Olympus UK E-System User Group
Olympus UK E-System User Group

Join our unique resource for Olympus Four Thirds E-System DSLR and Pen and OM-D Micro Four Thirds photographers. Show your images via our free e-group photo gallery. Please read the e-group.uk.net forum terms and conditions before posting for the first time. Above all, welcome!


Go Back   Olympus UK E-System User Group > Cameras, lenses and system accessories > Camera conference > Olympus E-620/600

Olympus E-620/600 An Olympus 12.1MP mid-range compact DSLR, the E-620 and the feature-reduiced version, the E-600.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 18th June 2010
michaelavis michaelavis is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Maidenhead, Berks
Posts: 304
Thanks: 23
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Iso200?

I read in a mFT review that they perform better at ISO200 than ISO100 because the dynamic range was wider. I can't think where I saw it but it's been lodged in my head ever since. Ive taken to setting my P1 to ISO200 as its default but Im left wondering if my E600 should also default to ISO200 given it's got pretty much the same sensor.

I always thought lower the better when it came to ISO for obvious reasons. Anybody know what this is about or have I mis-interpreted something?
__________________
Michael.
E-P3, 14-42, VF-3
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 18th June 2010
theMusicMan's Avatar
theMusicMan theMusicMan is offline
E-3 Enthusiast....:)
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: South Wales
Posts: 5,878
Thanks: 143
Thanked 267 Times in 178 Posts
Likes: 8
Liked 30 Times in 19 Posts
Re: Iso200?

No, you've not misinterpreted anything, it's just the optimum ISO on the E3's sensor is ISO200, I guess though a different sensor, that it's the the same for the E620/600.
__________________
John

Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 18th June 2010
michaelavis michaelavis is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Maidenhead, Berks
Posts: 304
Thanks: 23
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Smile Re: Iso200?

Thanks for that - learn something everyday
__________________
Michael.
E-P3, 14-42, VF-3
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 18th June 2010
snaarman's Avatar
snaarman snaarman is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Baaarkshire UK
Posts: 6,824
Thanks: 493
Thanked 416 Times in 324 Posts
Likes: 489
Liked 1,285 Times in 496 Posts
Re: Iso200?

Yes. I almost always use ISO200, never lower, just sometimes higher if darkness dictates.

The theory is that (compared to ISO200) you hit the sensor with more light and turn the gain down when you set it to ISO100... In these circumstances it's a lot easier to saturate the sensor thereby knocking a bit off your dynamic range.

Going the other way, you starve the sensor of light at ISO800 but turn up the gain to get the picture back, and with it comes some noise. That's Physics for you.

I guess the idea is the sensor is optimised for ISO200 not ISO100 because its already clean enough at 200 (some may disagree here...). Having done that then its less of a stretch to get to ISO800, 1600 etc.

Does this make sense-or not ??

Pete
__________________
Look, I'm an old man. I shouldn't be expected to put up with this.


Pete's photoblog Misleading the public since 2010.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 18th June 2010
OlyPaul's Avatar
OlyPaul OlyPaul is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: West Midlands
Posts: 5,470
Thanks: 140
Thanked 715 Times in 577 Posts
Likes: 177
Liked 875 Times in 355 Posts
Re: Iso200?

The only real reason now for shooting lower than ISO200 is if you need a longer shutter speed .
__________________
Regards Paul.
One day I hope to be the person my dogs think I am.

https://www.flickr.com/photos/paul_silk/
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 18th June 2010
michaelavis michaelavis is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Maidenhead, Berks
Posts: 304
Thanks: 23
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Re: Iso200?

Quote:
Originally Posted by snaarman View Post
Yes. I almost always use ISO200, never lower, just sometimes higher if darkness dictates.

The theory is that (compared to ISO200) you hit the sensor with more light and turn the gain down when you set it to ISO100... In these circumstances it's a lot easier to saturate the sensor thereby knocking a bit off your dynamic range.

Going the other way, you starve the sensor of light at ISO800 but turn up the gain to get the picture back, and with it comes some noise. That's Physics for you.

I guess the idea is the sensor is optimised for ISO200 not ISO100 because its already clean enough at 200 (some may disagree here...). Having done that then its less of a stretch to get to ISO800, 1600 etc.

Does this make sense-or not ??

Pete
Makes total sense, even to me. Thanks Pete.
__________________
Michael.
E-P3, 14-42, VF-3
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 11:43 PM.


The Write Technology Ltd, 2007-2019, All rights reservedAd Management plugin by RedTyger