Olympus UK E-System User Group
Olympus UK E-System User Group

Join our unique resource for Olympus Four Thirds E-System DSLR and Pen and OM-D Micro Four Thirds photographers. Show your images via our free e-group photo gallery. Please read the e-group.uk.net forum terms and conditions before posting for the first time. Above all, welcome!


Go Back   Olympus UK E-System User Group > Out of Focus area > The lounge

The lounge Relax, take a break from photo and camera talk - have a chat about something else for a change. Just keep it clean and polite!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 25th October 2013
StephenL's Avatar
StephenL StephenL is offline
Senior Pixelmonger
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Yorkshire Dales
Posts: 9,863
Thanks: 984
Thanked 1,126 Times in 921 Posts
Likes: 658
Liked 755 Times in 499 Posts
Connection problems

For about 5 hours I have been unable to log onto this forum, or the Four Thirds User forum, via Plusnet. The connection just dropped.

I can continue to browse other web sites, and can access the forum via 3G.

Any ideas?
__________________
Stephen

A camera takes a picture. A photographer makes a picture

Fuji X system, + Leica and Bronica film

My Flickr site
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 25th October 2013
peak4's Avatar
peak4 peak4 is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Buxton, Derbyshire.
Posts: 1,700
Thanks: 130
Thanked 221 Times in 186 Posts
Likes: 203
Liked 190 Times in 126 Posts
Re: Connection problems

DNS error on Plusnet maybe.
3G probably uses a different DNS server.
Have a look into using OpenDNS IP address on a temporary basis and see if that cures it
__________________
Best Regards
Bill

The nearest I have to a home page.
http://www.flickr.com/photos/peak4/
They're Watching You!
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 26th October 2013
StephenL's Avatar
StephenL StephenL is offline
Senior Pixelmonger
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Yorkshire Dales
Posts: 9,863
Thanks: 984
Thanked 1,126 Times in 921 Posts
Likes: 658
Liked 755 Times in 499 Posts
Re: Connection problems

Tried that, no different. Am tethered to my iphone just now. Cannot get plusnet to answer the phone.
__________________
Stephen

A camera takes a picture. A photographer makes a picture

Fuji X system, + Leica and Bronica film

My Flickr site
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 26th October 2013
Tradetalk's Avatar
Tradetalk Tradetalk is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Helmsdale
Posts: 99
Thanks: 32
Thanked 22 Times in 15 Posts
Likes: 13
Liked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Re: Connection problems

I have exactly the same problem on my iMac.

I can connect to the forum on my laptop which is hooked up to BT Home Broadband but on my desktop iMac which is on BT Business Broadband it simply will not connect although every other website is fine!

I'm beginning to wonder if it thinks that the E User group has something to do with illegal drugs and is censoring it!
__________________
Dave

'Always keep your expectations low ... then you won't be disappointed!'
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 26th October 2013
peak4's Avatar
peak4 peak4 is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Buxton, Derbyshire.
Posts: 1,700
Thanks: 130
Thanked 221 Times in 186 Posts
Likes: 203
Liked 190 Times in 126 Posts
Re: Connection problems

Have you tried clearing your browser cache and cookies, or alternatively using a different browser ?
__________________
Best Regards
Bill

The nearest I have to a home page.
http://www.flickr.com/photos/peak4/
They're Watching You!
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 26th October 2013
bilbo bilbo is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Lancashire
Posts: 1,079
Thanks: 255
Thanked 174 Times in 152 Posts
Likes: 148
Liked 205 Times in 110 Posts
Re: Connection problems

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tradetalk View Post
I have exactly the same problem on my iMac.

I can connect to the forum on my laptop which is hooked up to BT Home Broadband but on my desktop iMac which is on BT Business Broadband it simply will not connect although every other website is fine!

I'm beginning to wonder if it thinks that the E User group has something to do with illegal drugs and is censoring it!
It does sound like a DNS problem.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 26th October 2013
Tradetalk's Avatar
Tradetalk Tradetalk is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Helmsdale
Posts: 99
Thanks: 32
Thanked 22 Times in 15 Posts
Likes: 13
Liked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Re: Connection problems

Quote:
Originally Posted by bilbo View Post
It does sound like a DNS problem.
Thanks

Just disconnected the LAN Cable and connected to the Home Hub wireless via the inbuilt iMac wifi and all is well.

I've powered down the business broadband router and will try a restart to see if it cures it.
__________________
Dave

'Always keep your expectations low ... then you won't be disappointed!'
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 26th October 2013
peak4's Avatar
peak4 peak4 is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Buxton, Derbyshire.
Posts: 1,700
Thanks: 130
Thanked 221 Times in 186 Posts
Likes: 203
Liked 190 Times in 126 Posts
Re: Connection problems

Have you tried clearing your local dns cache?
http://docs.cpanel.net/twiki/bin/vie...ngBrowserCache
__________________
Best Regards
Bill

The nearest I have to a home page.
http://www.flickr.com/photos/peak4/
They're Watching You!
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to peak4 For This Useful Post:
Tradetalk (26th October 2013)
  #9  
Old 26th October 2013
Tradetalk's Avatar
Tradetalk Tradetalk is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Helmsdale
Posts: 99
Thanks: 32
Thanked 22 Times in 15 Posts
Likes: 13
Liked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Re: Connection problems

Hi Bill

Thanks for the link, tried that but no different.

The problem has to be with the BT-2700HGV hub. If I connect my laptop via that network wirelessly I still cannot access the site but switch to my Home Hub and I can!

I've checked the hub security settings and all seem fine this seems to be the only site it cannot find (just times out).
I may have to resort to ringing the BT Business helpline and waste the rest of today on hold!
__________________
Dave

'Always keep your expectations low ... then you won't be disappointed!'
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 26th October 2013
peak4's Avatar
peak4 peak4 is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Buxton, Derbyshire.
Posts: 1,700
Thanks: 130
Thanked 221 Times in 186 Posts
Likes: 203
Liked 190 Times in 126 Posts
Re: Connection problems

I've had similar things before with this site, hence suggesting using OpenDNS to see if that cures it. I presumed that previously there was a problem with some corruption in one of the BT DNS servers.
I couldn't access the site from my home PC, but it worked fine from work presumably because I was accessing the internet from a different IP address, I must have headed for a different DNS server.
I could actually still access the site from my home hub using my work laptop as that it set up to work via a VPN, hence again accessing the internet from a different IP address range.

I wonder if there is something odd in the way that Ian's sites are hosted.
For most other web sites, it is possible to access the site directly from its IP address.

From Windows "Start" "Run" type CMD to open a command prompt and type ping site address
i.e.
"ping" space "bbc.co.uk" which should respond with 212.58.251.195

typing this address into your browser directly, without http or www should take you straight to the site.

However, if I try that with this site, fourthirds-user, or dpnow the browser returns an error message.
__________________
Best Regards
Bill

The nearest I have to a home page.
http://www.flickr.com/photos/peak4/
They're Watching You!
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to peak4 For This Useful Post:
Tradetalk (26th October 2013)
  #11  
Old 26th October 2013
peak4's Avatar
peak4 peak4 is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Buxton, Derbyshire.
Posts: 1,700
Thanks: 130
Thanked 221 Times in 186 Posts
Likes: 203
Liked 190 Times in 126 Posts
Re: Connection problems

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tradetalk View Post
Hi Bill

Thanks for the link, tried that but no different.

The problem has to be with the BT-2700HGV hub. If I connect my laptop via that network wirelessly I still cannot access the site but switch to my Home Hub and I can!

I've checked the hub security settings and all seem fine this seems to be the only site it cannot find (just times out).
I may have to resort to ringing the BT Business helpline and waste the rest of today on hold!
I wonder again if that's because the home hub and the business hub access different DNS servers at your ISP
__________________
Best Regards
Bill

The nearest I have to a home page.
http://www.flickr.com/photos/peak4/
They're Watching You!
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to peak4 For This Useful Post:
Tradetalk (26th October 2013)
The Following User Liked This Post:
bilbo (26th October 2013)
  #12  
Old 26th October 2013
StephenL's Avatar
StephenL StephenL is offline
Senior Pixelmonger
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Yorkshire Dales
Posts: 9,863
Thanks: 984
Thanked 1,126 Times in 921 Posts
Likes: 658
Liked 755 Times in 499 Posts
Re: Connection problems

According to Plusnet, my (static) ip address has been put on the server's black list. I need to request the administrator to put me back on the white list. Someone must have been doing maintenance on the server and cocked things up.
__________________
Stephen

A camera takes a picture. A photographer makes a picture

Fuji X system, + Leica and Bronica film

My Flickr site
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 26th October 2013
bilbo bilbo is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Lancashire
Posts: 1,079
Thanks: 255
Thanked 174 Times in 152 Posts
Likes: 148
Liked 205 Times in 110 Posts
Re: Connection problems

Quote:
Originally Posted by peak4 View Post
I wonder again if that's because the home hub and the business hub access different DNS servers at your ISP
That's what I was thinking too...
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 26th October 2013
bilbo bilbo is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Lancashire
Posts: 1,079
Thanks: 255
Thanked 174 Times in 152 Posts
Likes: 148
Liked 205 Times in 110 Posts
Re: Connection problems

Quote:
Originally Posted by StephenL View Post
According to Plusnet, my (static) ip address has been put on the server's black list. I need to request the administrator to put me back on the white list. Someone must have been doing maintenance on the server and cocked things up.
Most bizarre!
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 26th October 2013
Tradetalk's Avatar
Tradetalk Tradetalk is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Helmsdale
Posts: 99
Thanks: 32
Thanked 22 Times in 15 Posts
Likes: 13
Liked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Re: Connection problems

Hi Bill

My only concern with trying the Open DNS service is whether it would have any effect on the other computer that uses the Business Hub. This is the server for our website (www.caarparts.co.uk) and handles all of the orders that come in automatically.

I have to say that I don't understand the full implications of DNS settings!

Thanks for your help.
__________________
Dave

'Always keep your expectations low ... then you won't be disappointed!'
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
No Connection Error Message scanny Olympus Pen E-PL1 1 13th January 2014 09:28 PM
French Connection Tordan58 Foto Fair 4 7th October 2012 06:55 AM
Connection to TV ?? grissley The lounge 14 21st June 2012 01:59 PM
E-620 to OLYMPUS MASTER 2 CONNECTION kolicky Olympus E-620/600 7 30th January 2012 08:19 AM
HELP! Local area connection fix Kiwi Paul Software 6 14th November 2010 08:06 PM


All times are GMT. The time now is 07:07 AM.


The Write Technology Ltd, 2007-2019, All rights reservedAd Management plugin by RedTyger