Olympus UK E-System User Group
Olympus UK E-System User Group

Join our unique resource for Olympus Four Thirds E-System DSLR and Pen and OM-D Micro Four Thirds photographers. Show your images via our free e-group photo gallery. Please read the e-group.uk.net forum terms and conditions before posting for the first time. Above all, welcome!


Go Back   Olympus UK E-System User Group > Cameras, lenses and system accessories > Camera conference > Olympus E-510

Olympus E-510 E-510 specific discussion.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 21st November 2007
Garrie's Avatar
Garrie Garrie is offline
SonorG
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Scotland
Posts: 1,003
Thanks: 65
Thanked 12 Times in 11 Posts
Likes: 2
Liked 7 Times in 3 Posts
AEB on E-510

Hi All,

Just bought a E510, also own a E500. Thing that bummed me out about the E500 was when using AEB I had to press the shutter 3 times to get the 3 exposures.

Does anyone know if this is the same on the E510? Would prefer it to shot the 3 exposures automatically like my mates Canon 400d.

Cheers
Garrie
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 21st November 2007
Ian's Avatar
Ian Ian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Hemel Hempstead, Hertfordshire, UK
Posts: 11,568
Thanks: 424
Thanked 2,522 Times in 1,269 Posts
Likes: 865
Liked 1,700 Times in 769 Posts
Re: AEB on E-510

Quote:
Originally Posted by Garrie View Post
Hi All,

Just bought a E510, also own a E500. Thing that bummed me out about the E500 was when using AEB I had to press the shutter 3 times to get the 3 exposures.

Does anyone know if this is the same on the E510? Would prefer it to shot the 3 exposures automatically like my mates Canon 400d.

Cheers
Garrie
Hi Garrie - you simply need to select continuous shooting mode and lift your finger after the third shot.

Ian
__________________
Founder and editor of:
Olympus UK E-System User Group (http://e-group.uk.net)
Four Thirds User (http://fourthirds-user.com)
Digital Photography Now (http://dpnow.com)
Olympus camera, lens, and accessory hire (http://e-group.uk.net/hire)

Twitter: www.twitter.com/ian_burley
Flickr: www.flickr.com/photos/dpnow/
Pinterest: www.pinterest.com/ianburley/
NEW: My personal BLOG ianburley.com

Last edited by Ian; 21st November 2007 at 01:08 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 21st November 2007
Garrie's Avatar
Garrie Garrie is offline
SonorG
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Scotland
Posts: 1,003
Thanks: 65
Thanked 12 Times in 11 Posts
Likes: 2
Liked 7 Times in 3 Posts
Re: AEB on E-510

Thanks for the reply Ian, bit of a bummer though as most shots will be using slow shutter speeds and I'll get a lot of camera shake keeping the button pressed in, oh well time for a remote.

Wonder if there will be a firmware upgrade to resolve this?

Cheers
Garrie
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 21st November 2007
Ian's Avatar
Ian Ian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Hemel Hempstead, Hertfordshire, UK
Posts: 11,568
Thanks: 424
Thanked 2,522 Times in 1,269 Posts
Likes: 865
Liked 1,700 Times in 769 Posts
Re: AEB on E-510

Quote:
Originally Posted by Garrie View Post
Thanks for the reply Ian, bit of a bummer though as most shots will be using slow shutter speeds and I'll get a lot of camera shake keeping the button pressed in, oh well time for a remote.

Wonder if there will be a firmware upgrade to resolve this?

Cheers
Garrie
I don't think that automatic firing of the bracketing sequence is a common feature. I have a Canon EOS-40D here and the manual doesn't AFAIK make a reference to what I think you are looking for. Seem like a good idea though

Ian
__________________
Founder and editor of:
Olympus UK E-System User Group (http://e-group.uk.net)
Four Thirds User (http://fourthirds-user.com)
Digital Photography Now (http://dpnow.com)
Olympus camera, lens, and accessory hire (http://e-group.uk.net/hire)

Twitter: www.twitter.com/ian_burley
Flickr: www.flickr.com/photos/dpnow/
Pinterest: www.pinterest.com/ianburley/
NEW: My personal BLOG ianburley.com
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 21st November 2007
Ian's Avatar
Ian Ian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Hemel Hempstead, Hertfordshire, UK
Posts: 11,568
Thanks: 424
Thanked 2,522 Times in 1,269 Posts
Likes: 865
Liked 1,700 Times in 769 Posts
Re: AEB on E-510

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ian View Post
I don't think that automatic firing of the bracketing sequence is a common feature. I have a Canon EOS-40D here and the manual doesn't AFAIK make a reference to what I think you are looking for. Seem like a good idea though

Ian
Thinking about this some more - do you mean AWB bracketing? The sequence will be done in one shot automatically because the camera only takes on picture and then adjusts the WB internally for the two additional shots using the same RAW data from the original picture, then saving a total of three versions.

Ian
__________________
Founder and editor of:
Olympus UK E-System User Group (http://e-group.uk.net)
Four Thirds User (http://fourthirds-user.com)
Digital Photography Now (http://dpnow.com)
Olympus camera, lens, and accessory hire (http://e-group.uk.net/hire)

Twitter: www.twitter.com/ian_burley
Flickr: www.flickr.com/photos/dpnow/
Pinterest: www.pinterest.com/ianburley/
NEW: My personal BLOG ianburley.com
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 21st November 2007
Garrie's Avatar
Garrie Garrie is offline
SonorG
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Scotland
Posts: 1,003
Thanks: 65
Thanked 12 Times in 11 Posts
Likes: 2
Liked 7 Times in 3 Posts
Re: AEB on E-510

Hi,

Deffo AEB, I use it to take 3 shots, each with differing exposures, EV± then use photomatix to generate a HDR image.

Its no biggie just wondered as it would make life a lot easier. Seems odd that the 40d manual doesn't mention it but I know my mates 400d can do it.

I just though it was a really handy feature and hoped it would be on the E510.

Cheers again
Garrie
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 02:46 AM.


© The Write Technology Ltd, 2007-2019, All rights reservedAd Management plugin by RedTyger