Olympus UK E-System User Group
Olympus UK E-System User Group

Join our unique resource for Olympus Four Thirds E-System DSLR and Pen and OM-D Micro Four Thirds photographers. Show your images via our free e-group photo gallery. Please read the e-group.uk.net forum terms and conditions before posting for the first time. Above all, welcome!


Go Back   Olympus UK E-System User Group > Cameras, lenses and system accessories > Camera conference > Olympus E-400

Olympus E-400 E-400 specific discussion.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 16th July 2011
weecountyman weecountyman is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Central Scotland
Posts: 149
Thanks: 1
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Likes: 0
Liked 1 Time in 1 Post
Help - no images

My E400 started "playing up" recently and I was getting some blank (totally black image on LCD) exposures among some OK shots.

Now all the exposures are coming up black.

I went back to factory reset - but the issue persists.

Do I have a major problem ?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 16th July 2011
crimbo crimbo is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Shetland
Posts: 1,736
Thanks: 100
Thanked 149 Times in 130 Posts
Likes: 22
Liked 122 Times in 62 Posts
Re: Help - no images

doesnt sound good but post a verbose explanation of how the camera is set and post one of the images with the EXIF intact
__________________
chris
shetland
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 16th July 2011
weecountyman weecountyman is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Central Scotland
Posts: 149
Thanks: 1
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Likes: 0
Liked 1 Time in 1 Post
Re: Help - no images

I'll need to check the settings - have removed battery as above for 24 hours.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 16th July 2011
Nick Temple-Fry's Avatar
Nick Temple-Fry Nick Temple-Fry is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Wiltshire
Posts: 4,395
Thanks: 17
Thanked 190 Times in 142 Posts
Likes: 0
Liked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Re: Help - no images

Whilst it's a long shot, card errors can do the funniest things. Always worth seeing if the same problem exists when a card isn't in the camera.

Nick
__________________
Nick Temple-Fry

Medicine as a science ranks somewhere between archaeology and economics.

www.theChurchPhotographer.co.uk 90 Churches -- Fairford St Mary's, exceptionally splendid
www.temple-fry.co.uk
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 17th July 2011
sapper sapper is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Leigh on Sea, Essex
Posts: 5,015
Thanks: 186
Thanked 451 Times in 254 Posts
Likes: 406
Liked 948 Times in 364 Posts
Re: Help - no images

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nick Temple-Fry View Post
Whilst it's a long shot, card errors can do the funniest things. Always worth seeing if the same problem exists when a card isn't in the camera.

Nick
But if there were no card in camera it will not show pics on the LCD anyway surely. Or am I missing something?
If you have another camera, check the card in that one, could be a dodgy card.
__________________
Dave
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 17th July 2011
weecountyman weecountyman is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Central Scotland
Posts: 149
Thanks: 1
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Likes: 0
Liked 1 Time in 1 Post
Re: Help - no images

I tried new cards, both formats, no success

Then went through the reset procedures, still no joy.

WTF is the problem ?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 17th July 2011
Nick Temple-Fry's Avatar
Nick Temple-Fry Nick Temple-Fry is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Wiltshire
Posts: 4,395
Thanks: 17
Thanked 190 Times in 142 Posts
Likes: 0
Liked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Re: Help - no images

Quote:
Originally Posted by weecountyman View Post
I tried new cards, both formats, no success

Then went through the reset procedures, still no joy.

WTF is the problem ?
Quote:
Originally Posted by sapper View Post
But if there were no card in camera it will not show pics on the LCD anyway surely. Or am I missing something?
If you have another camera, check the card in that one, could be a dodgy card.
But it will show the picture with No-Card superimposed above it, leastways the E-3 will (as will the E-500), so the no-card display follows the attempt to read/write to the card.

However that easy solution seems lost to us.

So the question is - does the card record shots (albeit probably black) with a reasonable exif (exposure/shutter time) for what was taken. If it does then this tends towards a shutter failure.

Might be worth attempting to use cleaning mode to see if the shutter opens up (obviously with the lens removed)

Otherwise, ask a professional repairer such as Luton Camera Repairs. But it doesn't look like good.

Sorry

Nick
__________________
Nick Temple-Fry

Medicine as a science ranks somewhere between archaeology and economics.

www.theChurchPhotographer.co.uk 90 Churches -- Fairford St Mary's, exceptionally splendid
www.temple-fry.co.uk
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 18th July 2011
crimbo crimbo is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Shetland
Posts: 1,736
Thanks: 100
Thanked 149 Times in 130 Posts
Likes: 22
Liked 122 Times in 62 Posts
Re: Help - no images

Okay...tell us in detail how the camera is set...
Also
If you look at the lcd and press menu...do you see the menu?
As has been suggested...take the card out and shut the card door and try to review an image...what do you see on the lcd?
Are you shooting raw or jpg?
post up an image ( how ever black) with the exif intact
take the lens off and take an image...post that up
with the lens off and a 1 second shutter speed, look at the mirro and fir off a shot..doe it rise out of the way? does the shutter open so that you can see the chip?...
good luck
__________________
chris
shetland
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 18th July 2011
weecountyman weecountyman is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Central Scotland
Posts: 149
Thanks: 1
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Likes: 0
Liked 1 Time in 1 Post
Re: Help - no images

Menu and both Info screens come up on LCD

Settings

ISO/WB/Flash/AF area = Auto
Picture Mode = natural
Metering = digital ESP
AF Mode = S-AF
Memory = xD card
HQ (3638x2736)

Have I missed anything ?

Mirror rises, shutter appears to open.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 18th July 2011
crimbo crimbo is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Shetland
Posts: 1,736
Thanks: 100
Thanked 149 Times in 130 Posts
Likes: 22
Liked 122 Times in 62 Posts
Re: Help - no images

Okay...so you are creating jpegs...now post up the image from the card
__________________
chris
shetland
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 18th July 2011
weecountyman weecountyman is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Central Scotland
Posts: 149
Thanks: 1
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Likes: 0
Liked 1 Time in 1 Post
Re: Help - no images

I've never posted up an image - how do you do that ?

The same as uploading an image to Photobucket and then showing it on a message ?

Like this ?


Last edited by weecountyman; 18th July 2011 at 07:36 PM. Reason: Image added (hopefully)
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 18th July 2011
crimbo crimbo is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Shetland
Posts: 1,736
Thanks: 100
Thanked 149 Times in 130 Posts
Likes: 22
Liked 122 Times in 62 Posts
Re: Help - no images

okay now you need to save it with the EXIF data...so take the image from the card and just resize to 800px high and then post up
Also set the camera to raw capture and see what you get
__________________
chris
shetland
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 20th July 2011
weecountyman weecountyman is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Central Scotland
Posts: 149
Thanks: 1
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Likes: 0
Liked 1 Time in 1 Post
Re: Help - no images

This is all new territory for me.

Above image details

1/125
F7.1
ISO 100
WB auto
focal length 17mm
Metering - Pattern

Is this the info needed ?

Set camera to RAW and got another totally black image.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 20th July 2011
Janet's Avatar
Janet Janet is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Padiham, Lancashire
Posts: 1,168
Thanks: 91
Thanked 128 Times in 87 Posts
Likes: 25
Liked 134 Times in 50 Posts
Re: Help - no images

I've had a similar problem with my e520 recently...every time I change lenses, the first shot I take is simply black. Firstly I put it down to using old MF lenses with an adapter, but it's happening with my kit lenses too.

I usually shoot just jpeg, but on occasions shoot jpeg/raw, just in case. It happens whatever the settings.

It's not a major problem, as every subsequent shot I take is OK. It's only the first one which comes out black.

I went into the store I bought it from today to confirm that I did indeed get the three year guarantee when I bought it as it's two years next week since I bought it...thankfully I DID, so I'll be hammering it over the next year and make sure any problems are sorted!

Janet
__________________
My flickr photostream....


Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 21st July 2011
crimbo crimbo is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Shetland
Posts: 1,736
Thanks: 100
Thanked 149 Times in 130 Posts
Likes: 22
Liked 122 Times in 62 Posts
Re: Help - no images

Well you have done all the obvious...looks like you will have to send it to be fixed by Olympus
__________________
chris
shetland
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
E-PL1 First Images stevednp3 Olympus Pen E-PL1 6 27th September 2010 11:47 AM
First images with my E-20 Adagio Foto Fair 2 26th February 2009 10:02 PM
First Images With 50-200 SWD The Saint Looking for improvement 3 17th January 2009 11:44 PM
OOB Images... ever had a go...? theMusicMan Foto Fair 15 25th September 2008 03:55 PM
Manipulating others images gno The lounge 5 1st July 2008 06:51 PM


All times are GMT. The time now is 11:46 AM.


The Write Technology Ltd, 2007-2019, All rights reservedAd Management plugin by RedTyger