quote
  #21  
Old 26th March 2017
Growltiger's Avatar
Growltiger Growltiger is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: UK
Posts: 313
Thanks: 2
Thanked 97 Times in 70 Posts
Likes: 9
Liked 81 Times in 55 Posts
Re: Remote shutter release.

All that work and you can simply buy one for 2.35 including postage.
http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Remote-Shu...D/251400398812
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 26th March 2017
sapper sapper is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Leigh on Sea, Essex
Posts: 5,128
Thanks: 207
Thanked 462 Times in 263 Posts
Likes: 426
Liked 1,003 Times in 382 Posts
Re: Remote shutter release.

Quote:
Originally Posted by drmarkf View Post
Cheapest I've found on the UK for the Canon RS-60E3 is Calumet, who sold me one at the Photo Show for 13 quid.

It's nice and small and the lip around the plug has a rubberised coating, which I suspect will provide some weather proofing as long as it's pushed fully home.

I do use the phone app as well, but having a physical button to press is a lot easier when it's freezing cold or pi$$ing down.
Funny this. I have a Canon RS-60E3 and it don't fit the camera.
__________________
Dave
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 26th March 2017
Growltiger's Avatar
Growltiger Growltiger is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: UK
Posts: 313
Thanks: 2
Thanked 97 Times in 70 Posts
Likes: 9
Liked 81 Times in 55 Posts
Re: Remote shutter release.

Quote:
Originally Posted by sapper View Post
Funny this. I have a Canon RS-60E3 and it don't fit the camera.
Buy a fake one then - they work fine!
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 26th March 2017
drmarkf's Avatar
drmarkf drmarkf is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Cambridge, UK
Posts: 5,647
Thanks: 360
Thanked 508 Times in 422 Posts
Likes: 2,219
Liked 1,281 Times in 728 Posts
Re: Remote shutter release.

Quote:
Originally Posted by sapper View Post
Funny this. I have a Canon RS-60E3 and it don't fit the camera.
Are you sure you're using the right socket, Dave? When I first tried mine I thought I'd ballsed up and got the wrong one, but then I realised it fits in the socket under the rubber cover beneath the shutter release on the right hand face of the body...
That has the great advantage of not being obstructed by a L-plate.
__________________
Regards,
Mark

------------------------------
http://www.microcontrast.com
Too much Oly gear.
Panasonic GM5, 12-32, 12-35, 15. Laowa 7.5.
Assorted legacy lenses, plus a Fuji X70 & a Sony A7S.
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 26th March 2017
sapper sapper is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Leigh on Sea, Essex
Posts: 5,128
Thanks: 207
Thanked 462 Times in 263 Posts
Likes: 426
Liked 1,003 Times in 382 Posts
Re: Remote shutter release.

Quote:
Originally Posted by drmarkf View Post
Are you sure you're using the right socket, Dave? When I first tried mine I thought I'd ballsed up and got the wrong one, but then I realised it fits in the socket under the rubber cover beneath the shutter release on the right hand face of the body...
That has the great advantage of not being obstructed by a L-plate.
Ooops, wrong hole.
__________________
Dave
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 27th March 2017
blu-by-u blu-by-u is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Selangor, Malaysia
Posts: 1,993
Thanks: 230
Thanked 107 Times in 93 Posts
Likes: 370
Liked 709 Times in 378 Posts
Re: Remote shutter release.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Growltiger View Post
Buy a fake one then - they work fine!
Please don't call compatibles fake Unless they are printed with the brand and all but not.
__________________
* Henry
* Location: Subang Jaya, Selangor
* Malaysia


All my garbage so far.
Reply With Quote
The Following User Liked This Post:
Wreckdiver (27th March 2017)
  #27  
Old 27th March 2017
Wreckdiver's Avatar
Wreckdiver Wreckdiver is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: From Liverpool, live in Chippenham, Wiltshire.
Posts: 1,777
Thanks: 95
Thanked 85 Times in 80 Posts
Likes: 122
Liked 132 Times in 74 Posts
Re: Remote shutter release.

Quote:
Originally Posted by blu-by-u View Post
Please don't call compatibles fake Unless they are printed with the brand and all but not.
Absolutely.

Steve
__________________
Old divers never die, they just go down on old wrecks
Take nothing but photographs, leave nothing but bubbles
My website
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 27th March 2017
RobEW RobEW is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Nottingham
Posts: 2,055
Thanks: 166
Thanked 75 Times in 69 Posts
Likes: 1,202
Liked 194 Times in 132 Posts
Re: Remote shutter release.

Quote:
Originally Posted by wanderer View Post
At the demo I went to, I asked the question. The reply was download an app and all camera actions can be worked wirelessly from the phone including live view. Interestingly you still have to turn the camera on manually! Otherwise set the camera on delayed release.
If this means the Olympus OI Share app, then (unless I have an old version) it controls only a few of the main shooting parameters. It does offer live view though which can be nice. It doesn't offer control of the menu system. From memory it's just aperture, shutter mode and shutter speed, ISO, exposure compensation, selecting a focus point and triggering the shutter.
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 27th March 2017
090657 090657 is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Gloucester
Posts: 543
Thanks: 67
Thanked 38 Times in 28 Posts
Likes: 30
Liked 350 Times in 110 Posts
Re: Remote shutter release.

Great news that my Pentax K3 cable will be the only thing I keep when switching to the E-M1 mark 2.
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 31st March 2017
mack100 mack100 is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Camberley Surrey
Posts: 471
Thanks: 81
Thanked 26 Times in 26 Posts
Likes: 260
Liked 215 Times in 59 Posts
Re: Remote shutter release.

Quote:
Originally Posted by sapper View Post
Ooops, wrong hole.
That's exactly what I did, I even bought a different cheapo brand of cable from Amazon.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Remote Shutter Release Socket Grumpy Hec Olympus OM-D E-M1 Mark II 2 17th December 2016 08:55 AM
EM-5 - Remote Shutter release Gwyver Olympus OM-D E-M5 0 1st May 2012 06:38 AM
HELP! Remote shutter release not working Woody Olympus E-420 4 22nd November 2011 11:15 PM
remote shutter release cable colin stares Olympus E-500 10 16th July 2009 12:39 PM
Hahnel Remote Shutter Release Paulpp General accessories 1 25th February 2009 11:07 PM


All times are GMT. The time now is 07:36 PM.


The Write Technology Ltd, 2007-2019, All rights reservedAd Management plugin by RedTyger