Olympus UK E-System User Group
Olympus UK E-System User Group

Join our unique resource for Olympus Four Thirds E-System DSLR and Pen and OM-D Micro Four Thirds photographers. Show your images via our free e-group photo gallery. Please read the e-group.uk.net forum terms and conditions before posting for the first time. Above all, welcome!


Go Back   Olympus UK E-System User Group > General photography discussion

General photography discussion Please look for a specific board to start your thread but if you can't find an appropriate one, post it here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 21st June 2019
Stuart444 Stuart444 is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Chester UK
Posts: 60
Thanks: 10
Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
Likes: 1
Liked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Two cameras in one! so can't update

I'm trying to update my M1ii but when I run the updater it tells me there are 2 cameras attached. I've removed all peripherals and rebooted, but I still get the same error. I've switched off the webcam - still the same.
Any ideas how to solve would be welcome.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 21st June 2019
RobEW RobEW is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Nottingham
Posts: 2,036
Thanks: 165
Thanked 74 Times in 68 Posts
Likes: 1,191
Liked 187 Times in 128 Posts
Re: Two cameras in one! so can't update

Just a guess but have you got some other USB-attached device which the system might be mistaking for a camera? Or perhaps an SD card plugged in?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 21st June 2019
Stuart444 Stuart444 is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Chester UK
Posts: 60
Thanks: 10
Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
Likes: 1
Liked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Re: Two cameras in one! so can't update

That was my first thought so I removed everything - printers, USB receiver etc. Then the webcam. I took out the memory cards from the camera. Still the same. Just tried it again - same story. This is a new computer since last time I updated, but it always worked for me previously.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 21st June 2019
Stuart444 Stuart444 is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Chester UK
Posts: 60
Thanks: 10
Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
Likes: 1
Liked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Re: Two cameras in one! so can't update

To add to the mystery, I've just tried my M5ii and it connected to the server no problem. Tried the M1 again, still 2 cameras are seen according to the computer. I've tried a different USB lead now - no change.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 22nd June 2019
RobEW RobEW is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Nottingham
Posts: 2,036
Thanks: 165
Thanked 74 Times in 68 Posts
Likes: 1,191
Liked 187 Times in 128 Posts
Re: Two cameras in one! so can't update

Bizarre …

Have you tried googling on the exact error message? Sorry I can't make any better suggestion.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 22nd June 2019
Stuart444 Stuart444 is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Chester UK
Posts: 60
Thanks: 10
Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
Likes: 1
Liked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Re: Two cameras in one! so can't update

Solved it!


Thanks for your idea, but I tried the whole error message and then just parts of it and then added "Olympus camera updater" to the search phrase and nothing related to this was found.


Then I thought I'd re-install the updater. I uninstalled the one I'd recently installed. I'd taken it from my downloads library it was version 1.2.0. I re-download from the Olympus web site and installed - this is now version 2.1.3! That worked immediately and so my M1ii is now fully updated.


Odd that the old version worked on my M5ii though.
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Stuart444 For This Useful Post:
Graham_of_Rainham (24th June 2019)
The Following User Liked This Post:
OM USer (23rd June 2019)
  #7  
Old 22nd June 2019
Steambuff Steambuff is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 149
Thanks: 22
Thanked 27 Times in 24 Posts
Likes: 40
Liked 18 Times in 17 Posts
Re: Two cameras in one! so can't update

Quote:
Originally Posted by Stuart444 View Post

Odd that the old version worked on my M5ii though.
This would be because the EM1ii has two card slots, so the PC would see it as 2 devices.

Dave
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 22nd June 2019
Stuart444 Stuart444 is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Chester UK
Posts: 60
Thanks: 10
Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
Likes: 1
Liked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Re: Two cameras in one! so can't update

Yes, maybe. Perhaps the old camera updater dates from before the M1ii came out so that would explain it. Just shows, archiving downloads can be more trouble than it's worth.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 22nd June 2019
Olybirder Olybirder is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Norfolk
Posts: 6,788
Thanks: 2,442
Thanked 990 Times in 787 Posts
Likes: 1,980
Liked 3,050 Times in 876 Posts
Re: Two cameras in one! so can't update

I am glad you sorted it out Stuart. This is another case where updating via Olympus Workspace should have avoided the problem. When you choose to update the camera, it checks that it is running the latest version of the software and updates if necessary. It then checks for new camera and lens updates and selects the appropriate version to install. However many people seem loath to use Olympus Workspace.

Ron
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 22nd June 2019
Stuart444 Stuart444 is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Chester UK
Posts: 60
Thanks: 10
Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
Likes: 1
Liked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Re: Two cameras in one! so can't update

Hi Olybirder,
I only came across Olympus Workspace recently when trying to download Olympus Viewer, which I see is no longer available. I've not tried it yet. So I presume OW is replacing the camera updater as well, eventually perhaps. I'll have to give it a try.
Thanks for letting me know
Stuart
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Use For Old Cameras OM USer Foto Fair 1 9th May 2014 06:25 PM
KV cameras Kiwi Paul The lounge 11 16th December 2010 08:42 PM
Just think of all those cameras!!! pepper Foto Fair 3 29th September 2010 08:25 AM
Firmware update - applies to all Pen cameras Paulpp Olympus Pen E-P1 4 16th August 2010 11:03 AM
Olympus announces firmware update for PEN cameras Four Thirds User Articles from FourThirds-User.com 0 16th April 2010 12:30 PM


All times are GMT. The time now is 12:08 PM.


The Write Technology Ltd, 2007-2019, All rights reservedAd Management plugin by RedTyger