Olympus UK E-System User Group
Olympus UK E-System User Group

Join our unique resource for Olympus Four Thirds E-System DSLR and Pen and OM-D Micro Four Thirds photographers. Show your images via our free e-group photo gallery. Please read the e-group.uk.net forum terms and conditions before posting for the first time. Above all, welcome!


Go Back   Olympus UK E-System User Group > Cameras, lenses and system accessories > Camera conference > Olympus E-5

Olympus E-5 E-5 specific discussion.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 14th June 2013
vincent vincent is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Devon, UK
Posts: 27
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
C-AF not working

Just bought a new E-5 via an Ebay auction. Despite working my way through the manual and myriad menu settings, I find I have no continuous auto-focus. Nothing. Lens does not move; no confirming beep; image stays out of focus at half-press and continues out of focus to exposure. S-AF is fine.

Before I make a fool of myself by sending it back to Olympus: is there a menu setting I may have overlooked which could have disabled C-AF?

I should add that I'm an E-3 owner - so it's not as if I'm unfamiliar with the breed. I've tried several lenses; batteries out and back; cleaned contacts etc. I updated firmware to version 1.3.

Any hints would be appreciated.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 14th June 2013
Imageryone Imageryone is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Suffolk,England
Posts: 4,934
Thanks: 1,101
Thanked 797 Times in 755 Posts
Likes: 656
Liked 564 Times in 336 Posts
Re: C-AF not working

Depress the contact springs on the camera using a Biro refill, may just be one is a little sticky? Do it very gently
__________________
The picture tells the story, great when you have a bad memory.DW.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 14th June 2013
DerekC's Avatar
DerekC DerekC is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Doncaster, South Yorkshire
Posts: 958
Thanks: 226
Thanked 100 Times in 84 Posts
Likes: 85
Liked 98 Times in 30 Posts
Re: C-AF not working

It might be worth checking as S AF works that C AF has been set for back button focusing through the AEL/AFL menu. In which case when using C AF the AEL/AFL button needs pressing to focus.
__________________
Derek

____________________________________________

www.dncphotography.co.uk
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 15th June 2013
Chevvyf1's Avatar
Chevvyf1 Chevvyf1 is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Devon, UK
Posts: 12,269
Thanks: 1,744
Thanked 1,281 Times in 1,112 Posts
Likes: 1,169
Liked 522 Times in 392 Posts
Re: C-AF not working

Are you using LIVE VIEW screen focus or viewfinder ? I seem to recall that C-AF does not work with the LIVEview ???

Have you done RESET ?
__________________
.
.
[I].
.
I Lurve Walking in our Glorious Countryside; Photography;
Riding Ducati Motorbikes; Reading & Cooking ! ...


http://www.flickr.com/photos/photomagicf1_chevvy/sets/

the ONE photo album
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 15th June 2013
vincent vincent is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Devon, UK
Posts: 27
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Re: C-AF not working

Quote:
Originally Posted by DerekC View Post
It might be worth checking as S AF works that C AF has been set for back button focusing through the AEL/AFL menu. In which case when using C AF the AEL/AFL button needs pressing to focus.
Thanks Derek - think that's cracked it. Couldn't fathom why resetting cured the problem, until the camera was turned off and on again, when C-AF ceased to function once more

Tried pressing AEL, and that restored it. Appears that, somehow, when setting up modes using the "myset" menu, the camera somehow defaulted to - as you say - back button focusing.

Looks like I'm going to have to spend a lot more time with the manual! Personally, I'd be chuffed if Olly brought out an E-7 with a control set as complex as, say ... an OM-1
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 15th June 2013
David M's Avatar
David M David M is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: A Brit now living in Ontario, Canada.
Posts: 6,624
Thanks: 39
Thanked 678 Times in 640 Posts
Likes: 254
Liked 1,345 Times in 802 Posts
Re: C-AF not working

My 4/3 bodies are set up as if they're OM2's. Turn them on and start shooting. I'll never use 98% of the options/features on them.
__________________
It's the image that's important, not the tools used to make it.

David M's Photoblog
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 15th June 2013
Chevvyf1's Avatar
Chevvyf1 Chevvyf1 is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Devon, UK
Posts: 12,269
Thanks: 1,744
Thanked 1,281 Times in 1,112 Posts
Likes: 1,169
Liked 522 Times in 392 Posts
Re: C-AF not working

Quote:
Originally Posted by David M View Post
My 4/3 bodies are set up as if they're OM2's. Turn them on and start shooting. I'll never use 98% of the options/features on them.
David, is this because do do many 'functions' in post processing s/ware ? I do
__________________
.
.
[I].
.
I Lurve Walking in our Glorious Countryside; Photography;
Riding Ducati Motorbikes; Reading & Cooking ! ...


http://www.flickr.com/photos/photomagicf1_chevvy/sets/

the ONE photo album
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 15th June 2013
Imageryone Imageryone is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Suffolk,England
Posts: 4,934
Thanks: 1,101
Thanked 797 Times in 755 Posts
Likes: 656
Liked 564 Times in 336 Posts
Re: C-AF not working

Quote:
Originally Posted by David M View Post
My 4/3 bodies are set up as if they're OM2's. Turn them on and start shooting. I'll never use 98% of the options/features on them.
With you entirely, David, the ONLY button I use is Exp Comp on a regular basis, very occasionally Iso. Why make life difficult?
__________________
The picture tells the story, great when you have a bad memory.DW.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 15th June 2013
David M's Avatar
David M David M is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: A Brit now living in Ontario, Canada.
Posts: 6,624
Thanks: 39
Thanked 678 Times in 640 Posts
Likes: 254
Liked 1,345 Times in 802 Posts
Re: C-AF not working

I spent a couple of decades shooting slow transparency film for publication/stock using OM2's so learned how to get it right in camera.

For the past year my HG and SHG glass has been gathering dust as I've gone retro shooting manual focus primes for my personal work.
__________________
It's the image that's important, not the tools used to make it.

David M's Photoblog
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Working together... Greytop Foto Fair 12 9th May 2012 06:08 PM
E-5 seems to be working ok jdal Foto Fair 6 6th June 2011 10:06 PM
Working a sunset shenstone Foto Fair 8 30th April 2011 08:19 PM
My Blackberry is not working Barr1e The lounge 6 24th December 2010 09:35 PM
Working man Makonde Foto Fair 19 28th November 2010 10:25 AM


All times are GMT. The time now is 08:11 AM.


The Write Technology Ltd, 2007-2019, All rights reservedAd Management plugin by RedTyger