Olympus UK E-System User Group
Olympus UK E-System User Group

Join our unique resource for Olympus Four Thirds E-System DSLR and Pen and OM-D Micro Four Thirds photographers. Show your images via our free e-group photo gallery. Please read the e-group.uk.net forum terms and conditions before posting for the first time. Above all, welcome!


Go Back   Olympus UK E-System User Group > Cameras, lenses and system accessories > Software

Software Discuss Olympus Master, Studio and Viewer software applications as well as third party programs like Adobe Photoshop, Lightroom, Apple Aperture, and others.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 25th October 2015
Barr1e's Avatar
Barr1e Barr1e is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: 45kms NW of London
Posts: 4,460
Thanks: 326
Thanked 389 Times in 267 Posts
Likes: 1,244
Liked 855 Times in 282 Posts
Spyder2express

Hi -

I was rather fortunate that my ageing computer was replaced with an expensive birthday gift, which I am calling Chilli Monster. I am impressed with the wiring job (an extra).



Having spent quite a few hours this week getting things the way I want them when transferring data etc I have hit a snag with my old calibration unit.
After installing the program from disc I am hit with the message (snip below) which shows the Dell screen being used rather than the Spyder2express.
I have googled around and not found a solution and am hopeful a member may have the answer. I'm running Windows 10 64 bit.



Regards. Barr1e
__________________
Just like that - gone in a flash! Now in use.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 25th October 2015
Miketoll Miketoll is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Suffolk
Posts: 585
Thanks: 100
Thanked 87 Times in 61 Posts
Likes: 75
Liked 126 Times in 80 Posts
Re: Spyder2express

What OS are you using? I am fairly certain that the Spyder2express is only compatible with Windows XP and Vista. For a Mac it is compatible with Mac OS X: 10.4 (Tiger), 10.5 (Leopard), 10.6 (SnowLeopard)
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 25th October 2015
Barr1e's Avatar
Barr1e Barr1e is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: 45kms NW of London
Posts: 4,460
Thanks: 326
Thanked 389 Times in 267 Posts
Likes: 1,244
Liked 855 Times in 282 Posts
Re: Spyder2express

Hi Mark -

You probably looked in before I edited the post.

Windows 10 64bit.

The old machine which ran on Windows 7 was upgraded to Windows 10 with the Microsoft offer. Spyder2 ran without the problem I have now.

The new machine had Windows 10 64bit installed at the factory.

Thanks so much for replying.

Regards. Barr1e
__________________
Just like that - gone in a flash! Now in use.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 25th October 2015
timboo timboo is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Cambridgeshire
Posts: 931
Thanks: 77
Thanked 80 Times in 68 Posts
Likes: 77
Liked 130 Times in 88 Posts
Re: Spyder2express

Id send datacolour an email as the software doesnt specify windows 10 only states 64bit windows os.
Strange like u said though re it working previous with same os.
__________________
EM-1 MK1 - No website containing any of my photos until I'm good enough!
Reply With Quote
The Following User Liked This Post:
Barr1e (26th October 2015)
  #5  
Old 25th October 2015
Ross the fiddler's Avatar
Ross the fiddler Ross the fiddler is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Blue Mtns, NSW Australia
Posts: 14,231
Thanks: 2,090
Thanked 1,339 Times in 1,044 Posts
Likes: 5,535
Liked 2,181 Times in 1,163 Posts
Re: Spyder2express

Are there any new driver updates for Spider2express as you say you installed it from the disk?
__________________
Ross
I fiddle with violins (when I'm not fiddling with a camera).
Flickr: https://www.flickr.com/photos/ross-the-fiddler/
Cameras: OM-D E-M1 & Mk II, Olympus Stylus 1, OM-D E-M5.
Lenses: M.ZD7-14mm f2.8 PRO Lens, M.ZD12-40mm f2.8 PRO Lens, M.ZD40-150mm f2.8 PRO Lens, MC-14, MC-20, M.ZD12-50, M.ZD60 Macro, M.ZD75-300 Mk II, MMF-3, ZD14-54 II, Sigma 150mm F2.8 APO Macro DG HSM.
Flashes: FL36R X2, FL50R, FL50.
Software: Capture One Pro 10 (& Olympus Viewer 3).
Reply With Quote
The Following User Liked This Post:
Barr1e (26th October 2015)
  #6  
Old 25th October 2015
Graham_of_Rainham's Avatar
Graham_of_Rainham Graham_of_Rainham is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Rainham
Posts: 8,185
Thanks: 647
Thanked 945 Times in 733 Posts
Likes: 2,298
Liked 1,602 Times in 925 Posts
Re: Spyder2express

The most likely reason is that you now have a different graphics card. While the monitor is the same, the way it presents the data is controlled by the graphics card.

I believe you will need to start from scratch, deleting any profiles that you have created and use only the default profile.

Good luck
__________________
Graham

We often repeat the mistakes we most enjoy...
Reply With Quote
The Following User Liked This Post:
Barr1e (26th October 2015)
  #7  
Old 26th October 2015
pdk42's Avatar
pdk42 pdk42 is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Leamington Spa
Posts: 5,710
Thanks: 370
Thanked 1,257 Times in 942 Posts
Likes: 150
Liked 6,007 Times in 1,955 Posts
Re: Spyder2express

It looks like the software is working as described. As Graham says, it's lost its profile info (probably due to a new graphics card). Have you tried running the re-calibration?
__________________
Paul
E-M1ii, Pen-F and too many lenses
flickr
Portfolio Site
Instagram
Reply With Quote
The Following User Liked This Post:
Barr1e (26th October 2015)
  #8  
Old 26th October 2015
peak4's Avatar
peak4 peak4 is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Buxton, Derbyshire.
Posts: 1,701
Thanks: 130
Thanked 221 Times in 186 Posts
Likes: 204
Liked 190 Times in 126 Posts
Re: Spyder2express

How many monitors are you using?
I believe this version of the program will only handle a single monitor.
I get a similar message on my Dell 4x3 which i use along side my Dell 16x9; the latter being the primary monitor.

I'd try dropping colourvision a mail, they were most helpful when I had a query.
In my case I'd moved the hardware (spider thingy) to my new machine and needed a new registration code to get it to work properly.
I just pointed out that I was decommissioning the old machine and would like the device to work on my new one.
__________________
Best Regards
Bill

The nearest I have to a home page.
http://www.flickr.com/photos/peak4/
They're Watching You!
Reply With Quote
The Following User Liked This Post:
Barr1e (26th October 2015)
  #9  
Old 26th October 2015
Barr1e's Avatar
Barr1e Barr1e is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: 45kms NW of London
Posts: 4,460
Thanks: 326
Thanked 389 Times in 267 Posts
Likes: 1,244
Liked 855 Times in 282 Posts
Re: Spyder2express

I sent in a request to datacolor regarding the problem this morning and had a lightning response (see below) - full marks to them.

Dear Barrie,

thank you very much for your message and your faith in Datacolor products.

Please note, that this is an older product which discontinued a few years ago and is no longer supported.
Furthermore, the 2nd generation Spyder sensor included has been construced more than 11 years ago and is therefore no longer compatible with latest display technologies,
such as LED-Backlight, Wide-Gammut and screens with a glossy surface.

A Spyder5 product will solve all your compatibility issues.

You can reach our online shop here:
http://spyder.datacolor.com/orders/

At the end of the ordering process, at check-out, simply type in your discount code:
tech20team
That way, we offer you a XXX off.

Best regards,


Raphael Graf

Customer Service Specialist
Imaging Color Solutions

Datacolor AG Europe
Loorenstrasse 9
8305 Dietlikon
Switzerland
http://spyder.datacolor.com


Want to learn more about color management?
Join our free online seminars: http://spyder.datacolor.com/webinars

======================================

So, the problem has been resolved.

Thanks all for your thoughts, help and suggestions - as usual the site shows it has many willing to help - appreciated.

Regards. Barr1e
__________________
Just like that - gone in a flash! Now in use.
Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Barr1e For This Useful Post:
Ross the fiddler (26th October 2015), Wee man (26th October 2015)
The Following Users Liked This Post:
Graham_of_Rainham (26th October 2015), IainMacD (30th October 2015), mstphoto (31st October 2015), OM USer (26th October 2015), Wee man (30th October 2015)
  #10  
Old 30th October 2015
Kiwi Paul
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Re: Spyder2express

If you are considering a new screen calibrator I recommend the Patone i1 pro, I have one and used to calibrate both my Dell monitors (Wide gamut), Patone and Dell have created an application for calibrating Dell monitors using the i1 Pro (if your monitor has a hardware lookup table you can calibrate it using that which is a preferred method). I have got excellent results with my monitors using the i1, the colour matching between them is very close, I also calibrated my old HP 24" monitor with the same results.

Paul
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 30th October 2015
Barr1e's Avatar
Barr1e Barr1e is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: 45kms NW of London
Posts: 4,460
Thanks: 326
Thanked 389 Times in 267 Posts
Likes: 1,244
Liked 855 Times in 282 Posts
Re: Spyder2express

Hi Paul -

Thanks for your suggestion.

Having used the Spyder2express over the years without problems, I ordered the Datacolor Spyder5Pro today from Wex.

Thanks again and I hope all is well with you.

Regards. Barr1e
__________________
Just like that - gone in a flash! Now in use.
Reply With Quote
The Following User Liked This Post:
Kiwi Paul (31st October 2015)
  #12  
Old 31st October 2015
Phill D's Avatar
Phill D Phill D is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Derbyshire
Posts: 9,966
Thanks: 1,200
Thanked 1,435 Times in 1,325 Posts
Likes: 1,081
Liked 2,418 Times in 1,140 Posts
Re: Spyder2express

See what good customer service does Olympus service take note!
Glad you are sorted now Barr1e.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 31st October 2015
Wee man's Avatar
Wee man Wee man is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Newcastle Co. Down N. Ireland
Posts: 8,002
Thanks: 2,392
Thanked 1,155 Times in 1,030 Posts
Likes: 281
Liked 1,234 Times in 804 Posts
Re: Spyder2express

Good outcome.
__________________
Ed

What if the Hokey Cokey is what its all about?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 05:07 AM.


The Write Technology Ltd, 2007-2019, All rights reservedAd Management plugin by RedTyger