Olympus UK E-System User Group
Olympus UK E-System User Group

Join our unique resource for Olympus Four Thirds E-System DSLR and Pen and OM-D Micro Four Thirds photographers. Show your images via our free e-group photo gallery. Please read the e-group.uk.net forum terms and conditions before posting for the first time. Above all, welcome!


Go Back   Olympus UK E-System User Group > General photography discussion

General photography discussion Please look for a specific board to start your thread but if you can't find an appropriate one, post it here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #16  
Old 3 Weeks Ago
TimP TimP is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Deepest Darkest Dorset
Posts: 2,088
Thanks: 60
Thanked 76 Times in 75 Posts
Likes: 376
Liked 767 Times in 525 Posts
Re: External SSD drive

My 2010 MacBook Pro died recently so I bought a secondhand 2012 model, doing fine now and I even get to upgrade the OS too. Bought specifically so I could slot the 2010s SSD straight in there. Later models have SSDs with a non-standard interface or are soldered to m/b. Very short sighted of Apple.
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to TimP For This Useful Post:
MJ224 (3 Weeks Ago)
The Following User Liked This Post:
blu-by-u (3 Weeks Ago)
  #17  
Old 3 Weeks Ago
TimP TimP is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Deepest Darkest Dorset
Posts: 2,088
Thanks: 60
Thanked 76 Times in 75 Posts
Likes: 376
Liked 767 Times in 525 Posts
Re: External SSD drive

Quote:
Originally Posted by MJ224 View Post
Thanks again. I need to understand the Clonezilla programme. It says it needs certain parameters to work.

" and it is used to deploy many computers simultaneously. It is an extremely useful tool, however, it does have several limitations. In order to use it, you must first prepare a DRBL server AND the machine to be deployed must boot from a network (e.g. PXE/iPXE).", which I don't understand at the moment.

I do have another cloning programme which I have used to copy, but it does have clone function....AOMEI...

So am unsure what is needed to make the W10 system work, and above all, the software as in LR and PS and many others which I have paid for. So hoping their keys etc come over with the clone.....

I will look through the You-tube videos with eager interest...….

I have changes HD's before, and have the leads to run the internals outside of the pooter. my only real cock-up was when taking out an HD the connections were brittle, and became U/S. So the that laptop.:-((
Always found Clonezilla very un-user friendly indeed. Caused issues if you were cloning to a very slightly smaller drive and then it wouldn’t automatically expand to fit a bigger one. Aomei (spelling?) was much friendlier when we last used it.
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to TimP For This Useful Post:
MJ224 (3 Weeks Ago)
  #18  
Old 3 Weeks Ago
wornish's Avatar
wornish wornish is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Cheshire
Posts: 6,266
Thanks: 354
Thanked 564 Times in 443 Posts
Likes: 2,980
Liked 1,649 Times in 814 Posts
Re: External SSD drive

I used minitool partition wizard to partition the SSD.

See this video.


I bought my SSD from here highly recommended.

https://www.overclockers.co.uk/pc-co...sd-solid-state

I got the 500GB Samsung 860 it was on a promo when I bought it but it has gone up a bit now.

I also got an external case so that I could transfer the software across and then
after doing the swap

install the old hard drive in the case and use it for taking backups.

https://www.amazon.com/Sabrent-Tool-.../dp/B00OJ3UJ2S
__________________
Dave

My Flickr
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to wornish For This Useful Post:
MJ224 (3 Weeks Ago)
  #19  
Old 3 Weeks Ago
Keith-369 Keith-369 is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: North West England
Posts: 2,144
Thanks: 116
Thanked 237 Times in 214 Posts
Likes: 1,173
Liked 582 Times in 299 Posts
Re: External SSD drive

I used 'EaseUS Todo Backup Free' to clone my hard drive to my Samsung EVO SSD 1T in the case I mentioned earlier. Quite easy and worked first time. Just replace your original drive with the SSD (after removing it from the USB3 case, of course) and boot up.
You will find that the drive 1T drive is split into two sections so it's up to you if you use a program to join them or do as I did and keep the operating system and all programs on 'C' and rename the other section 'Z' or whatever to store all your data.
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 3 Weeks Ago
Jim Ford Jim Ford is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Watford, Herts..
Posts: 8,767
Thanks: 480
Thanked 627 Times in 543 Posts
Likes: 2,815
Liked 1,730 Times in 1,112 Posts
Re: External SSD drive

Quote:
Originally Posted by Keith-369 View Post
You will find that the drive 1T drive is split into two sections so it's up to you if you use a program to join them or do as I did and keep the operating system and all programs on 'C' and rename the other section 'Z' or whatever to store all your data.
I've never understood all that nonsense of A, B, C etc. 'drives' that M.S. use. I guess that it dates back to MSDOS. Linux (and I guess Macs) do it much more sensibly.

Jim
Reply With Quote
The Following User Liked This Post:
griffljg (3 Weeks Ago)
  #21  
Old 3 Weeks Ago
Naughty Nigel's Avatar
Naughty Nigel Naughty Nigel is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Land of the Prince Bishops
Posts: 10,124
Thanks: 413
Thanked 586 Times in 497 Posts
Likes: 3,491
Liked 2,513 Times in 1,646 Posts
Re: External SSD drive

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim Ford View Post
I've never understood all that nonsense of A, B, C etc. 'drives' that M.S. use. I guess that it dates back to MSDOS. Linux (and I guess Macs) do it much more sensibly.

Jim
It does indeed date back to MS DOS. The boot drive for MS DOS was A:\. Once DOS was loaded you took the disk out and loaded programmes. Data was loaded and saved to B:\ drive

C:\ drive came into its own with the advent of hard drives, which were often fitted as an accessory later in the life of the PC.

A and B are still reserved for floppy disk drives. I have tried but cannot assign those letters to any other type of drive.
__________________
---------------

Naughty Nigel


Difficult is worth doing
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 3 Weeks Ago
Naughty Nigel's Avatar
Naughty Nigel Naughty Nigel is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Land of the Prince Bishops
Posts: 10,124
Thanks: 413
Thanked 586 Times in 497 Posts
Likes: 3,491
Liked 2,513 Times in 1,646 Posts
Re: External SSD drive

Quote:
Originally Posted by TimP View Post
Always found Clonezilla very un-user friendly indeed. Caused issues if you were cloning to a very slightly smaller drive and then it wouldn’t automatically expand to fit a bigger one. Aomei (spelling?) was much friendlier when we last used it.
You don't need any additional software. Simply create a 'disk image' in Windows saved onto an external drive, then restore that disk image to your new SSD. Simples.

The only restriction is that the target drive must be at lest as large as the original. I you have space left over you can either expand C:\ drive to fill the available space or create a partition which can eb assigned a drive letter. All of this can be done within Windows.
__________________
---------------

Naughty Nigel


Difficult is worth doing
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 3 Weeks Ago
Naughty Nigel's Avatar
Naughty Nigel Naughty Nigel is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Land of the Prince Bishops
Posts: 10,124
Thanks: 413
Thanked 586 Times in 497 Posts
Likes: 3,491
Liked 2,513 Times in 1,646 Posts
Re: External SSD drive

Quote:
Originally Posted by TimP View Post
My 2010 MacBook Pro died recently so I bought a secondhand 2012 model, doing fine now and I even get to upgrade the OS too. Bought specifically so I could slot the 2010s SSD straight in there. Later models have SSDs with a non-standard interface or are soldered to m/b. Very short sighted of Apple.
Short sighted my ar5e!

This is a deliberate policy by Apple to obsolete devices that are still perfectly functional. Likewise the lack of µSD card slots in iPhones and iPads.

My son bought a new MacBook recently. His old device had a deep slot for an SD card which could live permanently in the machine. It also had USB sockets that accepted the tiny USB storage devices.

Apple clearly woke up to the fact that MacBook users were able to avoid buying new MacBooks by adding external storage, so having soldered the SSD into place they have now removed external USB sockets whilst the SD card socket is now so shallow that it is impossible to park an SD card in there.

How convenient for them.
__________________
---------------

Naughty Nigel


Difficult is worth doing
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 3 Weeks Ago
TimP TimP is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Deepest Darkest Dorset
Posts: 2,088
Thanks: 60
Thanked 76 Times in 75 Posts
Likes: 376
Liked 767 Times in 525 Posts
Re: External SSD drive

I don’t think there is a current MacBook with an SD slot, they’ve all just got the USB-C sockets, nothing else.
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 3 Weeks Ago
Jim Ford Jim Ford is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Watford, Herts..
Posts: 8,767
Thanks: 480
Thanked 627 Times in 543 Posts
Likes: 2,815
Liked 1,730 Times in 1,112 Posts
Re: External SSD drive

Quote:
Originally Posted by TimP View Post
Always found Clonezilla very un-user friendly indeed. Caused issues if you were cloning to a very slightly smaller drive and then it wouldn’t automatically expand to fit a bigger one. Aomei (spelling?) was much friendlier when we last used it.
Of course it won't fit a large drive into a smaller one - quart into a pint pot!

Jim
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 3 Weeks Ago
Naughty Nigel's Avatar
Naughty Nigel Naughty Nigel is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Land of the Prince Bishops
Posts: 10,124
Thanks: 413
Thanked 586 Times in 497 Posts
Likes: 3,491
Liked 2,513 Times in 1,646 Posts
Re: External SSD drive

Quote:
Originally Posted by TimP View Post
I don’t think there is a current MacBook with an SD slot, they’ve all just got the USB-C sockets, nothing else.
He bought it last year, refurbished from Apple. It is a nice enough machine if you forget the limitations but is clearly designed to be not upgradable.

The thing that really irritated me with his old MaBook was that the power button was in the same place as backspace button on my Toshiba at the time. And so every time I wanted to delete something...
__________________
---------------

Naughty Nigel


Difficult is worth doing
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 3 Weeks Ago
MJ224's Avatar
MJ224 MJ224 is online now
Full member
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Carmarthenshire
Posts: 14,164
Thanks: 994
Thanked 767 Times in 712 Posts
Likes: 7,124
Liked 4,009 Times in 1,836 Posts
Re: External SSD drive

Just received the 1TB SSD. And confirm its faster than the 1TB hard disk, but not as much as I had hoped. The internal SSD is on its way, and thus hope to have a positive result eventually.
__________________
Mark Johnson

My Sailing Page

My Flickr
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 3 Weeks Ago
wornish's Avatar
wornish wornish is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Cheshire
Posts: 6,266
Thanks: 354
Thanked 564 Times in 443 Posts
Likes: 2,980
Liked 1,649 Times in 814 Posts
Re: External SSD drive

Its the internal one that will make all the difference. Fingers crossed
__________________
Dave

My Flickr
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 3 Weeks Ago
MJ224's Avatar
MJ224 MJ224 is online now
Full member
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Carmarthenshire
Posts: 14,164
Thanks: 994
Thanked 767 Times in 712 Posts
Likes: 7,124
Liked 4,009 Times in 1,836 Posts
Re: External SSD drive

Quote:
Originally Posted by wornish View Post
Its the internal one that will make all the difference. Fingers crossed
As long as the cloning works...…………………..:-(
__________________
Mark Johnson

My Sailing Page

My Flickr
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 3 Weeks Ago
MJ224's Avatar
MJ224 MJ224 is online now
Full member
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Carmarthenshire
Posts: 14,164
Thanks: 994
Thanked 767 Times in 712 Posts
Likes: 7,124
Liked 4,009 Times in 1,836 Posts
Re: External SSD drive



Looks though the cloning has worked... this disk G has everything on the C hard disk in the computer....

Is there any way to boot up the computer from this disk...?
__________________
Mark Johnson

My Sailing Page

My Flickr
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Internal or external drive for Lightroom Mrs T Software 12 30th July 2015 04:54 AM
external drive on mac sapper The lounge 22 11th May 2014 10:33 PM
External hard drive for Mac help sapper The lounge 3 14th January 2013 07:37 PM
External hard drive cinders Software 13 26th June 2010 01:58 PM
Help! How Do I Use External Hard Drive? Zuiko General accessories 12 15th June 2008 09:14 PM


All times are GMT. The time now is 06:01 PM.


© The Write Technology Ltd, 2007-2019, All rights reservedAd Management plugin by RedTyger