Olympus UK E-System User Group
Olympus UK E-System User Group

Join our unique resource for Olympus Four Thirds E-System DSLR and Pen and OM-D Micro Four Thirds photographers. Show your images via our free e-group photo gallery. Please read the e-group.uk.net forum terms and conditions before posting for the first time. Above all, welcome!


Go Back   Olympus UK E-System User Group > Cameras, lenses and system accessories > Camera conference > Olympus E-510

Olympus E-510 E-510 specific discussion.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 26th December 2010
Phill Phill is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Stoke on Trent
Posts: 29
Thanks: 16
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Card full

I have had a e-510 from a very good friend and after trying it out yesterday took 4 pics then transfered them to PC fell asleep after a bit and left it plugged into the PC when I tried to use the camera again it came up card full so swapped cards then that is the same so nipped out this morning to curry's for a new card and again card full message any Idea's please as my friend's health is not to good to pester him it wont format either just says card error then any advise welcome please
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 26th December 2010
snaarman's Avatar
snaarman snaarman is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Baaarkshire UK
Posts: 6,824
Thanks: 493
Thanked 416 Times in 324 Posts
Likes: 489
Liked 1,285 Times in 496 Posts
Re: Card full

Hmm. Usual advice is:

Battery low or flat? - if it goes flat during the USB picture transfer then all bets are off.

If not then try this: Take battery out. Have cup of tea. Put battery back in.

If not then try a full reset (somewhere in the menus)

Hope this helps...

Pete
__________________
Look, I'm an old man. I shouldn't be expected to put up with this.


Pete's photoblog Misleading the public since 2010.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 26th December 2010
Phill Phill is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Stoke on Trent
Posts: 29
Thanks: 16
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Re: Card full

These camera's take two types of memory card do you think swapping to the other (XD) may help
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 26th December 2010
snaarman's Avatar
snaarman snaarman is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Baaarkshire UK
Posts: 6,824
Thanks: 493
Thanked 416 Times in 324 Posts
Likes: 489
Liked 1,285 Times in 496 Posts
Re: Card full

XD cards are considered Old Hat, being as they are expensive and slow. However many users (myself included) keep an XD card in the camera as a back up to the Compact Flash card. If you fill the first card you can carry on using the XD.

You could try the camera with an XD just to check it hasn't lost its marbles, i.e. can it format and use that card.

Pete
__________________
Look, I'm an old man. I shouldn't be expected to put up with this.


Pete's photoblog Misleading the public since 2010.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 26th December 2010
Nick Temple-Fry's Avatar
Nick Temple-Fry Nick Temple-Fry is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Wiltshire
Posts: 4,395
Thanks: 17
Thanked 190 Times in 142 Posts
Likes: 0
Liked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Re: Card full

I wonder if this is a variant of the occaisional problem that has been reported with E-Series cameras and card count, which usually shows as a problem in the number of shots left on the card. In which case this thread
http://e-group.uk.net/forum/showthre...rd+free&page=2

amd more particularly this post

Hi all,

Just had a discussion with Olympus Support and I have been given a solution to this problem that does NOT need you to fire off all shots until the counter returns to zero.

I have not had an explanation as to why the cameras behave this way but at least we now have a way forward. If your counter sticks and continues to decrease as they have in both my E3 and E500, carry out the following-

E500 :- Menu/spanner2/FileName/RESET

E3 :- Menu/spanner 1/spanner h/File Name/RESET



From PeterD might help.

Though the menu options may be slightly different on a E-510, can't see it doing any harm to try.


Nick
__________________
Nick Temple-Fry

Medicine as a science ranks somewhere between archaeology and economics.

www.theChurchPhotographer.co.uk 90 Churches -- Fairford St Mary's, exceptionally splendid
www.temple-fry.co.uk
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 26th December 2010
Lord Minty's Avatar
Lord Minty Lord Minty is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Bedford, UK
Posts: 62
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Re: Card full

Was the camera powered on when you took the card out by any chance? And does it have an xD card in it as well as the CF card?

I've taken the CF card out on my E-500 and as it had an xD card left in the camera it's automagically switched over to use the xD card. When I popped the CF back in the camera it ignored it and carried on writing to the xD card...

Then when I took the CF out to get the images I wondered where they were!

A quick check of the Super Control Panel should tell you which card it thinks it's using.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 27th December 2010
Phill Phill is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Stoke on Trent
Posts: 29
Thanks: 16
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Re: Card full

Thanks all for your help , after removing the card I put in a new one it still threw the error message up so I reset all the default setting's and still no joy then a thought came to me and i got a strong magnifying glass out and inspected the base of the card and sure enough slight damage to one pin hole luckily the wife has some very small tools we identified the offending pin and wallah back in working order
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 28th December 2010
Ross the fiddler's Avatar
Ross the fiddler Ross the fiddler is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Blue Mtns, NSW Australia
Posts: 13,932
Thanks: 2,058
Thanked 1,309 Times in 1,024 Posts
Likes: 5,354
Liked 2,066 Times in 1,119 Posts
Re: Card full

Quote:
Originally Posted by Phill View Post
Thanks all for your help , after removing the card I put in a new one it still threw the error message up so I reset all the default setting's and still no joy then a thought came to me and i got a strong magnifying glass out and inspected the base of the card and sure enough slight damage to one pin hole luckily the wife has some very small tools we identified the offending pin and wallah back in working order
You're very lucky then to rescue the connection pin. I manage to destroy my mini USB connector on my E520 in the dark, but was able to separate the pins to still use the camera. Good to hear you fixed the problem.
__________________
Ross
I fiddle with violins (when I'm not fiddling with a camera).
Flickr: https://www.flickr.com/photos/ross-the-fiddler/
Cameras: OM-D E-M1 & Mk II, Olympus Stylus 1, OM-D E-M5.
Lenses: M.ZD12-40mm f2.8 PRO Lens, M.ZD40-150mm f2.8 PRO Lens, MC-14, MC-20, M.ZD12-50, M.ZD60 Macro, M.ZD75-300 Mk II, MMF-3, ZD14-54 II, Sigma 150mm F2.8 APO Macro DG HSM.
Flashes: FL36R X2, FL50R, FL50.
Software: Capture One Pro 10 (& Olympus Viewer 3).
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Ross the fiddler For This Useful Post:
Phill (29th December 2010)
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
At full stretch Nick Temple-Fry Foto Fair 3 7th January 2011 11:02 PM
First HDR - full batch meach Foto Fair 16 14th April 2010 01:43 PM
Full moon meach Foto Fair 11 2nd February 2010 11:45 PM
CF card adapter to SD card petrovich General accessories 8 9th November 2009 03:39 PM
Dunnock in full song... 2 theMusicMan Foto Fair 10 22nd April 2008 11:30 PM


All times are GMT. The time now is 09:14 AM.


The Write Technology Ltd, 2007-2019, All rights reservedAd Management plugin by RedTyger