Olympus UK E-System User Group
Olympus UK E-System User Group

Join our unique resource for Olympus Four Thirds E-System DSLR and Pen and OM-D Micro Four Thirds photographers. Show your images via our free e-group photo gallery. Please read the e-group.uk.net forum terms and conditions before posting for the first time. Above all, welcome!


Go Back   Olympus UK E-System User Group > Cameras, lenses and system accessories > Camera conference > Micro Four Thirds > Olympus OM-D E-M1 Mark II

Olympus OM-D E-M1 Mark II The second Micro Four Thirds camera that offers phase detect focusing so you can use Four Thirds DSLR lenses normally as well a Micro Four Thirds lenses.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #181  
Old 27th June 2019
Growltiger's Avatar
Growltiger Growltiger is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: UK
Posts: 313
Thanks: 3
Thanked 97 Times in 70 Posts
Likes: 9
Liked 81 Times in 55 Posts
Re: v3 Firmware for mk2 - updates for mk2, m1x and lenses

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ross the fiddler View Post
From what the Olympus notes seems to say, it only updates associated Olympus programs if they are already installed, so I'm not sure if it installs a Camera Updater if there isn't one there already or not now (I already had it there when installing Oly Workspace).
The camera updater is installed as part of the Workspace installation. Workspace won't update one you already had standalone. It won't update Olympus Viewer 3 either.
Just uninstall the old software and use Workspace if you want an easy life.
Reply With Quote
  #182  
Old 27th June 2019
Growltiger's Avatar
Growltiger Growltiger is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: UK
Posts: 313
Thanks: 3
Thanked 97 Times in 70 Posts
Likes: 9
Liked 81 Times in 55 Posts
Re: v3 Firmware for mk2 - updates for mk2, m1x and lenses

Quote:
Originally Posted by kbouk View Post
Ι use OLYMPUS programs for 15 years and update bodies and lenses. I tried for 2 days to install the new firmware on Win 10 , I couldn’t, no matter which Updater I use -old or new through the updated O.W. The problem was the communication with the camera when the firmware is download from the server and the PC tries to install it on camera. All other communications work fine, with Olympus Capture or to save settings from or to the camera with old Updater or with O.W.
I gave up and install just O.W. with all the updates on home pc (win10) without old Updater or Olympus Studio. Nope, no luck. I really thought my camera has a problem. One last try I install the old Updater 2.1.3. And suddenly Olympus workspace worked fine with the new Updater (ver.2.2) , communicate with camera and finish the update. I suspect that the old Updater has some extra USB drivers for cameras.
Most likely you have some software blocking things. I read of someone with the same issues and they had at least two lots of anti-virus software running that stopped it.
Reply With Quote
  #183  
Old 27th June 2019
Growltiger's Avatar
Growltiger Growltiger is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: UK
Posts: 313
Thanks: 3
Thanked 97 Times in 70 Posts
Likes: 9
Liked 81 Times in 55 Posts
Re: v3 Firmware for mk2 - updates for mk2, m1x and lenses

Quote:
Originally Posted by MJ224 View Post
Gosh, its all a bit hit and miss? I was "lucky" and I updated straightaway with the 2.13 version of the update programme. I had no idea that Olympus Workspace was able to be used as well.

Edit: I have just tried to update the "Updater" programme. As above I use the 2.13 version. The Olympus site says that I have the latest version, so no need to update!!

Having run the "Workspace" programme and tapped the update camera button, it loads a version 2.2. Thus the Workspace does have its own version of the "Updater"...…??

Olympus are hopeless at updating all their websites round the world. That is why when you just searched you only found the old 2.1.3 version. The latest version is 2.2. I have not even bothered to go looking for it, this is all an unnecessary waste of time. Why risk problems and do this work when there is a simple way instead?
Reply With Quote
The Following User Liked This Post:
MJ224 (27th June 2019)
  #184  
Old 27th June 2019
TimP TimP is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Deepest Darkest Dorset
Posts: 2,093
Thanks: 60
Thanked 76 Times in 75 Posts
Likes: 378
Liked 767 Times in 525 Posts
Re: v3 Firmware for mk2 - updates for mk2, m1x and lenses

Quote:
Originally Posted by pdk42 View Post
Crikey - 120MB for a program that downloads a file from a server and then sends it to the camera over USB. That's bloatware of the highest order. IMHO it's crazy to have to use an image editing program to update the camera's firmware. The updater app is much smaller and does exactly what it says on the tin. I also have a hunch that Workplace is using the updater app under the covers anyhow.
Totally agree! It wasn’t that long ago that you could update the bios firmware of a standard Intel motherboard using a 1.44 MB floppy which contained the new firmware and the program to install it. Sloppy programming is to blame.
What happened to machine code programming anyway?
Reply With Quote
The Following User Liked This Post:
wornish (27th June 2019)
  #185  
Old 27th June 2019
Ross the fiddler's Avatar
Ross the fiddler Ross the fiddler is online now
Full member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Blue Mtns, NSW Australia
Posts: 14,346
Thanks: 2,102
Thanked 1,346 Times in 1,051 Posts
Likes: 5,620
Liked 2,229 Times in 1,177 Posts
Re: v3 Firmware for mk2 - updates for mk2, m1x and lenses

Quote:
Originally Posted by Growltiger View Post
The camera updater is installed as part of the Workspace installation. Workspace won't update one you already had standalone. It won't update Olympus Viewer 3 either.
Just uninstall the old software and use Workspace if you want an easy life.
I've got all three & everything runs alright 'cause I still use Win7.

However, information isn't so clear from Olympus though as it says it finds other Olympus programs on the pc during an update search (obviously not OV3 though as that has been replaced).
__________________
Ross
I fiddle with violins (when I'm not fiddling with a camera).
Flickr: https://www.flickr.com/photos/ross-the-fiddler/
Cameras: OM-D E-M1 & Mk II, Olympus Stylus 1, OM-D E-M5.
Lenses: M.ZD7-14mm f2.8 PRO Lens, M.ZD12-40mm f2.8 PRO Lens, M.ZD40-150mm f2.8 PRO Lens, MC-14, MC-20, M.ZD45mm f1.8, M.ZD12-50, M.ZD60 Macro, M.ZD75-300 Mk II, MMF-3, ZD14-54 II, Sigma 150mm F2.8 APO Macro DG HSM.
Flashes: FL36R X2, FL50R, FL50.
Software: Capture One Pro 10 (& Olympus Viewer 3).
Reply With Quote
  #186  
Old 27th June 2019
Growltiger's Avatar
Growltiger Growltiger is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: UK
Posts: 313
Thanks: 3
Thanked 97 Times in 70 Posts
Likes: 9
Liked 81 Times in 55 Posts
Re: v3 Firmware for mk2 - updates for mk2, m1x and lenses

Quote:
Originally Posted by TimP View Post
Totally agree! It wasn’t that long ago that you could update the bios firmware of a standard Intel motherboard using a 1.44 MB floppy which contained the new firmware and the program to install it. Sloppy programming is to blame.
What happened to machine code programming anyway?
A whole 1.44MB - what a ridiculous waste. Long ago I wrote an entire operating system used by thousands of users, in just 2K (called NAS-SYS). And it had no bugs.
Reply With Quote
The Following User Liked This Post:
TimP (27th June 2019)
  #187  
Old 27th June 2019
TimP TimP is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Deepest Darkest Dorset
Posts: 2,093
Thanks: 60
Thanked 76 Times in 75 Posts
Likes: 378
Liked 767 Times in 525 Posts
Re: v3 Firmware for mk2 - updates for mk2, m1x and lenses

Quote:
Originally Posted by Growltiger View Post
A whole 1.44MB - what a ridiculous waste. Long ago I wrote an entire operating system used by thousands of users, in just 2K (called NAS-SYS). And it had no bugs.
Did I anywhere say the 1.44 floppy was full?? Well, did I?

Reply With Quote
The Following User Liked This Post:
MJ224 (27th June 2019)
  #188  
Old 27th June 2019
MikeOxon MikeOxon is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: oxford
Posts: 626
Thanks: 61
Thanked 109 Times in 95 Posts
Likes: 64
Liked 251 Times in 157 Posts
Re: v3 Firmware for mk2 - updates for mk2, m1x and lenses

I started my computing life with a Vic-20: 3k basic memory and a 16k expansion card cost £75.

At those prices, it is hardly surprising that we struggled to minimise memory usage, as far as possible, Nowadays, with 512GB SSD costing less than that old expansion card, I feel it is appropriate to change one's way of thinking.

Getting back on topic, I think we have to accept that new features will be introduced that inevitably demand updates to associated software. It seems reasonable to me that we should be expected to ensure that the software on our own machines is up to date and suitable for the task we are asking it to perform. Many suppliers do, however, issue reminders when new versions are introduced, so Olympus should be encouraged to do the same.
__________________
Mike
visit my Natural History Photos website:
http://www.botanicdesign.co.uk/Natur...story/home.htm
Reply With Quote
The Following User Liked This Post:
Ross the fiddler (27th June 2019)
  #189  
Old 27th June 2019
MargaretR's Avatar
MargaretR MargaretR is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: South Lanarkshire
Posts: 797
Thanks: 232
Thanked 176 Times in 117 Posts
Likes: 82
Liked 383 Times in 146 Posts
Re: v3 Firmware for mk2 - updates for mk2, m1x and lenses

Quote:
Originally Posted by drmarkf View Post
Possible systematic issue for some people updating via Mojave on Macs: https://www.dpreview.com/forums/post/62816846
Hmm. I'm on Mojave, and it updated OK. But if I'd read this first, I'd have hung off. I also updated my Pen-F and 14-42 pancake lens ... the latter took an absolute AGE, about 45mins, and I was getting very agitated by the apparent inactivity ... you know, when you reach the point of "oh god, it's bricking..! ". But no, it was just glacial, for some reason. This is why I hate updates ... I'm always sure it's going to go t*ts up!!
__________________
Margaret

my Website ; my Flickr ; my Facebook
Reply With Quote
The Following User Liked This Post:
drmarkf (27th June 2019)
  #190  
Old 27th June 2019
Ross the fiddler's Avatar
Ross the fiddler Ross the fiddler is online now
Full member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Blue Mtns, NSW Australia
Posts: 14,346
Thanks: 2,102
Thanked 1,346 Times in 1,051 Posts
Likes: 5,620
Liked 2,229 Times in 1,177 Posts
Re: v3 Firmware for mk2 - updates for mk2, m1x and lenses

Quote:
Originally Posted by MargaretR View Post
Hmm. I'm on Mojave, and it updated OK. But if I'd read this first, I'd have hung off. I also updated my Pen-F and 14-42 pancake lens ... the latter took an absolute AGE, about 45mins, and I was getting very agitated by the apparent inactivity ... you know, when you reach the point of "oh god, it's bricking..! ". But no, it was just glacial, for some reason. This is why I hate updates ... I'm always sure it's going to go t*ts up!!
The time delay must have been because all the other plebs were updating their cameras too.

__________________
Ross
I fiddle with violins (when I'm not fiddling with a camera).
Flickr: https://www.flickr.com/photos/ross-the-fiddler/
Cameras: OM-D E-M1 & Mk II, Olympus Stylus 1, OM-D E-M5.
Lenses: M.ZD7-14mm f2.8 PRO Lens, M.ZD12-40mm f2.8 PRO Lens, M.ZD40-150mm f2.8 PRO Lens, MC-14, MC-20, M.ZD45mm f1.8, M.ZD12-50, M.ZD60 Macro, M.ZD75-300 Mk II, MMF-3, ZD14-54 II, Sigma 150mm F2.8 APO Macro DG HSM.
Flashes: FL36R X2, FL50R, FL50.
Software: Capture One Pro 10 (& Olympus Viewer 3).
Reply With Quote
  #191  
Old 27th June 2019
Wee man's Avatar
Wee man Wee man is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Newcastle Co. Down N. Ireland
Posts: 8,005
Thanks: 2,392
Thanked 1,156 Times in 1,031 Posts
Likes: 281
Liked 1,236 Times in 805 Posts
Re: v3 Firmware for mk2 - updates for mk2, m1x and lenses

My ZX 80 Sinclar handled the updates once I got the cassette tape sorted!

Sent from my SM-G930F using Tapatalk
__________________
Ed

What if the Hokey Cokey is what its all about?
Reply With Quote
The Following Users Liked This Post:
Keith-369 (27th June 2019), Ross the fiddler (27th June 2019)
  #192  
Old 27th June 2019
TimP TimP is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Deepest Darkest Dorset
Posts: 2,093
Thanks: 60
Thanked 76 Times in 75 Posts
Likes: 378
Liked 767 Times in 525 Posts
Re: v3 Firmware for mk2 - updates for mk2, m1x and lenses

Quote:
Originally Posted by MikeOxon View Post
I started my computing life with a Vic-20: 3k basic memory and a 16k expansion card cost £75.

At those prices, it is hardly surprising that we struggled to minimise memory usage, as far as possible, Nowadays, with 512GB SSD costing less than that old expansion card, I feel it is appropriate to change one's way of thinking.
A Vic20 was my first computer, don’t remember the expansion pack but do remember getting a machine code monitor pack that plugged in. I seem to remember getting inside the thing and possibly adding the ram and the mcm via a switch and some sort of multi-way connector. I’ve still got it somewhere I think. Happy days.
Reply With Quote
  #193  
Old 27th June 2019
MJ224's Avatar
MJ224 MJ224 is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Carmarthenshire
Posts: 14,295
Thanks: 1,005
Thanked 780 Times in 724 Posts
Likes: 7,185
Liked 4,054 Times in 1,861 Posts
Re: v3 Firmware for mk2 - updates for mk2, m1x and lenses

My first computer was the PET (fart in French) Commodore. Wrote many Basic programmes and few simple machine code ones. For Land Survey...

Came with 16Mb of memory, which I upgraded to 32Mb later. programmes initially stored on tape, but I splashed out on twin floppies (£2000 in 1983 ish) But the investment paid me back pretty quickly working on quantity surveying in Texaco refinery Milford Haven..…...
__________________
Mark Johnson

My Sailing Page

My Flickr
Reply With Quote
  #194  
Old 27th June 2019
MikeOxon MikeOxon is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: oxford
Posts: 626
Thanks: 61
Thanked 109 Times in 95 Posts
Likes: 64
Liked 251 Times in 157 Posts
Re: v3 Firmware for mk2 - updates for mk2, m1x and lenses

Quote:
Originally Posted by MJ224 View Post
My first computer was the PET (fart in French) Commodore. Wrote many Basic programmes and few simple machine code ones. For Land Survey...Came with 16Mb of memory,....

Think you're mixing k's and M's there! The maximum memory configuration for a PET was, as I recall, 96kB.
With a 3k OS, I could print the whole thing out on paper, in assembler, and really learned how computers work. The principles haven't changed much, although the architecture is much more sophisticated. When you hand-wrote the code, you understood what everything did. This is far from the case with modern software, which is why any new version is swiftly followed by a Ver.x.0.1 as the initial bugs are ironed out
__________________
Mike
visit my Natural History Photos website:
http://www.botanicdesign.co.uk/Natur...story/home.htm
Reply With Quote
  #195  
Old 27th June 2019
MJ224's Avatar
MJ224 MJ224 is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Carmarthenshire
Posts: 14,295
Thanks: 1,005
Thanked 780 Times in 724 Posts
Likes: 7,185
Liked 4,054 Times in 1,861 Posts
Re: v3 Firmware for mk2 - updates for mk2, m1x and lenses

Quote:
Originally Posted by MikeOxon View Post
Think you're mixing k's and M's there! The maximum memory configuration for a PET was, as I recall,
Yes you are correct...……………(mega, gigas and kilos all get a little mixed up these days)…………….
__________________
Mark Johnson

My Sailing Page

My Flickr
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Firmware Updates for E-M1 II & E-M1X Ross the fiddler Micro Four Thirds 3 19th June 2019 10:48 AM
Firmware updates Benedict Software 3 16th February 2013 07:17 PM
HELP! Firmware updates on G3 and lenses Kiwi Paul Micro Four Thirds 2 16th August 2011 09:03 AM
Firmware updates CHEMFISHER Introduce yourself 4 15th February 2010 09:38 PM
Olympus release firmware updates for 35-100mm / 25mm / 35mm / 14-42mm / 40-150mm lenses CaptainD Lens focus 0 29th October 2008 07:47 PM


All times are GMT. The time now is 02:31 AM.


© The Write Technology Ltd, 2007-2019, All rights reservedAd Management plugin by RedTyger