Olympus UK E-System User Group
Olympus UK E-System User Group

Join our unique resource for Olympus Four Thirds E-System DSLR and Pen and OM-D Micro Four Thirds photographers. Show your images via our free e-group photo gallery. Please read the e-group.uk.net forum terms and conditions before posting for the first time. Above all, welcome!


Go Back   Olympus UK E-System User Group > Cameras, lenses and system accessories > Software

Software Discuss Olympus Master, Studio and Viewer software applications as well as third party programs like Adobe Photoshop, Lightroom, Apple Aperture, and others.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 27th August 2016
Snookerman Snookerman is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Congleton
Posts: 142
Thanks: 39
Thanked 4 Times in 3 Posts
Likes: 12
Liked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Stick with Elements 6 or Upgrade

I am currently using an E520 though will be upgrading that soon and perhaps keeping it as a second body - I will either go for an E m1 (current or new one in Spring) or an E m10 mk11.

I tend to shoot at highest level of JPEG, though may be persuaded to try RAW.

I use Elements 6 and have for about 6 or 7 years or more. I tend to use it on basic settings on Edit/Quick. I admit I use it in a quite rudimentary way - cropping, highlights and shadows, red eye, a bit of contrast and colour, but I manage to do ok with it.

I have tried using it for removing or changing areas of a picture - but found this quite difficult. I've never got into layers or blurring or masks or anything like that. However, I do use lens filters a lot - primarily graduated and a polariser - and this helps a lot with some stuff I would otherwise need to do on the PC.

I am never going to be much of an expert at using the PC, though I would like to use a few more tricks - isolating areas to improve (esp skies) cropping out telephone wires etc. Doing that is going to have to be simple and I will either need a really good book, a simple to follow Youtube video or to go on a course. I don't want to get very complicated.

What are your suggestions and why from these options or others?

Stick with Elements 6
Buy a new upgrade to Elements
Lightroom
Capture 1
Something free
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 27th August 2016
benvendetta's Avatar
benvendetta benvendetta is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Pontypool, South Wales
Posts: 3,750
Thanks: 83
Thanked 297 Times in 262 Posts
Likes: 167
Liked 340 Times in 230 Posts
Re: Stick with Elements 6 or Upgrade

I would upgrade to the latest version of Elements. Inexpensive and the Raw converter will support the latest cameras. It has everything that most people axtually require.
__________________
Dave

E-M1 Mk2, Pen F, HLD-9, 17, 25, 45, 60 macro, 12-40 Pro, 40-150 Pro, 12-50, 40-150, 75-300, MC-14, MMF-3 (all micro 4/3rds), 7-14 (4/3rds), 50, 135 (OM), GoPro Hero 3, Novo/Giottos/ Manfrotto supports. Lowepro, Tamrac, Manfrotto, and Billingham bags.

External Competition Secretary, Cwmbran PS & Welsh Photographic Federation Judge
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 27th August 2016
Snookerman Snookerman is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Congleton
Posts: 142
Thanks: 39
Thanked 4 Times in 3 Posts
Likes: 12
Liked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Re: Stick with Elements 6 or Upgrade



Elements 14? I would hope that there was a disc version that allowed me to put it onto more than one machine.

I guess there is a lot improved from Elements 6. I take it that it will work fine on Windows 10.

Will my E520 still be supported?

Which is the best book to go with it?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 27th August 2016
shenstone's Avatar
shenstone shenstone is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Cardiff
Posts: 3,500
Thanks: 172
Thanked 340 Times in 260 Posts
Likes: 467
Liked 554 Times in 301 Posts
Re: Stick with Elements 6 or Upgrade

I would also suggest an upgrade - from 1 to 14 is a huge difference

re books I would not bother just google photoshop elements tutorial and you will get hundreds of hits of written descriptions and video's

If you want to start somewhere then Adobe do a good set to start with https://helpx.adobe.com/photoshop-el...tutorials.html

re disk version I am not sure what you mean, you can download the install and put it on a USB stick to install elsewhere, if you mean licence on multiple machines then I'm not sure as I have not tried to do that

if you decide to get more advanced then do look at http://thepluginsite.com/products/elementsxxl/ which puts a lot more features at your fingertips

Edit to answer more questions

yes 14 works on win 10
yes it will work on your 520 JPEG files just like any others
yes it will open your 520 raw files if you have any - it opens my E500 files

Regards
Andy
__________________
My Kit (OK I'm a hoarder...)
4/3 E500, E510, E30 + 35macro, 50macro, 7-14, 11-22, 14-45 (x2), 14-54, 40-150 (both types), 50-200, 70-300, 50-500,
m 4/3 EM1MkII + 60 macro, 12-100 Pro
FL20, FL36 x2 , FL50, cactus slaves etc.
The Boss (Mrs Shenstone) E620, EM10-II, 14-41Ez, 40-150R, 9 cap and whatever she can nick from me when she wants it

My places
http://www.shenstone.me.uk
http://landroverkaty.blogspot.com/
https://vimeo.com/shenstone
http://cardiffnaturalists.org.uk/
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 27th August 2016
Snookerman Snookerman is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Congleton
Posts: 142
Thanks: 39
Thanked 4 Times in 3 Posts
Likes: 12
Liked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Re: Stick with Elements 6 or Upgrade

Ok. Thanks.

I have Elements 6 not 1...but still a big change. I suspect they do a new one once or twice a year.

What I meant was. ..some Elements purchases mean you get a code to download, some you get a disc and can use it on none PC you own. I'd like to be able to use it on at least 2 machines. .a Desktop and a laptop. I am not sure if the code prevents you from doing that.

I take it that it works 32 and 64 bit.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 27th August 2016
Ricoh Ricoh is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Lancashire
Posts: 5,792
Thanks: 592
Thanked 421 Times in 373 Posts
Likes: 787
Liked 1,919 Times in 1,143 Posts
Re: Stick with Elements 6 or Upgrade

One of the issues with Elements is it only works in 8 bits. By comparison with LR6.5 I find Elements rather slow, same hardware i7 and separate graphics card. Don't know why that should be.
Actually thinking about it, the machine has 8G RAM, so I may need to shut LR down when I export to Elements, but with a resulting inconvenience as I always 'round trip'.
__________________
Steve

on flickr
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 27th August 2016
PeterBirder's Avatar
PeterBirder PeterBirder is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: BRAINTREE ESSEX
Posts: 5,950
Thanks: 1,760
Thanked 1,024 Times in 854 Posts
Likes: 1,922
Liked 798 Times in 467 Posts
Re: Stick with Elements 6 or Upgrade

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ricoh View Post
One of the issues with Elements is it only works in 8 bits.
You are confused I'm afraid.
8 bits per pixel per channel is a characteristic of JPEG files not Elements. Any software operating on JPEGs will "only work in 8bits" and show histogram "levels" from 0 to 255 (which is eight ones in binary). ORF raw files on the other hand have 12 or 14 bits per pixel per channel which is why you can recover highlights by processing from raw. When a raw file is developed to a JPEG output after adjustment it is re-quantized to 8 bits.

Snookerman's question of whether Elements works with 32 and 64 bits relates to the computer operating system being 32 or 64 bit and the answer is yes it will work with both as will most if not all current software.

Regards.
__________________
Peter

she looked at me and said "It's official. I hate your camera. It's just so amazing and perfect I want one!"

E-M10 MK II, E-M5, E-PL1, E-PM2, mZ 12-50, mZ 14-42mm EZ, mZ 17mm f 1.8, mZ 25mm f1.8, mZ 45mm f1.8, mZ 75-300mm II.
OM1n, OM 50mm f1.8.
Oly Viewer3, Dxo Pro 11. FastStone.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 27th August 2016
Ricoh Ricoh is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Lancashire
Posts: 5,792
Thanks: 592
Thanked 421 Times in 373 Posts
Likes: 787
Liked 1,919 Times in 1,143 Posts
Re: Stick with Elements 6 or Upgrade

I only ever shoot RAW, whatever camera I'm using. When I export the developed image from LR to Elements a warning is splashed saying can only work in 8 bits do you wish to convert and continue. thats what I meant.
I wasn't talking about computer operating systems, i.e. 32 or 64 bits. That's irrelevant to the point I was raising.
__________________
Steve

on flickr
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Ricoh For This Useful Post:
PeterBirder (27th August 2016)
  #9  
Old 27th August 2016
shenstone's Avatar
shenstone shenstone is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Cardiff
Posts: 3,500
Thanks: 172
Thanked 340 Times in 260 Posts
Likes: 467
Liked 554 Times in 301 Posts
Re: Stick with Elements 6 or Upgrade

With elements XXL, Elements can work in 16 bit for most functions

details on the FAQ on how and where that works

http://thepluginsite.com/products/elementsxxl/faq.htm

regards
Andy
__________________
My Kit (OK I'm a hoarder...)
4/3 E500, E510, E30 + 35macro, 50macro, 7-14, 11-22, 14-45 (x2), 14-54, 40-150 (both types), 50-200, 70-300, 50-500,
m 4/3 EM1MkII + 60 macro, 12-100 Pro
FL20, FL36 x2 , FL50, cactus slaves etc.
The Boss (Mrs Shenstone) E620, EM10-II, 14-41Ez, 40-150R, 9 cap and whatever she can nick from me when she wants it

My places
http://www.shenstone.me.uk
http://landroverkaty.blogspot.com/
https://vimeo.com/shenstone
http://cardiffnaturalists.org.uk/
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to shenstone For This Useful Post:
Snookerman (2nd September 2016)
  #10  
Old 27th August 2016
Petrochemist Petrochemist is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: N Essex
Posts: 743
Thanks: 37
Thanked 85 Times in 78 Posts
Likes: 218
Liked 133 Times in 96 Posts
Re: Stick with Elements 6 or Upgrade

I'd upgrade to FastStone
It's Free, easy to use & covers all the basic stuff.

Elements is only worth bothering with if your using layers, masks & the like
__________________
Mike
Compulsive photographic Dabbler.
Flickr
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Petrochemist For This Useful Post:
Snookerman (2nd September 2016)
The Following Users Liked This Post:
Jim Ford (1st September 2016), PeterBirder (28th August 2016)
  #11  
Old 1st September 2016
PaulB PaulB is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Cheshire
Posts: 132
Thanks: 12
Thanked 37 Times in 29 Posts
Likes: 10
Liked 7 Times in 6 Posts
Re: Stick with Elements 6 or Upgrade

Quote:
Originally Posted by Snookerman View Post
I'd like to be able to use it on at least 2 machines. .a Desktop and a laptop.
Elements 14 can be installed on 2 machines but only used on one machine at a time. I suppose it's to stop you sharing a copy with a friend or family member.
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to PaulB For This Useful Post:
Snookerman (2nd September 2016)
  #12  
Old 2nd September 2016
Snookerman Snookerman is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Congleton
Posts: 142
Thanks: 39
Thanked 4 Times in 3 Posts
Likes: 12
Liked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Re: Stick with Elements 6 or Upgrade

As someone who would be a RAW noob, if I buy an M10 mk 11 and shoot RAW, what choices have I got with the images I can flick through on the camera screen?

Can you choose to see the pics as both a RAW and JPEG conversion if you want? This would be so that you could maybe post something quickly online or just to show family a good shot before you actually went to work on it properly with Elements later.
If I don't carry a laptop with me, it's good to have the facility to maybe do a temporary JPEG for some purposes - and to be able to work on it at leisure later.

Is the camera any good with in-camera RAW to JPEG conversion for temporary purposes or is something else suggested?
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 2nd September 2016
shenstone's Avatar
shenstone shenstone is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Cardiff
Posts: 3,500
Thanks: 172
Thanked 340 Times in 260 Posts
Likes: 467
Liked 554 Times in 301 Posts
Re: Stick with Elements 6 or Upgrade

The camera will allow you to store RAW+JPEG and you get 2 files on your PC for each picture. (I think this is apart from some of the special modes where multiple shots are taken in camera)

when you look on camera back you see the JPEG version so if you used a B/W filter that is what you see, but the RAW will be colour and you can use elements or anything else to try out different conversions on your PC

In my opinion 90% of well taken pictures are fine as the JPEG out of camera and I use them just resized and posted so the in camera conversion is excellent

the only downside of shooting RAW+JPEG is the doubling of disk/car usage, but then those are not expensive these days.

I work through all my pictures in faststone just looking at the JPEG's (you can turn raw on or of in options) and then if I want to process the Raw I swap to DXO (another raw processing tool that I prefer to elements) and then generate more JPEGs from there.

TBH I only use elements when I want to use layers, or advanced cloning etc. as I have done all the other tasks in other software but if you want just one tool it can do it all

regards
Andy
__________________
My Kit (OK I'm a hoarder...)
4/3 E500, E510, E30 + 35macro, 50macro, 7-14, 11-22, 14-45 (x2), 14-54, 40-150 (both types), 50-200, 70-300, 50-500,
m 4/3 EM1MkII + 60 macro, 12-100 Pro
FL20, FL36 x2 , FL50, cactus slaves etc.
The Boss (Mrs Shenstone) E620, EM10-II, 14-41Ez, 40-150R, 9 cap and whatever she can nick from me when she wants it

My places
http://www.shenstone.me.uk
http://landroverkaty.blogspot.com/
https://vimeo.com/shenstone
http://cardiffnaturalists.org.uk/
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to shenstone For This Useful Post:
Snookerman (2nd September 2016)
The Following User Liked This Post:
PeterBirder (2nd September 2016)
  #14  
Old 2nd September 2016
Snookerman Snookerman is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Congleton
Posts: 142
Thanks: 39
Thanked 4 Times in 3 Posts
Likes: 12
Liked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Re: Stick with Elements 6 or Upgrade

Thanks Shenstone. Then that's what I will do in camera - have two copies of each shot. I am intending to use 32gb scandiscs so I'd imagine I could store a large amount of files on those - over 500 of each, perhaps?

Presumably if I use a Cokin graduated filter or a polariser both shots show up as me having used it.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 2nd September 2016
shenstone's Avatar
shenstone shenstone is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Cardiff
Posts: 3,500
Thanks: 172
Thanked 340 Times in 260 Posts
Likes: 467
Liked 554 Times in 301 Posts
Re: Stick with Elements 6 or Upgrade

Yes anything you put in front of the lens, or in setting shutter speed and aperture will show up on both versions

Anything done after the image is captured in camera will not be done to the raw image which you can think of as a digital negative file which like old film negatives you can process in many different ways

Regards
Andy
__________________
My Kit (OK I'm a hoarder...)
4/3 E500, E510, E30 + 35macro, 50macro, 7-14, 11-22, 14-45 (x2), 14-54, 40-150 (both types), 50-200, 70-300, 50-500,
m 4/3 EM1MkII + 60 macro, 12-100 Pro
FL20, FL36 x2 , FL50, cactus slaves etc.
The Boss (Mrs Shenstone) E620, EM10-II, 14-41Ez, 40-150R, 9 cap and whatever she can nick from me when she wants it

My places
http://www.shenstone.me.uk
http://landroverkaty.blogspot.com/
https://vimeo.com/shenstone
http://cardiffnaturalists.org.uk/
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to shenstone For This Useful Post:
Snookerman (2nd September 2016)
The Following User Liked This Post:
PeterBirder (2nd September 2016)
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
E520 - stick, wait or upgrade now? Snookerman Micro Four Thirds 83 30th September 2016 04:31 PM
big log from a little stick IanB Foto Fair 5 22nd February 2016 04:13 PM
Stick or Twist (upgrade or wait)? tmy999 Olympus OM-D E-M1 8 12th May 2015 07:11 AM
Stick it all on and see what happens! IainMacD Converters, adapters and extension tubes 4 24th February 2014 08:16 PM
Adobe Elements & Premier Elements 11 jamie allan Software 4 22nd November 2012 04:07 PM


All times are GMT. The time now is 02:50 AM.


The Write Technology Ltd, 2007-2019, All rights reservedAd Management plugin by RedTyger