Olympus UK E-System User Group
Olympus UK E-System User Group

Join our unique resource for Olympus Four Thirds E-System DSLR and Pen and OM-D Micro Four Thirds photographers. Show your images via our free e-group photo gallery. Please read the e-group.uk.net forum terms and conditions before posting for the first time. Above all, welcome!


Go Back   Olympus UK E-System User Group > Cameras, lenses and system accessories > Camera conference > Olympus E-5

Olympus E-5 E-5 specific discussion.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 29th August 2011
Bikie John's Avatar
Bikie John Bikie John is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Wessex
Posts: 4,050
Thanks: 187
Thanked 666 Times in 587 Posts
Likes: 535
Liked 754 Times in 500 Posts
Running an E-5 off the mains

Has anyone tried running an E-5 off the mains? I want to run a slideshow through a TV (of a pub cricket match on the pub telly after the game - should be worth a pint or 2 ). I've sorted out the video connection and doing the slideshow but I don't know how long the camera's batteries will last.

The E-5 seems to have a socket the same as the DC input on the E-3, and the E-3 manual says you can use the AC-1 mains adapter. But the E-5 manual makes no mention of it at all, although in the section on slideshows it says "if the cameras is running on batteries it will stop after 30 minutes" which rather suggests that there might be an alternative.

Thanks in anticipation ... John
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 29th August 2011
WPJ WPJ is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Channel Islands
Posts: 203
Thanks: 17
Thanked 15 Times in 11 Posts
Likes: 1
Liked 7 Times in 4 Posts
Re: Running an E-5 off the mains

Hi John,

Yes the E5 works with the AC-1 mains adapter; can't see why you would not be able to run your show off it.

I use the AC-1 mains adapter. for software updates and uploading images.

Regards

Paul
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to WPJ For This Useful Post:
Bikie John (29th August 2011)
  #3  
Old 29th August 2011
Bikie John's Avatar
Bikie John Bikie John is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Wessex
Posts: 4,050
Thanks: 187
Thanked 666 Times in 587 Posts
Likes: 535
Liked 754 Times in 500 Posts
Re: Running an E-5 off the mains

Thanks Paul, I'll see if I can get hold of an AC-1.

Cheers ... John
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 29th August 2011
peak4's Avatar
peak4 peak4 is online now
Full member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Buxton, Derbyshire.
Posts: 1,727
Thanks: 131
Thanked 223 Times in 188 Posts
Likes: 220
Liked 195 Times in 130 Posts
Re: Running an E-5 off the mains

Make sure you're sitting down when you look at the price
__________________
Best Regards
Bill

The nearest I have to a home page.
http://www.flickr.com/photos/peak4/
They're Watching You!
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 29th August 2011
Bikie John's Avatar
Bikie John Bikie John is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Wessex
Posts: 4,050
Thanks: 187
Thanked 666 Times in 587 Posts
Likes: 535
Liked 754 Times in 500 Posts
Re: Running an E-5 off the mains

Quote:
Originally Posted by peak4 View Post
Make sure you're sitting down when you look at the price
I wondered about that. Got any idea what it's likely to be? I haven't found one in the usual places (Whorehouse Express etc.), was going to ask the nice chaps in LCE tomorrow.

Ciao ... John
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 29th August 2011
peak4's Avatar
peak4 peak4 is online now
Full member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Buxton, Derbyshire.
Posts: 1,727
Thanks: 131
Thanked 223 Times in 188 Posts
Likes: 220
Liked 195 Times in 130 Posts
Re: Running an E-5 off the mains

Occasionaly they pop up on ebay and go for 50-85
New http://www.harpersphoto.co.uk/produc...-1_ac_adapter/
Ouch
__________________
Best Regards
Bill

The nearest I have to a home page.
http://www.flickr.com/photos/peak4/
They're Watching You!
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 29th August 2011
Wreckdiver's Avatar
Wreckdiver Wreckdiver is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: From Liverpool, live in Chippenham, Wiltshire.
Posts: 1,777
Thanks: 95
Thanked 85 Times in 80 Posts
Likes: 122
Liked 132 Times in 74 Posts
Re: Running an E-5 off the mains

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bikie John View Post
I wondered about that. Got any idea what it's likely to be? I haven't found one in the usual places (Whorehouse Express etc.), was going to ask the nice chaps in LCE tomorrow.

Ciao ... John
Are you ready for this? Olympus AC-1

Steve
__________________
Old divers never die, they just go down on old wrecks
Take nothing but photographs, leave nothing but bubbles
My website
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 30th August 2011
Zuiko's Avatar
Zuiko Zuiko is online now
Administrator
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Dunmow, Essex
Posts: 22,276
Thanks: 1,999
Thanked 3,184 Times in 2,488 Posts
Likes: 3,485
Liked 4,547 Times in 2,163 Posts
Re: Running an E-5 off the mains

That seems a rather expensive solution. 30 minutes is actually rather a long time for a slide show. If you need to go on longer, why not have an interval for 15 minutes so the lads can get another couple of rounds in? That will give you time to change the battery and let the camera cool down.
__________________
John

"A hundredth of a second here, a hundredth of a second there even if you put them end to end, they still only add up to one, two, perhaps three seconds, snatched from eternity." ~ Robert Doisneau
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 30th August 2011
Bikie John's Avatar
Bikie John Bikie John is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Wessex
Posts: 4,050
Thanks: 187
Thanked 666 Times in 587 Posts
Likes: 535
Liked 754 Times in 500 Posts
Re: Running an E-5 off the mains

Eek That price is pretty hardcore, isn't it. Thanks Bill and Steve.

Zuiko's suggestion of spare batteries sounds better value for money, and will be more versatile. Ideally I would like to just to leave the slideshow running for an hour or two as people drift in and out after the game. But a break every half hour or so doesn't sound like too much of a hardship.

Thanks for the input, problem solved now I think. I might still ask the LCE chaps, just to see the look on their faces when they see the price

Cheers ... John
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 30th August 2011
Ulfric M Douglas Ulfric M Douglas is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Northumberland
Posts: 2,895
Thanks: 263
Thanked 234 Times in 215 Posts
Likes: 128
Liked 172 Times in 119 Posts
Re: Running an E-5 off the mains

130-170 for something that should be bundled in with the batter charger - for free!
Dang.
My camcorder uses a cradle thingy for both purposes.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 30th August 2011
Graham_of_Rainham's Avatar
Graham_of_Rainham Graham_of_Rainham is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Rainham
Posts: 8,229
Thanks: 647
Thanked 951 Times in 735 Posts
Likes: 2,316
Liked 1,626 Times in 938 Posts
Lightbulb Re: Running an E-5 off the mains

Can you do a DIY with the HDL-5 and that AA Battery holder and a 9v power supply. The +ve and -ve on the AA holder are identifiable from the AA battery orientation marks, so a simple bit of wiring should work quite easily.
__________________
Graham

We often repeat the mistakes we most enjoy...
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 30th August 2011
Wreckdiver's Avatar
Wreckdiver Wreckdiver is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: From Liverpool, live in Chippenham, Wiltshire.
Posts: 1,777
Thanks: 95
Thanked 85 Times in 80 Posts
Likes: 122
Liked 132 Times in 74 Posts
Re: Running an E-5 off the mains

If you wanted to extend the run-time of a single battery you could always use an HLD-4 with 2 batteries.

Steve
__________________
Old divers never die, they just go down on old wrecks
Take nothing but photographs, leave nothing but bubbles
My website
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 30th August 2011
Zuiko's Avatar
Zuiko Zuiko is online now
Administrator
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Dunmow, Essex
Posts: 22,276
Thanks: 1,999
Thanked 3,184 Times in 2,488 Posts
Likes: 3,485
Liked 4,547 Times in 2,163 Posts
Re: Running an E-5 off the mains

Just a thought, John. The pub TV isn't one of these new-fangled things with a card slot is it? I believe some TVs now have the facility of plugging an SD card in directly.
__________________
John

"A hundredth of a second here, a hundredth of a second there even if you put them end to end, they still only add up to one, two, perhaps three seconds, snatched from eternity." ~ Robert Doisneau
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 30th August 2011
Bikie John's Avatar
Bikie John Bikie John is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Wessex
Posts: 4,050
Thanks: 187
Thanked 666 Times in 587 Posts
Likes: 535
Liked 754 Times in 500 Posts
Re: Running an E-5 off the mains

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zuiko View Post
Just a thought, John. The pub TV isn't one of these new-fangled things with a card slot is it? I believe some TVs now have the facility of plugging an SD card in directly.
Nice idea but no such luck - that was my first thought. I wondered about running the slideshow on a laptop and plugging it through but that turned out to be remarkably challenging. Then I remembered the video cable that comes with the camera and always gets left in the box.

Ciao ... John
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 31st August 2011
Bikie John's Avatar
Bikie John Bikie John is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Wessex
Posts: 4,050
Thanks: 187
Thanked 666 Times in 587 Posts
Likes: 535
Liked 754 Times in 500 Posts
Re: Running an E-5 off the mains

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wreckdiver View Post
If you wanted to extend the run-time of a single battery you could always use an HLD-4 with 2 batteries.

Steve
Thanks for the comment Steve, I would be running it with the battery grip with 2 BLM-5s in. They wouldn't be fully charged though as they would have just shot a cricket match (100+shots) - and a couple of spare BLM-5s would also knock a hole in the bank balance.

I'm not sure because I haven't stress-tested it but I suspect the shutdown after half an hour is a decision made by the camera rather than the batteries dying. As Zuiko John hinted in an earlier post, the batteries and/or camera might get a bit warm after continuous running so it might be a good idea to let them cool down a bit anyway.

Thanks all for your suggestions ... John
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Running A Craft Stall Zuiko Exhibitions, stock photos, professional work 32 21st October 2011 05:18 PM
Still running cariadus Foto Fair 1 4th June 2011 02:46 PM
Is this possible: E-5 running on 12V? Dogcow General accessories 9 24th January 2011 11:35 AM
Help - the sun is running Slow! Nick Temple-Fry Foto Fair 1 2nd April 2008 10:15 PM
Powering flash from the mains? lauriek Flash 8 9th February 2008 12:30 AM


All times are GMT. The time now is 10:31 PM.


The Write Technology Ltd, 2007-2019, All rights reservedAd Management plugin by RedTyger