Olympus UK E-System User Group
Olympus UK E-System User Group

Join our unique resource for Olympus Four Thirds E-System DSLR and Pen and OM-D Micro Four Thirds photographers. Show your images via our free e-group photo gallery. Please read the e-group.uk.net forum terms and conditions before posting for the first time. Above all, welcome!


Go Back   Olympus UK E-System User Group > Cameras, lenses and system accessories > Accessory talk > General accessories

General accessories Batteries, eye cups, power grips, straps, eyepiece magnifiers, cables, remotes and much more.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 2nd April 2011
petrovich's Avatar
petrovich petrovich is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Horndean, Hampshire
Posts: 266
Thanks: 2
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Likes: 1
Liked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Screen calibration

All.

I have calibrated my liyama Prolite E2409HDS monitor with my Spyder 3 express unit. Before I did this I reset my monitor to factory point and reset the Nvidia Control panel.
The Spyder icm. file is loaded into the video card and under windows colour management my screen,printer, scanner and whatever else have the Spyder file as default.
My question is when I set Lightroom or whatever software to use the Spyder ICM I get a large difference in colour. What am I doing wrong? Do I need to buy a colorimeter that has the printer option as well?
Should I alter all settings to Adobe RGB on I have used the colorimeter or not.

Any advice would be helpfull.

P.S. The printer is a Epson R285.
__________________
PeterL

peterlittlephotography.com
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 2nd April 2011
OlyPaul's Avatar
OlyPaul OlyPaul is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: West Midlands
Posts: 5,470
Thanks: 140
Thanked 715 Times in 577 Posts
Likes: 177
Liked 875 Times in 355 Posts
Re: Screen calibration

You do not set your monitor profile as the working colour space in Adobe (or any other editing application come to that).

Adobe uses your spyder profile just to display the working space set in your Adobe application and you should not set the monitor profile as a working space.

And never never ever set your monitor profile as a output colour space. Which I think you must be doing in Lightroom as you cannot specify a working colour space in LR as it is automaticly ProPhoto RGB.

If you are having trouble getting your head around colour spaces and profiles, my advise is to set everything to srgb except your monitor profile.

By the way I have a R285 printer and get a exact match between print and the image displayed in LR and Elements.
__________________
Regards Paul.
One day I hope to be the person my dogs think I am.

https://www.flickr.com/photos/paul_silk/
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 2nd April 2011
petrovich's Avatar
petrovich petrovich is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Horndean, Hampshire
Posts: 266
Thanks: 2
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Likes: 1
Liked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Re: Screen calibration

Thanks Paul, I am going to try that now.

Regards
__________________
PeterL

peterlittlephotography.com
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Home built lens calibration chart thingi Kiwi Paul Lens focus 5 4th March 2011 12:48 PM
Monitor Calibration Equipment Garrie E-group equipment hire 4 19th February 2011 11:06 PM
While I wait for screen colour calibration... Cathrine Stephansen Looking for improvement 19 2nd July 2010 02:38 PM
External monitor calibration petrovich The lounge 4 2nd March 2010 09:24 PM
Impressed with new Calibration target DannyH Accessory talk 6 15th March 2009 06:00 PM


All times are GMT. The time now is 01:28 AM.


The Write Technology Ltd, 2007-2019, All rights reservedAd Management plugin by RedTyger