Olympus UK E-System User Group
Olympus UK E-System User Group

Join our unique resource for Olympus Four Thirds E-System DSLR and Pen and OM-D Micro Four Thirds photographers. Show your images via our free e-group photo gallery. Please read the e-group.uk.net forum terms and conditions before posting for the first time. Above all, welcome!


Go Back   Olympus UK E-System User Group > Cameras, lenses and system accessories > Camera conference > Micro Four Thirds > Olympus OM-D E-M5

Olympus OM-D E-M5 The first Micro Four Thirds camera from Olympus with an integrated Electronic Viewfinder

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 15th October 2012
Seonnaidh's Avatar
Seonnaidh Seonnaidh is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Isle of Skye
Posts: 1,344
Thanks: 44
Thanked 279 Times in 189 Posts
Likes: 0
Liked 33 Times in 11 Posts
What am I doing wrong?

Every time I use my OMD between shots the point of focus seems to shift of its own volition.
How can I set things up so that it only alters when I tell it to do so?
__________________


"Always shoot in RAW and avoid JPEGs"

William Shakespeare.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 15th October 2012
snaarman's Avatar
snaarman snaarman is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Baaarkshire UK
Posts: 6,873
Thanks: 504
Thanked 417 Times in 325 Posts
Likes: 492
Liked 1,346 Times in 508 Posts
Re: What am I doing wrong?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Seonnaidh View Post
Every time I use my OMD between shots the point of focus seems to shift of its own volition.
How can I set things up so that it only alters when I tell it to do so?
Nose on touch screen maybe? I have touch screen disabled, so I am guessing...
__________________
Look, I'm an old man. I shouldn't be expected to put up with this.


Pete's photoblog Misleading the public since 2010.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 15th October 2012
jamsa jamsa is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 514
Thanks: 310
Thanked 78 Times in 56 Posts
Likes: 228
Liked 21 Times in 15 Posts
Re: What am I doing wrong?

Or continuous autofocus?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 15th October 2012
PeterBirder's Avatar
PeterBirder PeterBirder is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: BRAINTREE ESSEX
Posts: 5,950
Thanks: 1,760
Thanked 1,024 Times in 854 Posts
Likes: 1,922
Liked 799 Times in 467 Posts
Re: What am I doing wrong?

Hi Seonnaidh.
Mine's done that a couple of times, usually after I've been playing with the Live View "touch to focus" and "touch to focus and shoot" nonsense. I think I eventually sussed out that you need to set at least two things to get it under control. First, using the Super Control Panel set the focus box to the central position. Second, go to the Menu "cogs A AF/MF" .On the second page select "[...] Set Home", select the centre single box option, then set the box to the centre position in the grid. Phew!

Hope this helps.
__________________
Peter

she looked at me and said "It's official. I hate your camera. It's just so amazing and perfect I want one!"

E-M10 MK II, E-M5, E-PL1, E-PM2, mZ 12-50, mZ 14-42mm EZ, mZ 17mm f 1.8, mZ 25mm f1.8, mZ 45mm f1.8, mZ 75-300mm II.
OM1n, OM 50mm f1.8.
Oly Viewer3, Dxo Pro 11. FastStone.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 15th October 2012
Ian's Avatar
Ian Ian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Hemel Hempstead, Hertfordshire, UK
Posts: 11,748
Thanks: 428
Thanked 2,633 Times in 1,312 Posts
Likes: 900
Liked 1,816 Times in 819 Posts
Re: What am I doing wrong?

Yes - I have this problem so turning the touch screen mode off is a possible solution.

Ian
__________________
Founder and editor of:
Olympus UK E-System User Group (http://e-group.uk.net)
Four Thirds User (http://fourthirds-user.com)
Digital Photography Now (http://dpnow.com)
Olympus camera, lens, and accessory hire (http://e-group.uk.net/hire)

Twitter: www.twitter.com/ian_burley
Flickr: www.flickr.com/photos/dpnow/
Pinterest: www.pinterest.com/ianburley/
NEW: My personal BLOG ianburley.com
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 15th October 2012
DJMC's Avatar
DJMC DJMC is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Lutterworth, Leics
Posts: 1,236
Thanks: 2
Thanked 46 Times in 35 Posts
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Re: What am I doing wrong?

Quote:
Originally Posted by snaarman View Post
Nose on touch screen maybe? I have touch screen disabled, so I am guessing...
Before my nose touches the screen, the eye sensor switches to EVF so my nose can't adjust the focus point. Touch screen IS on, set to automatically release the shutter - the one with the 'finger over two lines'. Once the shutter releases, the AF area returns to the centre.

If you have the 'Tap to display a focus frame' option, the focus point will remain where something last touched it, not in the centre as with my 'automatic shutter' touch setting .

As Peter says, I have selected 'Spot' in the SCP, but 'Home' is still set to the default whole screen option.

With 'home' set to centre, your problem persists when touch is set to 'Tap to display...'. Pressing 'OK' or 'Menu' does reset the AF area back to home, as does turning the camera off and on again, but pressing the shutter doesn't. Why's that?

__________________
David
--------------------------
-XZ-1 * VF-2+EP-9
--------------------------
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 15th October 2012
Seonnaidh's Avatar
Seonnaidh Seonnaidh is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Isle of Skye
Posts: 1,344
Thanks: 44
Thanked 279 Times in 189 Posts
Likes: 0
Liked 33 Times in 11 Posts
Re: What am I doing wrong?

Ahhh, that PeterBirder is a bit of an OK geezer.
Did as you suggested Peter and for the moment everything seems just fine and dandy.
Thanks to all who made much appreciated suggestions.
__________________


"Always shoot in RAW and avoid JPEGs"

William Shakespeare.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 15th October 2012
DJMC's Avatar
DJMC DJMC is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Lutterworth, Leics
Posts: 1,236
Thanks: 2
Thanked 46 Times in 35 Posts
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Re: What am I doing wrong?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Seonnaidh View Post
Ahhh, that PeterBirder is a bit of an OK geezer.
Did as you suggested Peter and for the moment everything seems just fine and dandy.
Thanks to all who made much appreciated suggestions.
Out of interest, which of the two touch screen options are you using?...
1) Touch to take photo, or
2) Touch to display a focus screen

__________________
David
--------------------------
-XZ-1 * VF-2+EP-9
--------------------------
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 15th October 2012
Seonnaidh's Avatar
Seonnaidh Seonnaidh is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Isle of Skye
Posts: 1,344
Thanks: 44
Thanked 279 Times in 189 Posts
Likes: 0
Liked 33 Times in 11 Posts
Re: What am I doing wrong?

Hi David,
Neither as far as I know.
__________________


"Always shoot in RAW and avoid JPEGs"

William Shakespeare.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 15th October 2012
DJMC's Avatar
DJMC DJMC is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Lutterworth, Leics
Posts: 1,236
Thanks: 2
Thanked 46 Times in 35 Posts
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Re: What am I doing wrong?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Seonnaidh View Post
Hi David,
Neither as far as I know.
Must be one of them.
There are only three options:
1 & 2 above, or "Touch screen off".
What does the touch screen logo to the left of the screen look like?

__________________
David
--------------------------
-XZ-1 * VF-2+EP-9
--------------------------
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 15th October 2012
Seonnaidh's Avatar
Seonnaidh Seonnaidh is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Isle of Skye
Posts: 1,344
Thanks: 44
Thanked 279 Times in 189 Posts
Likes: 0
Liked 33 Times in 11 Posts
Re: What am I doing wrong?

"Touch Screen Off" is the current setting.
__________________


"Always shoot in RAW and avoid JPEGs"

William Shakespeare.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 15th October 2012
PeterBirder's Avatar
PeterBirder PeterBirder is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: BRAINTREE ESSEX
Posts: 5,950
Thanks: 1,760
Thanked 1,024 Times in 854 Posts
Likes: 1,922
Liked 799 Times in 467 Posts
Re: What am I doing wrong?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Seonnaidh View Post
Ahhh, that PeterBirder is a bit of an OK geezer.
Did as you suggested Peter and for the moment everything seems just fine and dandy.
Thanks to all who made much appreciated suggestions.
Hehe. I've just had my camera a bit longer than you and stumbled my way through some of the little frustrations this camera throws at you.

Actually I think that this type of "problem" highlights the fact that Olympus have listened to a lot of feedback/wishlists and "why can't it do this's" and fallen over backwards to accommodate everyone's desires in one camera. The downside of course is that with only limited space for buttons, dials and switches many of the controls have to do different things in different operating modes or related functions have to be set in complementary ways in EVF and Liveview modes.

Another good one is getting a small focus box and magnified view in the EVF. I got there eventually (with help from other's experiences) but I'd have to sit and think for a bit to tell you how I did it.

Regards.
__________________
Peter

she looked at me and said "It's official. I hate your camera. It's just so amazing and perfect I want one!"

E-M10 MK II, E-M5, E-PL1, E-PM2, mZ 12-50, mZ 14-42mm EZ, mZ 17mm f 1.8, mZ 25mm f1.8, mZ 45mm f1.8, mZ 75-300mm II.
OM1n, OM 50mm f1.8.
Oly Viewer3, Dxo Pro 11. FastStone.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 15th October 2012
DJMC's Avatar
DJMC DJMC is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Lutterworth, Leics
Posts: 1,236
Thanks: 2
Thanked 46 Times in 35 Posts
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Re: What am I doing wrong?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Seonnaidh View Post
"Touch Screen Off" is the current setting.
Was that the original setting when you had the problem, or have you changed it out of frustration?

Confused now.
__________________
David
--------------------------
-XZ-1 * VF-2+EP-9
--------------------------
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 15th October 2012
Seonnaidh's Avatar
Seonnaidh Seonnaidh is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Isle of Skye
Posts: 1,344
Thanks: 44
Thanked 279 Times in 189 Posts
Likes: 0
Liked 33 Times in 11 Posts
Re: What am I doing wrong?

I set the af position and turned off touch screen.
__________________


"Always shoot in RAW and avoid JPEGs"

William Shakespeare.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HELP! What did I say wrong?? StephenL The lounge 47 18th September 2012 11:25 AM
The Wrong Lens. PeterBirder Foto Fair 0 11th August 2012 10:20 PM
What did I do wrong? Olympusgirl The lounge 10 31st May 2011 12:35 PM
I.S. goes wrong? snaarman Foto Fair 32 6th April 2011 04:15 AM
please tell me what I'm doing wrong! alexs Looking for improvement 17 15th December 2010 12:58 PM


All times are GMT. The time now is 08:16 PM.


The Write Technology Ltd, 2007-2019, All rights reservedAd Management plugin by RedTyger