Olympus UK E-System User Group
Olympus UK E-System User Group

Join our unique resource for Olympus Four Thirds E-System DSLR and Pen and OM-D Micro Four Thirds photographers. Show your images via our free e-group photo gallery. Please read the e-group.uk.net forum terms and conditions before posting for the first time. Above all, welcome!

Go Back   Olympus UK E-System User Group > Show your photos > Foto Fair

Foto Fair Post your photos for friendly, non-critical feedback. This is the place to show pictures if you aren't yet ready for full-blooded critique, or simply want to share an interesting picture with other e-group visitors.

Old 21st January 2008

Liked 897 Times in 409 Posts
Assorted tits

I'm not good at identifying all of these birds yet. I just like the antics of the tits around the bird feeder at my local forest clearing. I found it to be a real test of the AF on the E3 and have been there again today with the new body with much more success.

Of 192 shots, 19 were very good (focus, exposure and composition) and the bulk of the others were sharp enough for me. I'm still seeing a few where I know the camera didn't achieve focus but can't establish whether it was the camera or me. It can be quite fast moving out there and there are several with the bird moving off. All were taken S-AF. I tried C-AF once but it was just crazy swapping in and out of focus without stopping.

So apologies for the subject matter for those who don't like birds but here are a few for those that do.

You can see it was a bit gloomy but I have been itching to get out and try the camera out. As always I find the 50-200mm a bit too short but I haven't been able to get the 2.0 converter yet. I have also worked at trying the various spot focus modes with some dial up exposure compensation to cope with the backlighting. It needs to be worked hard to get it right. Not an easy camera in tricky light.