Olympus UK E-System User Group
Olympus UK E-System User Group

Join our unique resource for Olympus Four Thirds E-System DSLR and Pen and OM-D Micro Four Thirds photographers. Show your images via our free e-group photo gallery. Please read the e-group.uk.net forum terms and conditions before posting for the first time. Above all, welcome!

Go Back   Olympus UK E-System User Group > Site news and information > Introduce yourself

Introduce yourself Don't be bashful - please say hello so we can all welcome you here!

Old 4th August 2019

Liked 6 Times in 3 Posts
Cool London calling...

Hello to everyone here and thanks for approving my membership.

I’m an enthusiastic amateur and have been swinging cameras around my neck since 1980 when I bought an OM-10. Up until Olympus abandoned the OM System I gradually expanded with many different lenses, bodies and heavily invested in their TTL flash system which was one of the main reasons I bought Olympus to begin with: the unsurpassed Off The Film (OTF) metering system.

I still have some of the equipment but rarely use it anymore, my particular favourites are the 35RC I bought from my local Cash Converters for £5, and my Pen FT half-frame system which I still own and sometimes use today.

My main interests back then always gravitated towards anything aquatic but I also maintain an interest in macro but on a budget. So no true macro lenses for me, just cheap and effective filter thread reversing rings and a Russian bellows. I rapidly learned about how sensitive depth of field is for macrophotography as I was taking images where an ant head filled the frame but the nearest part of the faceted eye would be in focus but not the part which was a hairs-breadth further back. As focus stacking didn’t exist back then the answer was ever smaller apertures and massive amounts of light placed as closely as possible to the subject, but even a brief flash at those power levels tended to cook the critters...