Olympus UK E-System User Group
Olympus UK E-System User Group

Join our unique resource for Olympus Four Thirds E-System DSLR and Pen and OM-D Micro Four Thirds photographers. Show your images via our free e-group photo gallery. Please read the e-group.uk.net forum terms and conditions before posting for the first time. Above all, welcome!


Go Back   Olympus UK E-System User Group > Cameras, lenses and system accessories > Camera conference > Micro Four Thirds > Olympus OM-D E-M1 Mark II

Olympus OM-D E-M1 Mark II The second Micro Four Thirds camera that offers phase detect focusing so you can use Four Thirds DSLR lenses normally as well a Micro Four Thirds lenses.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 13th August 2019
TravelingChick TravelingChick is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Location: Texas, but my sister lives in Aberystwyth.
Posts: 29
Thanks: 7
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Likes: 8
Liked 8 Times in 5 Posts
Question Updating/adding to custom function

I have the settings I use for BIF/action loaded to C3. I would like to add a couple of different settings to this. I'm confused after reading the manual (no surprise there). I've also looked in Darrell Young's book and still confused.

My specific question: if I have my camera set to C3 on the dial, and then change the settings I want to change, how do I make them 'stick'? If I move the dial off of C3 they go away, but if I'm reading the manual correctly (big if) I can't write to C3 while I'm in C3. ??

Do I have to save my new/improved settings somewhere first? Or do I need to do some switcheroo with another C?

Any specific instructions much appreciated!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 13th August 2019
MJ224's Avatar
MJ224 MJ224 is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Carmarthenshire
Posts: 13,819
Thanks: 946
Thanked 749 Times in 695 Posts
Likes: 6,951
Liked 3,816 Times in 1,762 Posts
Re: Updating/adding to custom function

Make you changes in C3 as you have.

Just set them again using Reset/Custon Modes (Menu-1), Assign to Custom Mode, down to Custom Mode 3, and Set. Use the sideways arrow on the Ok button set to access those options.)

It will overwrite your previous settings...

Or if you want to keep the original setting, assign the new set to C2 or C1...
__________________
Mark Johnson

My Sailing Page

My Flickr
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to MJ224 For This Useful Post:
TravelingChick (14th August 2019)
  #3  
Old 13th August 2019
Growltiger Growltiger is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: UK
Posts: 310
Thanks: 2
Thanked 94 Times in 68 Posts
Likes: 9
Liked 72 Times in 54 Posts
Re: Updating/adding to custom function

Not quite right as that won't let you assign the mode and the shutter speed/aperture.

Do the following to edit the C3 settings.
1. Set mode dial to P A S or M depending on which mode you want C3 to give you. (Don't set the dial to C3.)
2. Go into the menu and Recall from Custom Mode C3.
3. Make the changes.
4. Set the shutter speed/aperture to what you want stored.
5. Go into the menu and Assign to Custom Mode C3.
Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Growltiger For This Useful Post:
Olybirder (13th August 2019), TravelingChick (14th August 2019)
The Following User Liked This Post:
TravelingChick (14th August 2019)
  #4  
Old 14th August 2019
MJ224's Avatar
MJ224 MJ224 is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Carmarthenshire
Posts: 13,819
Thanks: 946
Thanked 749 Times in 695 Posts
Likes: 6,951
Liked 3,816 Times in 1,762 Posts
Re: Updating/adding to custom function

Yes agree that my method won't allow you to change the Mode (A S P)..

Just confirm how you recall the Custom Mode x....

Never done that before.....
__________________
Mark Johnson

My Sailing Page

My Flickr
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 14th August 2019
Growltiger Growltiger is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: UK
Posts: 310
Thanks: 2
Thanked 94 Times in 68 Posts
Likes: 9
Liked 72 Times in 54 Posts
Re: Updating/adding to custom function

Quote:
Originally Posted by MJ224 View Post
Yes agree that my method won't allow you to change the Mode (A S P)..

Just confirm how you recall the Custom Mode x....

Never done that before.....
Shooting Menu 1
Reset/Custom Modes
Recall from Custom Mode
Reply With Quote
The Following Users Liked This Post:
MJ224 (14th August 2019), royd63uk (14th August 2019)
  #6  
Old 14th August 2019
Growltiger Growltiger is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: UK
Posts: 310
Thanks: 2
Thanked 94 Times in 68 Posts
Likes: 9
Liked 72 Times in 54 Posts
Re: Updating/adding to custom function

Quote:
Originally Posted by TravelingChick View Post
I have the settings I use for BIF/action loaded to C3. I would like to add a couple of different settings to this. I'm confused after reading the manual (no surprise there). I've also looked in Darrell Young's book and still confused.

My specific question: if I have my camera set to C3 on the dial, and then change the settings I want to change, how do I make them 'stick'? If I move the dial off of C3 they go away, but if I'm reading the manual correctly (big if) I can't write to C3 while I'm in C3. ??

Do I have to save my new/improved settings somewhere first? Or do I need to do some switcheroo with another C?

Any specific instructions much appreciated!
You asked the same thing in mu43 as well and got the same reply.
Better to try one forum at a time, I almost wrote my reply twice.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 14th August 2019
TravelingChick TravelingChick is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Location: Texas, but my sister lives in Aberystwyth.
Posts: 29
Thanks: 7
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Likes: 8
Liked 8 Times in 5 Posts
Re: Updating/adding to custom function

I didn't think it hurt to try more than one place. Sorry.
Reply With Quote
The Following User Liked This Post:
MJ224 (14th August 2019)
  #8  
Old 14th August 2019
TravelingChick TravelingChick is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Location: Texas, but my sister lives in Aberystwyth.
Posts: 29
Thanks: 7
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Likes: 8
Liked 8 Times in 5 Posts
Re: Updating/adding to custom function

Thank you all for your help!
Reply With Quote
The Following Users Liked This Post:
Growltiger (14th August 2019), MJ224 (14th August 2019)
Reply

Tags
customisation, menus

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Request Updating flyingvic Tutorials, Informative & Classic threads 7 4th April 2014 09:46 PM
Adding rain to an image, any advice please? 4 images in 3rd post theMusicMan Software 9 18th June 2013 11:27 AM
Adding a Vignette gregles Software 13 26th February 2012 07:52 AM
HELP! custom setup Roberta Software 2 5th March 2011 01:08 PM
Adding date to EXIF in Lightroom...? theMusicMan Software 2 17th December 2007 10:05 AM


All times are GMT. The time now is 01:05 AM.


The Write Technology Ltd, 2007-2019, All rights reservedAd Management plugin by RedTyger