Olympus UK E-System User Group
Olympus UK E-System User Group

Join our unique resource for Olympus Four Thirds E-System DSLR and Pen and OM-D Micro Four Thirds photographers. Show your images via our free e-group photo gallery. Please read the e-group.uk.net forum terms and conditions before posting for the first time. Above all, welcome!


Go Back   Olympus UK E-System User Group > Cameras, lenses and system accessories > Camera conference > Micro Four Thirds > Olympus OM-D E-M1

Olympus OM-D E-M1 The first Micro Four Thirds camera that offers phase detect focusing so you can use Four Thirds DSLR lenses normally as well a Micro Four Thirds lenses.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 16th March 2014
DerekW DerekW is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Hampshire
Posts: 3,089
Thanks: 90
Thanked 336 Times in 263 Posts
Likes: 33
Liked 536 Times in 374 Posts
How do I over or under expose with Auto ISO

I am using the M1 with the shutter speed and aperture to suit what I want and then using auto ISO to get the exposure more or less correct - however there are times that I want to over or underexpose the subject.

From what I can see and read there is no lever or wheel I can use to achieve this.

Please tell me that there is something that I have not understand in the manual.

I want to avoid switching the ISO to a set value as that requires extra fiddling. I know I can set a specific over ride value for a given metering type in the menu structure.
__________________
This space for rent
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 16th March 2014
photo_owl photo_owl is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Kent
Posts: 1,423
Thanks: 37
Thanked 129 Times in 113 Posts
Likes: 55
Liked 53 Times in 42 Posts
Re: How do I over or under expose with Auto ISO

you have answered your own question - it's an override in menu, and can be set differently for different metering modes.

this is a step forwards from the Ex models, but it would be better still to permit direct exposure compensation.
__________________
E, Pen and OM-D bodies
43 m43 and legacy glass
loads of flashes and accessories from all the systems
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 16th March 2014
DerekW DerekW is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Hampshire
Posts: 3,089
Thanks: 90
Thanked 336 Times in 263 Posts
Likes: 33
Liked 536 Times in 374 Posts
Re: How do I over or under expose with Auto ISO

Thanks - I was hoping for a more instant and direct method that could be easily reversed
__________________
This space for rent
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 16th March 2014
Magus's Avatar
Magus Magus is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Greater Manchester
Posts: 600
Thanks: 16
Thanked 28 Times in 26 Posts
Likes: 574
Liked 23 Times in 17 Posts
Re: How do I over or under expose with Auto ISO

I don't have an E M1 (yet) but I have downloaded the manual. I think that if you look at p99 it shows you how to assign exposure compensation to a button. This should allow you to use a wheel to under or over expose. I don't know if you have any spare buttons though!

Hope this is of some help.

Gus
__________________
Gus
__________________________________________________ ______________
E-M1 E-620 XZ-1 (E-300) - M12-40 ZD9-18 ZD14-45 ZD14-54 ZD40-150 ZD70-200 ZD35mm Macro EC-14
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 16th March 2014
birdboy birdboy is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Essex
Posts: 1,375
Thanks: 349
Thanked 237 Times in 200 Posts
Likes: 182
Liked 331 Times in 159 Posts
Re: How do I over or under expose with Auto ISO

I have wanted to have the same control when in M mode. The only way I can see is to flip the lever in position 2 and then using the front dial adjust the iso to get your over/under exposure. The compensation along with shutter and aperture are shown in a line just down from the top of the screen.
__________________
John

OM-D E-M1, 12-40 f2.8 Pro, Tamron 14-150mm f5.8, E5, E3, Zuiko 50-200mm SWD, Zuiko 12-60mm SWD, Zuiko ED 70-300mm f5.6, 50mmf2, Zuiko ED 9-18mm f5.6, Sigma 50-500mm f6.3, EC14, EC20, RM-1, VA-1
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to birdboy For This Useful Post:
bassman (17th March 2014)
  #6  
Old 17th March 2014
photo_owl photo_owl is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Kent
Posts: 1,423
Thanks: 37
Thanked 129 Times in 113 Posts
Likes: 55
Liked 53 Times in 42 Posts
Re: How do I over or under expose with Auto ISO

Quote:
Originally Posted by Magus View Post
I don't have an E M1 (yet) but I have downloaded the manual. I think that if you look at p99 it shows you how to assign exposure compensation to a button. This should allow you to use a wheel to under or over expose. I don't know if you have any spare buttons though!

Hope this is of some help.

Gus
not relevant in M mode with Auto ISO (on any E system camera) including your 620.
__________________
E, Pen and OM-D bodies
43 m43 and legacy glass
loads of flashes and accessories from all the systems
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 17th March 2014
OM USer's Avatar
OM USer OM USer is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: London
Posts: 12,196
Thanks: 2,395
Thanked 1,509 Times in 1,437 Posts
Likes: 6,256
Liked 1,429 Times in 912 Posts
Re: How do I over or under expose with Auto ISO

Can't be done on the E-M5 either. A lot of people have voiced this as a nice to have feature.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 17th March 2014
Gwyver's Avatar
Gwyver Gwyver is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: nr Stockport
Posts: 1,508
Thanks: 94
Thanked 333 Times in 209 Posts
Likes: 348
Liked 466 Times in 206 Posts
Re: How do I over or under expose with Auto ISO

Quote:
Originally Posted by birdboy View Post
I have wanted to have the same control when in M mode. The only way I can see is to flip the lever in position 2 and then using the front dial adjust the iso to get your over/under exposure. The compensation along with shutter and aperture are shown in a line just down from the top of the screen.
Yes that does what you want - provided that you have "Lever Function" (Menu Cog B) set to mode1 or mode 2. {See the manual, page 101}.

It is also helpful to have the information display set to superimpose a histogram so you can check the effect as you dial in the ISO adjustment.
__________________
Chris
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 17th March 2014
photo_owl photo_owl is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Kent
Posts: 1,423
Thanks: 37
Thanked 129 Times in 113 Posts
Likes: 55
Liked 53 Times in 42 Posts
Re: How do I over or under expose with Auto ISO

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gwyver View Post
Yes that does what you want - provided that you have "Lever Function" (Menu Cog B) set to mode1 or mode 2. {See the manual, page 101}.

It is also helpful to have the information display set to superimpose a histogram so you can check the effect as you dial in the ISO adjustment.
but, at the risk of stating the obvious, it doesn't do what Derek (OP) and many others want because you are retaining manual control of the ISO for exposure purposes rather than using it in Auto mode with the ability to dial in a little compensation if required.

An example might help - shooting rugby I will select a shutter speed for the movement control, the aperture for the dof required for the type of shots and leave the exposure in the hands of the ISO - I don't care about noise, grain etc the shots dead with motion blur or critical elements oof! Now, so far so good - until one team has mainly white shirts and the other black and white bands (for example). Spot or CW are useless (haven't time to judge where the exposure balance is being made!); what I really want is matrix exposure with a tweak up +0.7 or 1.0 probably, dialing down a bit as the mud gets applied!

there's no logical reason it can't be permitted, because effectively that's what's preventing it - permission!
__________________
E, Pen and OM-D bodies
43 m43 and legacy glass
loads of flashes and accessories from all the systems
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 17th March 2014
DerekW DerekW is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Hampshire
Posts: 3,089
Thanks: 90
Thanked 336 Times in 263 Posts
Likes: 33
Liked 536 Times in 374 Posts
Re: How do I over or under expose with Auto ISO

photo_owl you described my dilemma exactly apart from the subject not being sports related.
__________________
This space for rent
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 17th March 2014
byegad byegad is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: NE England
Posts: 771
Thanks: 20
Thanked 99 Times in 93 Posts
Likes: 106
Liked 151 Times in 105 Posts
Re: How do I over or under expose with Auto ISO

On my PEN and E series cameras you can AE shift easily. I'd be surprised if the OM EM1 hasn't got this feature. Maybe a trawl through the manual will turn it up.
__________________
Too many cameras!
E-500, E-510, EPM1, EPL5, EP3, EP5, OM-D E M10, OM-D E M5, Trip 35mm, Samsung WP10 and Panasonic G6 plus lots of lenses many manual focus.

Photos at http://www.flickr.com/photos/42941818@N07/
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 18th March 2014
photo_owl photo_owl is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Kent
Posts: 1,423
Thanks: 37
Thanked 129 Times in 113 Posts
Likes: 55
Liked 53 Times in 42 Posts
Re: How do I over or under expose with Auto ISO

Quote:
Originally Posted by byegad View Post
On my PEN and E series cameras you can AE shift easily. I'd be surprised if the OM EM1 hasn't got this feature. Maybe a trawl through the manual will turn it up.
you will have to explain this a little more - I'm afraid the only thing I can relate to AE shift is Ps, which changes the shutter/aperture relationship in Program mode but has no impact on exposure (which you just dial on top in P mode).

__________________
E, Pen and OM-D bodies
43 m43 and legacy glass
loads of flashes and accessories from all the systems
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 19th March 2014
Chris Semmens Chris Semmens is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Arlesey Beds
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Re: How do I over or under expose with Auto ISO

Hi

In Aperture Priority. rear dial changes aperture front dial alters exposure + or -

Hope this answers your question.

Chris
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 20th March 2014
photo_owl photo_owl is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Kent
Posts: 1,423
Thanks: 37
Thanked 129 Times in 113 Posts
Likes: 55
Liked 53 Times in 42 Posts
Re: How do I over or under expose with Auto ISO

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chris Semmens View Post
Hi

In Aperture Priority. rear dial changes aperture front dial alters exposure + or -

Hope this answers your question.

Chris
but we (this thread is about) M mode.....
__________________
E, Pen and OM-D bodies
43 m43 and legacy glass
loads of flashes and accessories from all the systems
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 20th March 2014
Ross the fiddler's Avatar
Ross the fiddler Ross the fiddler is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Blue Mtns, NSW Australia
Posts: 14,063
Thanks: 2,081
Thanked 1,326 Times in 1,033 Posts
Likes: 5,424
Liked 2,134 Times in 1,140 Posts
Re: How do I over or under expose with Auto ISO

Quote:
Originally Posted by photo_owl View Post
but we (this thread is about) M mode.....
Not related to the specific issue, but my wife came home frustrated with the teaching staff (at school) because they weren't reading the details given.

I can understand the disappointment (or rather, frustration) in not having this particular specific function as I can see it would have its uses. Maybe a bit more pressure on Olympus & it might be included in some future models & maybe, just maybe, added to some existing models, but I am dreaming now. One ideal way to include ISO compensation would be to have the + & - adjustment in the SCP under the ISO box (like flash compensation is), but now I'm really dreaming.
__________________
Ross
I fiddle with violins (when I'm not fiddling with a camera).
Flickr: https://www.flickr.com/photos/ross-the-fiddler/
Cameras: OM-D E-M1 & Mk II, Olympus Stylus 1, OM-D E-M5.
Lenses: M.ZD12-40mm f2.8 PRO Lens, M.ZD40-150mm f2.8 PRO Lens, MC-14, MC-20, M.ZD12-50, M.ZD60 Macro, M.ZD75-300 Mk II, MMF-3, ZD14-54 II, Sigma 150mm F2.8 APO Macro DG HSM.
Flashes: FL36R X2, FL50R, FL50.
Software: Capture One Pro 10 (& Olympus Viewer 3).
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Auto Ibis - what do you think of it? Alpha1 Olympus OM-D E-M1 3 5th October 2013 12:09 PM
Help please - OMD auto ISO Rens Olympus OM-D E-M5 5 25th November 2012 01:50 PM
Auto ISO StephenL Olympus E-620/600 3 15th September 2009 06:40 PM
Auto focus? yorky The lounge 0 15th June 2008 02:29 PM
How do I prepare and expose correctly for externally mounted flash? theMusicMan Camera conference 8 9th April 2008 06:31 AM


All times are GMT. The time now is 12:52 AM.


The Write Technology Ltd, 2007-2019, All rights reservedAd Management plugin by RedTyger