Olympus UK E-System User Group
Olympus UK E-System User Group

Join our unique resource for Olympus Four Thirds E-System DSLR and Pen and OM-D Micro Four Thirds photographers. Show your images via our free e-group photo gallery. Please read the e-group.uk.net forum terms and conditions before posting for the first time. Above all, welcome!


Go Back   Olympus UK E-System User Group > Cameras, lenses and system accessories > Software

Software Discuss Olympus Master, Studio and Viewer software applications as well as third party programs like Adobe Photoshop, Lightroom, Apple Aperture, and others.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 8th February 2010
meach meach is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Stockton-on-Tees, UK
Posts: 653
Thanks: 125
Thanked 30 Times in 28 Posts
Likes: 0
Liked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Cropping query

I have a series of photographs that need cropping to a panoramic size. The problem I have is that I want to make sure I finish up with exactly the same part of each shot, but if I do them all individually I'm sure to get them all slightly different. Is there any way of achieving what I want in Photoshop Elements 7 - or any of the other programs?
__________________
Paul
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 8th February 2010
shenstone's Avatar
shenstone shenstone is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Cardiff
Posts: 3,444
Thanks: 168
Thanked 334 Times in 255 Posts
Likes: 440
Liked 546 Times in 294 Posts
Re: Cropping query

I think I understand - Assuming your pictures were talking at the same place with very little movement this is possible

I do AV shows and it's really useful when I've not had a tripod with me and wanted to take a set of images to show e.g. water or steam moving

Not sure about elements, but you can defintely do it in Photoshop

In CS3 you import a set of files using File > Scripts > Load Files into Stack and select the files you want to process

Then ensuring that Attempt to Automatically align source images is clicked you can import them

It pulls them all in as seperate layers which you then crop to your required size.

You then need to check all the layers go to the edges by turning layers on and off (waste of time exporting if one of your pictures is missing an edge)

Use File > Scripts > Export layers to files to take them back out

Regards
Andy
__________________
My Kit (OK I'm a hoarder...)
4/3 E500, E510, E30 + 35macro, 50macro, 7-14, 11-22, 14-45 (x2), 14-54, 40-150 (both types), 50-200, 70-300, 50-500,
m 4/3 EM1MkII + 60 macro, 12-100 Pro
FL20, FL36 x2 , FL50, cactus slaves etc.
The Boss (Mrs Shenstone) E620, EM10-II, 14-41Ez, 40-150R, 9 cap and whatever she can nick from me when she wants it

My places
http://www.shenstone.me.uk
http://landroverkaty.blogspot.com/
https://vimeo.com/shenstone
http://cardiffnaturalists.org.uk/
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 8th February 2010
meach meach is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Stockton-on-Tees, UK
Posts: 653
Thanks: 125
Thanked 30 Times in 28 Posts
Likes: 0
Liked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Re: Cropping query

Quote:
Originally Posted by shenstone View Post
I think I understand - Assuming your pictures were talking at the same place with very little movement this is possible
Yes - they were all taken on a tripod. When I view them in slideshow format there is no (discernible anyway) movement and I'd like to keep it like that after I've cropped them.

Thanks Andy - I'll see if Elements does something similar.
__________________
Paul
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 8th February 2010
shenstone's Avatar
shenstone shenstone is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Cardiff
Posts: 3,444
Thanks: 168
Thanked 334 Times in 255 Posts
Likes: 440
Liked 546 Times in 294 Posts
Re: Cropping query

Ahh...

Now you've said there is no discernable movement between them can I also recommend FastStone http://www.faststone.org/FSViewerDetail.htm

It's free for non commercial use and really cheap anyway for the quality of tool you get

The batch processor is perfect for these types of jobs

Decide how you want to crop using the crop board on onbe picture - note down the parameters

Select all your files
F3 to batch process
Advanced - enter your crop parameters

Put in your folder or rename parameters assuming you don't want to overwrite and hit go

Regards
Andy
__________________
My Kit (OK I'm a hoarder...)
4/3 E500, E510, E30 + 35macro, 50macro, 7-14, 11-22, 14-45 (x2), 14-54, 40-150 (both types), 50-200, 70-300, 50-500,
m 4/3 EM1MkII + 60 macro, 12-100 Pro
FL20, FL36 x2 , FL50, cactus slaves etc.
The Boss (Mrs Shenstone) E620, EM10-II, 14-41Ez, 40-150R, 9 cap and whatever she can nick from me when she wants it

My places
http://www.shenstone.me.uk
http://landroverkaty.blogspot.com/
https://vimeo.com/shenstone
http://cardiffnaturalists.org.uk/

Last edited by shenstone; 8th February 2010 at 11:30 AM. Reason: added price info
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 8th February 2010
meach meach is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Stockton-on-Tees, UK
Posts: 653
Thanks: 125
Thanked 30 Times in 28 Posts
Likes: 0
Liked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Re: Cropping query

That sounds exactly what I want!! Thank you very much Andy - I'll let you know how I get on.
__________________
Paul
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 8th February 2010
BobS BobS is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Isle of Purbeck, Dorset
Posts: 1,264
Thanks: 50
Thanked 51 Times in 47 Posts
Likes: 55
Liked 11 Times in 9 Posts
Re: Cropping query

Quote:
Originally Posted by shenstone View Post
Ahh...

Now you've said there is no discernable movement between them can I also recommend FastStone http://www.faststone.org/FSViewerDetail.htm

It's free for non commercial use and really cheap anyway for the quality of tool you get

The batch processor is perfect for these types of jobs

Decide how you want to crop using the crop board on onbe picture - note down the parameters

Select all your files
F3 to batch process
Advanced - enter your crop parameters

Put in your folder or rename parameters assuming you don't want to overwrite and hit go

Regards
Andy
Andy
Thanks for the tip regarding the Faststone program - it's great. Shows what you can learn when looking at forum posts in which you think you may not have an interest. I must find the time to read every one!
Bob
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 1st March 2010
meach meach is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Stockton-on-Tees, UK
Posts: 653
Thanks: 125
Thanked 30 Times in 28 Posts
Likes: 0
Liked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Re: Cropping query

Quote:
Originally Posted by shenstone View Post
Ahh...

Now you've said there is no discernable movement between them can I also recommend FastStone http://www.faststone.org/FSViewerDetail.htm

It's free for non commercial use and really cheap anyway for the quality of tool you get

The batch processor is perfect for these types of jobs

Decide how you want to crop using the crop board on onbe picture - note down the parameters

Select all your files
F3 to batch process
Advanced - enter your crop parameters

Put in your folder or rename parameters assuming you don't want to overwrite and hit go

Regards
Andy
Finally got round to trying it out this morning - and it does exactly what I wanted, and quickly too. Many thanks for pointing me in the right direction, Andy.
__________________
Paul
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 1st March 2010
stevednp3's Avatar
stevednp3 stevednp3 is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Wales
Posts: 1,787
Thanks: 76
Thanked 44 Times in 38 Posts
Likes: 2
Liked 76 Times in 23 Posts
Re: Cropping query

Is the Adobe Camera Raw built into Elements ? as you can apply a global change to a series of photos in there !
__________________
E-M10 Mk2 - 14-42mm EZ - 40-150mm ED - Falcon 8mm Fisheye - FL-36R

Wedding Photography Wales | Commercial Photography | Party Photographer Cardiff | Cheap Business Cards | Photoshop Training Cardiff
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 1st March 2010
meach meach is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Stockton-on-Tees, UK
Posts: 653
Thanks: 125
Thanked 30 Times in 28 Posts
Likes: 0
Liked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Re: Cropping query

Quote:
Originally Posted by stevednp3 View Post
Is the Adobe Camera Raw built into Elements ? as you can apply a global change to a series of photos in there !
Yes, it is - but I've only ever been able to open one image. How do you batch process in it?
__________________
Paul
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 1st March 2010
snaarman's Avatar
snaarman snaarman is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Baaarkshire UK
Posts: 6,867
Thanks: 502
Thanked 417 Times in 325 Posts
Likes: 492
Liked 1,341 Times in 507 Posts
Re: Cropping query

Quote:
Originally Posted by meach View Post
Yes, it is - but I've only ever been able to open one image. How do you batch process in it?
Drag and drop a pile of orf files to Elements and they should appear on the left of the ACR screen. You can select some or all of them and do what you want.. So far as I remember..

Pete
__________________
Look, I'm an old man. I shouldn't be expected to put up with this.


Pete's photoblog Misleading the public since 2010.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 1st March 2010
meach meach is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Stockton-on-Tees, UK
Posts: 653
Thanks: 125
Thanked 30 Times in 28 Posts
Likes: 0
Liked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Re: Cropping query

Quote:
Originally Posted by snaarman View Post
Drag and drop a pile of orf files to Elements and they should appear on the left of the ACR screen. You can select some or all of them and do what you want.. So far as I remember..

Pete
Well blow me!! That works too - and I can specify the aspect ratio I need as well. Thanks Pete.
__________________
Paul
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 1st March 2010
stevednp3's Avatar
stevednp3 stevednp3 is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Wales
Posts: 1,787
Thanks: 76
Thanked 44 Times in 38 Posts
Likes: 2
Liked 76 Times in 23 Posts
Re: Cropping query

Quote:
Originally Posted by meach View Post
Yes, it is - but I've only ever been able to open one image. How do you batch process in it?
http://www.adobe.com/digitalimag/tip...tch/index.html
__________________
E-M10 Mk2 - 14-42mm EZ - 40-150mm ED - Falcon 8mm Fisheye - FL-36R

Wedding Photography Wales | Commercial Photography | Party Photographer Cardiff | Cheap Business Cards | Photoshop Training Cardiff
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 1st March 2010
meach meach is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Stockton-on-Tees, UK
Posts: 653
Thanks: 125
Thanked 30 Times in 28 Posts
Likes: 0
Liked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Re: Cropping query

Quote:
Originally Posted by stevednp3 View Post
Cheers Steve - I'll have a good look at that when I get the chance
__________________
Paul
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HELP! CF Card query PeterD Camera conference 23 3rd February 2010 08:09 AM
FL-CB05 query SkinHead Flash 1 19th January 2010 09:08 AM
BLM-1 replacement query Invicta Accessory talk 32 6th July 2008 10:13 AM
Focus query RogerMac Olympus E-510 2 17th April 2008 12:15 PM
E-410 Lens/Mount Query John R Olympus E-410 5 20th November 2007 09:52 PM


All times are GMT. The time now is 07:22 PM.


The Write Technology Ltd, 2007-2019, All rights reservedAd Management plugin by RedTyger