Olympus UK E-System User Group
Olympus UK E-System User Group

Join our unique resource for Olympus Four Thirds E-System DSLR and Pen and OM-D Micro Four Thirds photographers. Show your images via our free e-group photo gallery. Please read the e-group.uk.net forum terms and conditions before posting for the first time. Above all, welcome!


Go Back   Olympus UK E-System User Group > Cameras, lenses and system accessories > Accessory talk

Accessory talk Those important extra system components.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 18th July 2010
theMusicMan's Avatar
theMusicMan theMusicMan is offline
E-3 Enthusiast....:)
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: South Wales
Posts: 5,878
Thanks: 143
Thanked 267 Times in 178 Posts
Likes: 8
Liked 30 Times in 19 Posts
Firing the FL-50 remotely...?

Hi All

I have a few jobs and shoots coming up where I may need to use some off camera flash with brollies etc. Now, I appreciate the FL-50R will do this, but my flash is I'm afraid, missing the 'R' bit and so I am looking for another way to fire the flash when it's positioned on a stand some feet away from me and my E-3.

I have a cable which extends to about 5', but I am really after something with a little more reach and able to fire the FL-50 at around up to 20' away. OK, not many shots will require that 'reach', but you get the gist.

Does anyone have any recommendations as to what I could get/use for this based on your own experiences with them...? Thanks

EDIT: I should add, that I'd like to be able to keep the TTL and Auto functionality of the flash when mounted off camera - i.e. as if the flash was actually connected.
__________________
John

Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 18th July 2010
theMusicMan's Avatar
theMusicMan theMusicMan is offline
E-3 Enthusiast....:)
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: South Wales
Posts: 5,878
Thanks: 143
Thanked 267 Times in 178 Posts
Likes: 8
Liked 30 Times in 19 Posts
Re: Firing the FL-50 remotely...?

Oooh... been searching on the net, and stumbled on this;

http://www.diyphotography.net/the-st...ttl-flash-cord

I have a compatible Canon cord, so I might give this a go if nothing else is forthcoming.
__________________
John

Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 18th July 2010
Graham_of_Rainham's Avatar
Graham_of_Rainham Graham_of_Rainham is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Rainham
Posts: 8,133
Thanks: 644
Thanked 940 Times in 728 Posts
Likes: 2,277
Liked 1,583 Times in 912 Posts
Re: Firing the FL-50 remotely...?

I did this with a hotshoe (one that has a PC lead going to the centre pin) and a 10m extension lead. Everything is then manual of course, but I grew up with manual and tend to still work in that mode with flash anyway.

Or a simple slave flash unit and trigger it with the popup (turned right down)

All available on ebay for very few s
__________________
Graham

We often repeat the mistakes we most enjoy...
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 18th July 2010
theMusicMan's Avatar
theMusicMan theMusicMan is offline
E-3 Enthusiast....:)
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: South Wales
Posts: 5,878
Thanks: 143
Thanked 267 Times in 178 Posts
Likes: 8
Liked 30 Times in 19 Posts
Re: Firing the FL-50 remotely...?

Good idea Graham, but I am not experienced at all with manual flash - other than what I have used with my studio lighting kit. I may have some learning to do
__________________
John

Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 18th July 2010
Imageryone Imageryone is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Suffolk,England
Posts: 4,934
Thanks: 1,101
Thanked 797 Times in 755 Posts
Likes: 656
Liked 564 Times in 336 Posts
Re: Firing the FL-50 remotely...?

You can buy perfectly good slave flash units from most Charity shops for pennies and a remote that works from your pop-up from Jack-the-hat. I have 6 of these units, and with a little practice and some obscure plastic sheet, very easy to use.
__________________
The picture tells the story, great when you have a bad memory.DW.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 19th July 2010
Ian's Avatar
Ian Ian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Hemel Hempstead, Hertfordshire, UK
Posts: 11,593
Thanks: 425
Thanked 2,535 Times in 1,274 Posts
Likes: 870
Liked 1,715 Times in 774 Posts
Re: Firing the FL-50 remotely...?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Imageryone View Post
You can buy perfectly good slave flash units from most Charity shops for pennies and a remote that works from your pop-up from Jack-the-hat. I have 6 of these units, and with a little practice and some obscure plastic sheet, very easy to use.
I think this is the best way to go, but of course this will mean the flash will have to be set to manual.

But with a little experimentation all will be well

Ian
__________________
Founder and editor of:
Olympus UK E-System User Group (http://e-group.uk.net)
Four Thirds User (http://fourthirds-user.com)
Digital Photography Now (http://dpnow.com)
Olympus camera, lens, and accessory hire (http://e-group.uk.net/hire)

Twitter: www.twitter.com/ian_burley
Flickr: www.flickr.com/photos/dpnow/
Pinterest: www.pinterest.com/ianburley/
NEW: My personal BLOG ianburley.com
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 19th July 2010
Graham_of_Rainham's Avatar
Graham_of_Rainham Graham_of_Rainham is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Rainham
Posts: 8,133
Thanks: 644
Thanked 940 Times in 728 Posts
Likes: 2,277
Liked 1,583 Times in 912 Posts
Lightbulb Re: Firing the FL-50 remotely...?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ian View Post
I think this is the best way to go, but of course this will mean the flash will have to be set to manual.

But with a little experimentation all will be well

Ian
I just did a small "experiment" (to confirm my thoughts) :-

I set up an FL-50 set to AUTO (the gun is then measuring the light) about 1m from the subject, and took a picture from a fair way back using the popup set to 1/64 to trigger a "Seagull SYK-3 slave trigger" attached to the FL-50

http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/Wireless-Hot-S...#ht_2690wt_802

You may want to consider the SYK-4 as it has a PC connector as well, providing greater flexibility of use.


Anyway it worked perfectly. Simply set the FL-50 to whatever you want to shoot at (I shot at 125 - f22 as it was quite light in the room and I just wanted to test the exposure of the flash)

What's interesting for me is it also resurrected an idea I've had for shooting a model illuminated with flash set to a correct exposure with an underexposed moody background.

All good fun...
__________________
Graham

We often repeat the mistakes we most enjoy...
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 19th July 2010
theMusicMan's Avatar
theMusicMan theMusicMan is offline
E-3 Enthusiast....:)
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: South Wales
Posts: 5,878
Thanks: 143
Thanked 267 Times in 178 Posts
Likes: 8
Liked 30 Times in 19 Posts
Re: Firing the FL-50 remotely...?

Oooh, now that certainly sounds interesting Graham. Thanks for the pointer there.
__________________
John

Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 19th July 2010
Imageryone Imageryone is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Suffolk,England
Posts: 4,934
Thanks: 1,101
Thanked 797 Times in 755 Posts
Likes: 656
Liked 564 Times in 336 Posts
Re: Firing the FL-50 remotely...?

Those are the remote units i meant too.
__________________
The picture tells the story, great when you have a bad memory.DW.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HELP! How long will an FL-50 last left on without firing? oly_om Flash 6 27th February 2010 12:37 AM


All times are GMT. The time now is 07:08 AM.


The Write Technology Ltd, 2007-2019, All rights reservedAd Management plugin by RedTyger