Olympus UK E-System User Group
Olympus UK E-System User Group

Join our unique resource for Olympus Four Thirds E-System DSLR and Pen and OM-D Micro Four Thirds photographers. Show your images via our free e-group photo gallery. Please read the e-group.uk.net forum terms and conditions before posting for the first time. Above all, welcome!


Go Back   Olympus UK E-System User Group > Cameras, lenses and system accessories > Accessory talk

Accessory talk Those important extra system components.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 23rd February 2017
Otto's Avatar
Otto Otto is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: North Yorkshire
Posts: 3,198
Thanks: 98
Thanked 288 Times in 253 Posts
Likes: 1,111
Liked 957 Times in 608 Posts
Remote (cable) shutter release

I wanted a remote release for my E-M5 Mk 1 but baulked at the high price of the genuine Olympus RM-UC1. Sixty quid for a button, a piece of wire and a USB plug seemed a little on the high side so I checked eBay and am now the proud owner of a Shoot RM-UC1 clone for the pricely sum of 3.75, postage included! It's well built and fully functional, and includes the locking function Olympus charges an extra tenner for.

There's been much criticism on this forum of Oly's excessive prices for accessories, notably lens hoods and AC adaptors. Even if this cheapo remote lasts a tenth as long as the genuine Olympus one I'm still quids in! I wonder how they justify these prices?
__________________
Regards
Richard
Reply With Quote
The Following User Liked This Post:
Tripleteer (23rd February 2017)
  #2  
Old 23rd February 2017
DekHog's Avatar
DekHog DekHog is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Dundee
Posts: 1,311
Thanks: 110
Thanked 120 Times in 82 Posts
Likes: 5
Liked 135 Times in 43 Posts
Re: Remote (cable) shutter release

They can't really justify them, but as long as people pay their asking price they'll happily keep charging it!

I don't think I've ever bought a genuine Olympus anything (apart from body & lenses) and have never had any problems at all......
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 23rd February 2017
dutch_mft_shooter dutch_mft_shooter is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Smile Re: Remote (cable) shutter release

I've bought the Pixel RC-201/E3 Shutter Cable Release with E3 Type Remote Terminal for Canon DSLR, which work really fine with my Olympus OM-D E-M1 Mark II. Amazon sells it for just 6.49. (Not allowed to send a link here )
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 23rd February 2017
Tripleteer's Avatar
Tripleteer Tripleteer is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Holmfirth
Posts: 18
Thanks: 6
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Likes: 4
Liked 1 Time in 1 Post
Re: Remote (cable) shutter release

Quote:
Originally Posted by Otto View Post
I wanted a remote release for my E-M5 Mk 1 but baulked at the high price of the genuine Olympus RM-UC1. Sixty quid for a button, a piece of wire and a USB plug seemed a little on the high side so I checked eBay and am now the proud owner of a Shoot RM-UC1 clone for the pricely sum of 3.75, postage included! It's well built and fully functional, and includes the locking function Olympus charges an extra tenner for.

There's been much criticism on this forum of Oly's excessive prices for accessories, notably lens hoods and AC adaptors. Even if this cheapo remote lasts a tenth as long as the genuine Olympus one I'm still quids in! I wonder how they justify these prices?
Just had one come in the post today,3.75 it works a treat.
Reply With Quote
The Following User Liked This Post:
MJ224 (23rd February 2017)
  #5  
Old 5th March 2017
Loup Garou's Avatar
Loup Garou Loup Garou is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Royal Wootton Bassett
Posts: 723
Thanks: 98
Thanked 44 Times in 44 Posts
Likes: 51
Liked 65 Times in 52 Posts
Re: Remote (cable) shutter release

I have the JJC branded one. Cannot recall how much I paid for it but certainly under 20. Works very well on the Pen-F.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 16th March 2017
chorleyjeff chorleyjeff is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Chorley
Posts: 200
Thanks: 2
Thanked 11 Times in 10 Posts
Likes: 0
Liked 43 Times in 30 Posts
Re: Remote (cable) shutter release

Quote:
Originally Posted by Otto View Post
I wanted a remote release for my E-M5 Mk 1 but baulked at the high price of the genuine Olympus RM-UC1. Sixty quid for a button, a piece of wire and a USB plug seemed a little on the high side so I checked eBay and am now the proud owner of a Shoot RM-UC1 clone for the pricely sum of 3.75, postage included! It's well built and fully functional, and includes the locking function Olympus charges an extra tenner for.

There's been much criticism on this forum of Oly's excessive prices for accessories, notably lens hoods and AC adaptors. Even if this cheapo remote lasts a tenth as long as the genuine Olympus one I'm still quids in! I wonder how they justify these prices?
Got mine yesterday.
It does not work.
Jeff
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 16th March 2017
IainMacD's Avatar
IainMacD IainMacD is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Drumnadrochit
Posts: 4,039
Thanks: 1,228
Thanked 552 Times in 493 Posts
Likes: 1,934
Liked 880 Times in 245 Posts
Re: Remote (cable) shutter release

Quote:
Originally Posted by chorleyjeff View Post
Got mine yesterday.
It does not work.
Jeff
Check it is pushed in far enough, the one I have is quite a tight fit!
__________________
Iain

E-M1, E-M1 II, E-M5 II, 7.5, 8-18, 12-40, 25, 40-150, 45, 60, 300

Website
Flickr
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 16th March 2017
chorleyjeff chorleyjeff is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Chorley
Posts: 200
Thanks: 2
Thanked 11 Times in 10 Posts
Likes: 0
Liked 43 Times in 30 Posts
Re: Remote (cable) shutter release

Quote:
Originally Posted by IainMacD View Post
Check it is pushed in far enough, the one I have is quite a tight fit!
Thanks for advice. But I pushed it as hard as I could but being a USB connection I didn't want to risk being too vigorous.
I am now looking at using my windows smart phone to do the remote, shake free, shutter release.
Jeff
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 17th March 2017
Otto's Avatar
Otto Otto is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: North Yorkshire
Posts: 3,198
Thanks: 98
Thanked 288 Times in 253 Posts
Likes: 1,111
Liked 957 Times in 608 Posts
Re: Remote (cable) shutter release

I found mine needed a bit of pressure to seat properly too. The same is true of the USB cable.
__________________
Regards
Richard
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 17th March 2017
alsuser alsuser is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: UK
Posts: 25
Thanks: 5
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Likes: 6
Liked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Re: Remote (cable) shutter release

Before Christmas, I managed to get a couple of Shoot branded ones from eBay for under 2 each (shipped from China). They both work fine on a E-PL7 and EM5 MKII. I have heard that some people have had issues with the connection on some of the 3rd party remotes so ended up taking a Stanley Knife to shave off some of the plastic around the plug to get a better connection
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 17th March 2017
pdk42's Avatar
pdk42 pdk42 is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Leamington Spa
Posts: 5,710
Thanks: 370
Thanked 1,257 Times in 942 Posts
Likes: 150
Liked 6,007 Times in 1,955 Posts
Re: Remote (cable) shutter release

I've switched to using my phone via wifi as a remote. Works well and I don't have to carry additional kit or risk wearing out the connector.
__________________
Paul
E-M1ii, Pen-F and too many lenses
flickr
Portfolio Site
Instagram
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 17th March 2017
chorleyjeff chorleyjeff is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Chorley
Posts: 200
Thanks: 2
Thanked 11 Times in 10 Posts
Likes: 0
Liked 43 Times in 30 Posts
Re: Remote (cable) shutter release

Quote:
Originally Posted by alsuser View Post
Before Christmas, I managed to get a couple of Shoot branded ones from eBay for under 2 each (shipped from China). They both work fine on a E-PL7 and EM5 MKII. I have heard that some people have had issues with the connection on some of the 3rd party remotes so ended up taking a Stanley Knife to shave off some of the plastic around the plug to get a better connection
Mine had a mini USB connector. Is that how your "shoot" remote release connects to the camera ?
With the help of this forum I have connected a remote release app on my smartphone so my crisis is over.
But at 2 a go I'll get one as an alternative reserve to the phone.
Jeff
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 17th March 2017
drmarkf's Avatar
drmarkf drmarkf is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Cambridge, UK
Posts: 5,647
Thanks: 360
Thanked 508 Times in 422 Posts
Likes: 2,219
Liked 1,281 Times in 728 Posts
Re: Remote (cable) shutter release

The only trouble with smartphone app triggers is that you have to fiddle about with cold fingers or hands if it's really cold and wet - at least opening up a finger tip!
Having a nice, positive, real button to click is easier, and best done via wireless or Bluetooth to save opening the ports to the elements as well.
__________________
Regards,
Mark

------------------------------
http://www.microcontrast.com
Too much Oly gear.
Panasonic GM5, 12-32, 12-35, 15. Laowa 7.5.
Assorted legacy lenses, plus a Fuji X70 & a Sony A7S.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 17th March 2017
chorleyjeff chorleyjeff is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Chorley
Posts: 200
Thanks: 2
Thanked 11 Times in 10 Posts
Likes: 0
Liked 43 Times in 30 Posts
Re: Remote (cable) shutter release

Quote:
Originally Posted by drmarkf View Post
The only trouble with smartphone app triggers is that you have to fiddle about with cold fingers or hands if it's really cold and wet - at least opening up a finger tip!
Having a nice, positive, real button to click is easier, and best done via wireless or Bluetooth to save opening the ports to the elements as well.
Also the wifi seems to use a lot of battery juice as I found when fiddling this evening. But. How do I get a positive real button to click ? What kit does that ?
Jeff
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 18th March 2017
alsuser alsuser is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: UK
Posts: 25
Thanks: 5
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Likes: 6
Liked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Re: Remote (cable) shutter release

Quote:
Originally Posted by chorleyjeff View Post
Mine had a mini USB connector. Is that how your "shoot" remote release connects to the camera ?
With the help of this forum I have connected a remote release app on my smartphone so my crisis is over.
But at 2 a go I'll get one as an alternative reserve to the phone.
Jeff
The connector should be the same as on the Olympus USB cable to connect to the PC to update firmware. If you search eBay for rm-uc1 and look at the cheapest, they should currently be around 2.09. The only thing with ordering from overseas is that it can take around 4 weeks to get to you but it's worth it for the cost saving.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Shutter release cable Homer Simpson Olympus Pen Lite E-PL5 9 11th October 2015 07:33 AM
For sale RM-CB1 remote cable release RogerRamjet For sale or wanted small ads 2 10th September 2014 09:21 PM
Sold Olympus RM-UC1 Remote Cable Release Smallcreep For sale or wanted small ads 2 27th August 2014 10:47 AM
remote shutter release cable colin stares Olympus E-500 10 16th July 2009 12:39 PM
Any suggestions for remote cable release for E-3...? theMusicMan Accessory talk 14 21st October 2008 05:05 PM


All times are GMT. The time now is 05:54 AM.


The Write Technology Ltd, 2007-2019, All rights reservedAd Management plugin by RedTyger