Olympus UK E-System User Group
Olympus UK E-System User Group

Join our unique resource for Olympus Four Thirds E-System DSLR and Pen and OM-D Micro Four Thirds photographers. Show your images via our free e-group photo gallery. Please read the e-group.uk.net forum terms and conditions before posting for the first time. Above all, welcome!

Go Back   Olympus UK E-System User Group > Show your photos > Exhibitions, stock photos, professional work

Exhibitions, stock photos, professional work This board concentrates on topics that explore the potential of your photography being seen by a wider audience and even earning you some money.

Old 11th February 2013

Liked 16 Times in 9 Posts
Weddings / portraiture - self taught or a course

Hi all

After sinking (cough) pounds into my photography habit/addiction, I wonder about making a few quid.

Of those on here that "do" weddings, and portraiture work, did you do a course detailing the basics? If not, do you think you would have benefited? Or are you better off teaching yourself?

While it would be wrong to say the "human" element of photography isn't my strong point, I've never really given it a go, so I don't know. One thing I am sure of is booking a wedding as my first event would be like taking your first driving lesson on the motorway!!

So my question is, are these courses worthwhile? Can anyone provide any feedback?
Old 11th February 2013

Liked 564 Times in 336 Posts
Re: Weddings / portraiture - self taught or a course

Best way to learn is to approach an established Wedding Photographer and see if he will let you assist on a few weddings.
The best way, but in these cut-throat days not the easiest way, sorry to say.

If you are considering a course, I would be very inclined to ask to see examples of the teachers work, so you can judge for yourself their level of expertise.

Ask friends and relatives if you can look at their celebration photographs, this gives you ideas of what is expected.