Olympus UK E-System User Group
Olympus UK E-System User Group

Join our unique resource for Olympus Four Thirds E-System DSLR and Pen and OM-D Micro Four Thirds photographers. Show your images via our free e-group photo gallery. Please read the e-group.uk.net forum terms and conditions before posting for the first time. Above all, welcome!


Go Back   Olympus UK E-System User Group > Cameras, lenses and system accessories > Camera conference > Micro Four Thirds > Olympus OM-D E-M1 Mark II

Olympus OM-D E-M1 Mark II The second Micro Four Thirds camera that offers phase detect focusing so you can use Four Thirds DSLR lenses normally as well a Micro Four Thirds lenses.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 18th August 2019
MJ224's Avatar
MJ224 MJ224 is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Carmarthenshire
Posts: 13,848
Thanks: 948
Thanked 750 Times in 696 Posts
Likes: 6,970
Liked 3,834 Times in 1,771 Posts
Scanner Mode

https://www.mu-43.com/threads/puffin...rmware.105325/

Quote"As many opportunities as were happening, I was having major difficulty locking on to focus--frustrating. I know my settings pretty well, but I'd moved a few things around with the new firmware and something was obviously wrong. I tried changing my focus points, messed with the sensitivity, changed from focus priority to my usual shutter priority, and even tried C-AF tracking, all with pretty poor results. I was beginning to think that Oly had released a firmware downgrade. My best success with the flyers was to spot an incoming bird and track it through the evf until it came close enough to get a decent capture. But I still had long strings of OOF frames and often it would just not lock on. I noticed that my focus points were not lighting up under the bird when it moved around under my all-points focus mode, and suddenly I realized I had the scanner set to mode 2, instead of the proper BIF mode 3. When changed, the joy of 3.1 came rolling back big time. What a change!" End Quote

This article appeared the above newsletter. Never really thought about nor understood the AF Scanner mode. I have changed a couple of my BIF settings to see if his waxing lyrical claims work. I wonder whether there is a downside having the AF scanning continually...………..
__________________
Mark Johnson

My Sailing Page

My Flickr
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to MJ224 For This Useful Post:
OM USer (18th August 2019)
  #2  
Old 18th August 2019
mik mik is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: grimsby
Posts: 855
Thanks: 94
Thanked 51 Times in 45 Posts
Likes: 378
Liked 619 Times in 221 Posts
Re: Scanner Mode

Dont know but mine is on 3 for BIF.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 18th August 2019
wornish's Avatar
wornish wornish is online now
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Cheshire
Posts: 6,061
Thanks: 341
Thanked 552 Times in 431 Posts
Likes: 2,863
Liked 1,606 Times in 790 Posts
Re: Scanner Mode

I just checked mine for bif shooting and I too had it set to Mode 2. Just changed it to Mode 3. So lets see what happens. One possible downside might be more battery use I guess.


Thanks for the original post Mark.
__________________
Dave

My Flickr
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 18th August 2019
Olybirder Olybirder is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Norfolk
Posts: 6,905
Thanks: 2,458
Thanked 997 Times in 794 Posts
Likes: 2,045
Liked 3,140 Times in 890 Posts
Re: Scanner Mode

Thanks Mark. I have just checked mine but it was already set to Mode 3 so, unfortunately, that is not a magic solution for me.

Probably not the correct thread for this but I would be interested to hear what settings others use for AF Center Priority. I have mine ticked for 5, 9 and 25 points and I suspect that might not be the best choice.

Ron
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 18th August 2019
mik mik is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: grimsby
Posts: 855
Thanks: 94
Thanked 51 Times in 45 Posts
Likes: 378
Liked 619 Times in 221 Posts
Re: Scanner Mode

Quote:
Originally Posted by Olybirder View Post
Thanks Mark. I have just checked mine but it was already set to Mode 3 so, unfortunately, that is not a magic solution for me.

Probably not the correct thread for this but I would be interested to hear what settings others use for AF Center Priority. I have mine ticked for 5, 9 and 25 points and I suspect that might not be the best choice.

Ron

I dont use center priority, i use center start on my nine box set, i took the view it was more likley to focus on backgrounds if my center spot came of target.
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to mik For This Useful Post:
Olybirder (18th August 2019)
The Following User Liked This Post:
GyRob (19th August 2019)
  #6  
Old 18th August 2019
royd63uk royd63uk is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Location: United kingdom
Posts: 181
Thanks: 27
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Likes: 115
Liked 79 Times in 23 Posts
Re: Scanner Mode

Quote:
Thanks Mark. I have just checked mine but it was already set to Mode 3 so, unfortunately, that is not a magic solution for me.
Nor me, just got the 300 pro lens and am having trouble keeping focus (possibly user error)

Roy
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 18th August 2019
Dennis Russ Dennis Russ is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Location: Swansea , South Wales, UK
Posts: 50
Thanks: 15
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Likes: 18
Liked 7 Times in 5 Posts
Re: Scanner Mode

Mine is on mode 2 for static wildlife. Just changed to Mode 3 to see how it goes. Will test on Tuesday if all goes well.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 18th August 2019
Ross the fiddler's Avatar
Ross the fiddler Ross the fiddler is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Blue Mtns, NSW Australia
Posts: 14,246
Thanks: 2,090
Thanked 1,340 Times in 1,045 Posts
Likes: 5,547
Liked 2,189 Times in 1,165 Posts
Re: Scanner Mode

Quote:
Originally Posted by wornish View Post
I just checked mine for bif shooting and I too had it set to Mode 2. Just changed it to Mode 3. So lets see what happens. One possible downside might be more battery use I guess.


Thanks for the original post Mark.
I noticed (& probably decided at the time) mine was set on Mode 2 & also decided to change to Mode 3. I doubt it will have much difference with battery use as it just means it will cycle longer than once if focus isn't achieved first time.
__________________
Ross
I fiddle with violins (when I'm not fiddling with a camera).
Flickr: https://www.flickr.com/photos/ross-the-fiddler/
Cameras: OM-D E-M1 & Mk II, Olympus Stylus 1, OM-D E-M5.
Lenses: M.ZD7-14mm f2.8 PRO Lens, M.ZD12-40mm f2.8 PRO Lens, M.ZD40-150mm f2.8 PRO Lens, MC-14, MC-20, M.ZD45mm f1.8, M.ZD12-50, M.ZD60 Macro, M.ZD75-300 Mk II, MMF-3, ZD14-54 II, Sigma 150mm F2.8 APO Macro DG HSM.
Flashes: FL36R X2, FL50R, FL50.
Software: Capture One Pro 10 (& Olympus Viewer 3).
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 21st August 2019
TonyR TonyR is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Bath
Posts: 381
Thanks: 0
Thanked 112 Times in 72 Posts
Likes: 0
Liked 119 Times in 55 Posts
Re: Scanner Mode

Scanner set to mode 3 can be a problem. It all depends what you want to happen if you can't keep the subject under the chosen focus points and if there is any other detail in picture to grab focus.


The scanner only comes into play if there is not enough detail in the image for the normal pdaf method to work. This can happen if the lens is completely out of focus or if the subject under the focus points has no detail, such as a blue sky. When the scanner runs, it racks the focus back and forth to try to get some detail to focus on.


So, in the case of tracking a bird against a clear sky, if I move the focus off the bird, the focus points can see no detail and the scanner may (probably depending on C-AF sensitivity) be invoked. This is the last thing that I want because racking the focus will make the bird go completely out of focus which means that I cannot recover tracking it.


So, I have my Scanner set to mode2, the idea being that it will invoke the scanner for the initial AF acquisition but not again if tracking is momentarily lost. However, this raises the question of what happens when the scanner is not run on the initial focus acquisition. WIll it run when I first lose track of the subject? I am not entirely sure.


Setting the scanner to mode 1 will ensure that the scanner will never be invoked. That will guarantee that the camera will not rack the focus when you lose the subject but it also means that you have to pre-focus, at least approximately, before every shot otherwise the camera may not be able to focus at all.


It is quite educational to set the scanner to mode 1 and see what the camera will and won't focus on. With my 300mm lens, it will really only fail to focus when shifting from a very close subject to a very distant one, or vice versa.


I think I may experiment again with Scanner set to mode 1 because I haven't tried it since firmware 3.0 came out. It may be with this firmware's increased preference for the closest subject, that mode 1 could work quite well.
Reply With Quote
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to TonyR For This Useful Post:
MJ224 (21st August 2019), pault (21st August 2019), Ross the fiddler (21st August 2019)
  #10  
Old 21st August 2019
Dennis Russ Dennis Russ is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Location: Swansea , South Wales, UK
Posts: 50
Thanks: 15
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Likes: 18
Liked 7 Times in 5 Posts
Re: Scanner Mode

I Glad you mentioned MODE 1. Reason, with my Canons I always pressed the BBF to refocus anyway, so just might do that with this OMD1 Mk2. So Mode 1 or 2 just might be the best. Me thinks now that Mode 1 will be same as what I was doing with my Canon gear. Cheers n Beers, Dennis.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 21st August 2019
TonyR TonyR is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Bath
Posts: 381
Thanks: 0
Thanked 112 Times in 72 Posts
Likes: 0
Liked 119 Times in 55 Posts
Re: Scanner Mode

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dennis Russ View Post
I Glad you mentioned MODE 1. Reason, with my Canons I always pressed the BBF to refocus anyway, so just might do that with this OMD1 Mk2. So Mode 1 or 2 just might be the best. Me thinks now that Mode 1 will be same as what I was doing with my Canon gear. Cheers n Beers, Dennis.

Dennis,


I don't think Scanner mode will have any special interection with back-button focus. It should work the same whether AF is BB or on the shutter button.


Are you confusing SCanner mode with AEL/AFL mode? Or am I confused?
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 21st August 2019
Dennis Russ Dennis Russ is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Location: Swansea , South Wales, UK
Posts: 50
Thanks: 15
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Likes: 18
Liked 7 Times in 5 Posts
Re: Scanner Mode

Maybe I am I don't know LOL. All I know is, if I press BBF n keep it pressed it follows focus until I take me thumb off of it. If it loses Focus I just refocus and away I go..That is Simple so why does OLY confuse things, or is it me confused LOL
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 21st August 2019
royd63uk royd63uk is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Location: United kingdom
Posts: 181
Thanks: 27
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Likes: 115
Liked 79 Times in 23 Posts
Re: Scanner Mode

I think we should all try the different settings and report our findings here.
Reply With Quote
The Following User Liked This Post:
MJ224 (22nd August 2019)
  #14  
Old 21st August 2019
Ross the fiddler's Avatar
Ross the fiddler Ross the fiddler is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Blue Mtns, NSW Australia
Posts: 14,246
Thanks: 2,090
Thanked 1,340 Times in 1,045 Posts
Likes: 5,547
Liked 2,189 Times in 1,165 Posts
Re: Scanner Mode

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dennis Russ View Post
Maybe I am I don't know LOL. All I know is, if I press BBF n keep it pressed it follows focus until I take me thumb off of it. If it loses Focus I just refocus and away I go..That is Simple so why does OLY confuse things, or is it me confused LOL
It's whatever works for you & if that is effective then that's good. I don't do much that is C-AF but I only use the the shutter (half press) method & have done with all my cameras so am used to doing it that way (particularly useful for ProCapture). It's great we can customise the camera as much as we can, although I wouldn't mind the E-M1X though with all the dedicated buttons it has (although still customisable if desired).
__________________
Ross
I fiddle with violins (when I'm not fiddling with a camera).
Flickr: https://www.flickr.com/photos/ross-the-fiddler/
Cameras: OM-D E-M1 & Mk II, Olympus Stylus 1, OM-D E-M5.
Lenses: M.ZD7-14mm f2.8 PRO Lens, M.ZD12-40mm f2.8 PRO Lens, M.ZD40-150mm f2.8 PRO Lens, MC-14, MC-20, M.ZD45mm f1.8, M.ZD12-50, M.ZD60 Macro, M.ZD75-300 Mk II, MMF-3, ZD14-54 II, Sigma 150mm F2.8 APO Macro DG HSM.
Flashes: FL36R X2, FL50R, FL50.
Software: Capture One Pro 10 (& Olympus Viewer 3).
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 26th August 2019
TonyR TonyR is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Bath
Posts: 381
Thanks: 0
Thanked 112 Times in 72 Posts
Likes: 0
Liked 119 Times in 55 Posts
Re: Scanner Mode

I've been using Scanner Mode 1 (i.e. no scanner) for the past few days and I think I rather like it. However, it is a trade-off in that although the camera has less tendency to lose focus when you drop off the subject, the camera might not focus at all. However, there are ways around this problem.


I pretty much always use the focus limiter. For bif, I usually have the range set to 15-200m. The problem with not using the scanner at all comes with switching from very near subject to distant ones. If I am shooting close up, I tend to use the physical switch on the 300mm to set the limiter to 1.4-4.0m. When you do this the focus is forced into this range even before you touch the shutter button. Similarly, when I switch back to bif, I but the physical swicth back to full range thus re-engaging the software limit of 15-200m. This usually provides the AF system with enough (blurred) detail for the C-AF to work. However, I do check that it will focus at the expected required distance and if not, "jog" the focus there by focusing on ever more distant subjects.


Hope that makes sense!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Slide Scanner. Dave in Wales General accessories 19 8th March 2019 06:13 PM
Choosing a focus mode (AF Mode) Pge 48 DerekW Olympus OM-D E-M1 Mark II 5 18th January 2017 10:38 AM
A3 scanner advice shenstone The lounge 8 29th December 2016 11:11 PM
Scanner Needed Crazy Dave Accessory talk 10 22nd March 2015 09:58 AM
Scanner advice please Melaka General accessories 13 5th January 2012 08:14 PM


All times are GMT. The time now is 08:27 AM.


The Write Technology Ltd, 2007-2019, All rights reservedAd Management plugin by RedTyger