Olympus UK E-System User Group
Olympus UK E-System User Group

Join our unique resource for Olympus Four Thirds E-System DSLR and Pen and OM-D Micro Four Thirds photographers. Show your images via our free e-group photo gallery. Please read the e-group.uk.net forum terms and conditions before posting for the first time. Above all, welcome!


Go Back   Olympus UK E-System User Group > Cameras, lenses and system accessories > Software

Software Discuss Olympus Master, Studio and Viewer software applications as well as third party programs like Adobe Photoshop, Lightroom, Apple Aperture, and others.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 1st September 2008
HughofBardfield's Avatar
HughofBardfield HughofBardfield is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Great Bardfield, Essex, UK
Posts: 730
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Lightroom 2 discussion & Issues

I'd been using the LR2 beta for a while and upgraded to LR2 once I'd checked there were no major issues being reported. That said, quite a lot of people are having serious issues with speed (lots of threads on http://www.flickr.com/groups/adobe_lightroom/ ). These seem to be particularly associated with the new Gradient and Adjustment tools.

Some speed issues are, apparently, caused by having either the LR2 beta or old LR1.x versions still installed (although why that should be escapes me). I uninstalled the LR2 beta when I loaded LR2 and have had no problems with speed myself. However, it's also quite possible my under-resourced machine (Dual Core 3.4GHz, but with only 1Gb RAM, running XP Pro) is already so slow I haven't noticed any difference...

There's also an issue with importing LR1 catalogues into LR2. In some cases, the keywords get lost. There's a semi-official fix here: http://www.adobeforums.com/webx?14@@.59b5fbd8/9 which worked for me.

There seems to be reasonable confidence that the big A will bung out a 2.1 fairly soon, but there are quite a lot of fed-up users out there! Personally, I think if they can resolve the speed issue, the new tools are incredibly useful, and cover 85% of what I used Photoshop for, making it a really excellent piece of software.

Last edited by theMusicMan; 1st September 2008 at 02:13 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 1st September 2008
theMusicMan's Avatar
theMusicMan theMusicMan is offline
E-3 Enthusiast....:)
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: South Wales
Posts: 5,878
Thanks: 143
Thanked 267 Times in 178 Posts
Likes: 8
Liked 30 Times in 19 Posts
Re: Lightroom 2 discussion & Issues

Hi Hugh - I moved your post to a new thread as I was guilty of steering the thread way off topic... hope you don't mind.

I am finding the application excruciatingly slow at times now, especially when flicking between images - in either Grid, Loup or Develop modes. However, the operation of the new features such as the gradient or brush tools seems to be fine.

I have also found a significant improvement in LR2's Sharpen tool. I never really liked nor used this pre V2, and if an image needed sharpening I would always use CS3, but I haven't used CS3 for a while as the sharpen tool seems to have been considerably improved and does an excellent job.

I am concerned about speed issues now though, and never experienced this pre V2. I hope as you say, Adobe release a 2.1 soon to remedy this.
__________________
John

Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 1st September 2008
Ian's Avatar
Ian Ian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Hemel Hempstead, Hertfordshire, UK
Posts: 11,655
Thanks: 427
Thanked 2,546 Times in 1,280 Posts
Likes: 882
Liked 1,758 Times in 793 Posts
Re: Lightroom 2 discussion & Issues

Quote:
Originally Posted by theMusicMan View Post
Hi Hugh - I moved your post to a new thread as I was guilty of steering the thread way off topic... hope you don't mind.

I am finding the application excruciatingly slow at times now, especially when flicking between images - in either Grid, Loup or Develop modes. However, the operation of the new features such as the gradient or brush tools seems to be fine.

I have also found a significant improvement in LR2's Sharpen tool. I never really liked nor used this pre V2, and if an image needed sharpening I would always use CS3, but I haven't used CS3 for a while as the sharpen tool seems to have been considerably improved and does an excellent job.

I am concerned about speed issues now though, and never experienced this pre V2. I hope as you say, Adobe release a 2.1 soon to remedy this.

Sorry if this is an obvious one, but are you pre-rendering the standard previews when you import your images? This does drastically speed up browsing of images. You can also generate 1:1 (100%) previews and although this can take up a lot of space, it does speed things up a lot and you can limit their life so that after a preset time, say, a couple of weeks, the previews can be automatically deleted to preserve disk space. Previews can be generated after you have imported images as well, of course.

Ian
__________________
Founder and editor of:
Olympus UK E-System User Group (http://e-group.uk.net)
Four Thirds User (http://fourthirds-user.com)
Digital Photography Now (http://dpnow.com)
Olympus camera, lens, and accessory hire (http://e-group.uk.net/hire)

Twitter: www.twitter.com/ian_burley
Flickr: www.flickr.com/photos/dpnow/
Pinterest: www.pinterest.com/ianburley/
NEW: My personal BLOG ianburley.com
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 1st September 2008
theMusicMan's Avatar
theMusicMan theMusicMan is offline
E-3 Enthusiast....:)
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: South Wales
Posts: 5,878
Thanks: 143
Thanked 267 Times in 178 Posts
Likes: 8
Liked 30 Times in 19 Posts
Re: Lightroom 2 discussion & Issues

Hi Ian, yep I am rendering standard sized images on import. However, on times it can take 3-5 seconds to switch images. I didn't have this issue on LR1.4, and am only now experiencing it on LR2.
__________________
John

Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 1st September 2008
Ian's Avatar
Ian Ian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Hemel Hempstead, Hertfordshire, UK
Posts: 11,655
Thanks: 427
Thanked 2,546 Times in 1,280 Posts
Likes: 882
Liked 1,758 Times in 793 Posts
Re: Lightroom 2 discussion & Issues

Quote:
Originally Posted by theMusicMan View Post
Hi Ian, yep I am rendering standard sized images on import. However, on times it can take 3-5 seconds to switch images. I didn't have this issue on LR1.4, and am only now experiencing it on LR2.
If I remember correctly, you're using a Mac? Maybe it's a Mac-specific issue.

I'm using my PC laptop (2GB RAM, 2GHz AMD Turion X2 CPU) to browse a 9,000 image LR2 catalogue here and it's not as slow as you appear to be experiencing. I'm getting near instantaneous switching from one image to the next, both in Library and Develop, though occasionally there is a lingering message saying 'loading from previews" but it doesn't seem to affect anything. In Develop, the 'loading' status lasts 3-4 seconds, but the preview is practically instantaneous and I can switch from one image to the next with practically no delay.

Ian

PS, I'm running Windows Vista SP1
__________________
Founder and editor of:
Olympus UK E-System User Group (http://e-group.uk.net)
Four Thirds User (http://fourthirds-user.com)
Digital Photography Now (http://dpnow.com)
Olympus camera, lens, and accessory hire (http://e-group.uk.net/hire)

Twitter: www.twitter.com/ian_burley
Flickr: www.flickr.com/photos/dpnow/
Pinterest: www.pinterest.com/ianburley/
NEW: My personal BLOG ianburley.com

Last edited by Ian; 1st September 2008 at 04:21 PM. Reason: added info
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 1st September 2008
theMusicMan's Avatar
theMusicMan theMusicMan is offline
E-3 Enthusiast....:)
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: South Wales
Posts: 5,878
Thanks: 143
Thanked 267 Times in 178 Posts
Likes: 8
Liked 30 Times in 19 Posts
Re: Lightroom 2 discussion & Issues

Aye, am on a Mac.

I have researched this a little and it seems there are many users in the same predicament i.e. upgraded to LR2 (on both PC and Mac OSX platforms) who are experiencing speed and performance issuse with LR. There's a suggestion that Adobe are about to release a 2.1 'fix'.
__________________
John

Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 2nd September 2008
HughofBardfield's Avatar
HughofBardfield HughofBardfield is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Great Bardfield, Essex, UK
Posts: 730
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Re: Lightroom 2 discussion & Issues

Quote:
Originally Posted by theMusicMan View Post
Aye, am on a Mac.

I have researched this a little and it seems there are many users in the same predicament i.e. upgraded to LR2 (on both PC and Mac OSX platforms) who are experiencing speed and performance issuse with LR. There's a suggestion that Adobe are about to release a 2.1 'fix'.
Yes, certainly the complaints we are getting on the Flickr Lightroom Group are cross-platform, and don't seem to be dependent on the OS or the capacity of the machine. It's a real shame as the new tools and other improvements are potentially a huge leap forward. Oddly, the public Beta seemed to be more stable and faster than the release version.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 2nd September 2008
emirpprime
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Re: Lightroom 2 discussion & Issues

I've been holding off on both the beta and trial as I knew I would want to upgrade but am counting pennies at the moment. Seems like wisdom in hindsight. As a Mac user also I think I'll wait for 2.1.

John - It might be worth Opening activity monitor then trying to flick through some photos and watching the cpu usage. That way you can see if Lightroom suddenly starts using resources when changing images (suggesting some issue with the preview/thumbnail iamges) or whether it is constantly doing something in the background (perhaps reindexing your whole catelog). I found that when upgrading to 1.4 it was a bit slow then I left Lightroom open for 24 hours when the machine wasn't being used for any heavy work and after it was faster (subjectively speaking). This made me thing it was doing something behind the scenes that wasn't well documented.

All the best,
Phil
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 2nd September 2008
Ian's Avatar
Ian Ian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Hemel Hempstead, Hertfordshire, UK
Posts: 11,655
Thanks: 427
Thanked 2,546 Times in 1,280 Posts
Likes: 882
Liked 1,758 Times in 793 Posts
Re: Lightroom 2 discussion & Issues

Quote:
Originally Posted by theMusicMan View Post
Aye, am on a Mac.

I have researched this a little and it seems there are many users in the same predicament i.e. upgraded to LR2 (on both PC and Mac OSX platforms) who are experiencing speed and performance issuse with LR. There's a suggestion that Adobe are about to release a 2.1 'fix'.
OK, that's interesting - but curious as I don't seem to be experiencing these problems.

Ian
__________________
Founder and editor of:
Olympus UK E-System User Group (http://e-group.uk.net)
Four Thirds User (http://fourthirds-user.com)
Digital Photography Now (http://dpnow.com)
Olympus camera, lens, and accessory hire (http://e-group.uk.net/hire)

Twitter: www.twitter.com/ian_burley
Flickr: www.flickr.com/photos/dpnow/
Pinterest: www.pinterest.com/ianburley/
NEW: My personal BLOG ianburley.com
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 2nd September 2008
theMusicMan's Avatar
theMusicMan theMusicMan is offline
E-3 Enthusiast....:)
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: South Wales
Posts: 5,878
Thanks: 143
Thanked 267 Times in 178 Posts
Likes: 8
Liked 30 Times in 19 Posts
Re: Lightroom 2 discussion & Issues

Hey Phil

Interesting suggestion. So... I opened Activity Monitor and lo & behold, when I am in the Develop module, and then flick between images, the CPU usage for LR2 goes up to between 100-180, when idle it is at 3.0.

So... is there something desperately wrong here?
__________________
John

Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 3rd September 2008
emirpprime
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Re: Lightroom 2 discussion & Issues

Quote:
Originally Posted by theMusicMan View Post
So... is there something desperately wrong here?
Answering that I'm afraid is beyond me. Depending on your time/workflow etc I would do the following:

1 - Backup! Both catelog and images if possible, but its the catelog that really matters.
2 - Preferences > General > Catalog Settings > Relaunce and Optimise. Set preview size here if you want to change it, say if you have a lot of images you rarely look at you could make it standard size as opposed to 1:1.
3 - Library > Previews > Discard 1:1 Previews. This may take some time so plan on the machine being on working overnight or not doing much in Lightroom at least.

Worst case, wait for 2.1 or email adobe. They are normally pretty helpful but take a while to respond.

It might also be possible to backup, move catelogs to somewhere new and archive them (zip). Delete Lightroom using uninstaller if relevant, or Appcleaner or similar. Reinstall. Then un-zip the old catalog and Import Catalog into the fresh install of Lightroom. Hopefully that will rebuild etc everything.

Good luck!
Phil
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 4th September 2008
HughofBardfield's Avatar
HughofBardfield HughofBardfield is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Great Bardfield, Essex, UK
Posts: 730
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Re: Lightroom 2 discussion & Issues

This discussion thread may be of interest:

http://www.flickr.com/groups/adobe_l...7607074073712/

I recall there were issues with previous editions of LR and Nvidia. Not sure if this is applicable to anyone here, but may be worth a look.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 19th December 2008
petrovich's Avatar
petrovich petrovich is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Horndean, Hampshire
Posts: 266
Thanks: 2
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Likes: 1
Liked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Re: Lightroom 2 discussion & Issues

Sorry to show ignorance on this but I have a feeling the lovely Patsy has puchased Lightroom 2 for me at Chrimbo....

do I uninstall 1.4 beforehand, keeping a copy of the library file, or just install and leave alone?

Regards
__________________
PeterL

peterlittlephotography.com
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 19th December 2008
StephenL's Avatar
StephenL StephenL is offline
Senior Pixelmonger
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Yorkshire Dales
Posts: 9,863
Thanks: 984
Thanked 1,126 Times in 921 Posts
Likes: 658
Liked 755 Times in 499 Posts
Re: Lightroom 2 discussion & Issues

My feeling is that LR, like most Adobe products, works best as a clean install, so you are right to do your first option.
__________________
Stephen

A camera takes a picture. A photographer makes a picture

Fuji X system, + Leica and Bronica film

My Flickr site
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 19th December 2008
petrovich's Avatar
petrovich petrovich is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Horndean, Hampshire
Posts: 266
Thanks: 2
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Likes: 1
Liked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Re: Lightroom 2 discussion & Issues

Thanks Stephen, will go that route if hunch is correct.

Regards
__________________
PeterL

peterlittlephotography.com
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
A board dedicated to Micro Four Thirds discussion Ian Micro Four Thirds 12 8th November 2009 08:51 PM
Flash issues ?? lurksalot Olympus E-510 6 14th July 2008 02:10 PM
Focusing issues with the E-510 Rawcoll Olympus E-510 20 12th March 2008 05:35 PM
Focussing Issues with the E3 DerekW Olympus E-3 266 19th February 2008 04:28 PM
Issues with Networked Drives in Lightroom... never finds them theMusicMan Software 9 5th January 2008 02:43 PM


All times are GMT. The time now is 11:36 PM.


© The Write Technology Ltd, 2007-2019, All rights reservedAd Management plugin by RedTyger