Olympus UK E-System User Group
Olympus UK E-System User Group

Join our unique resource for Olympus Four Thirds E-System DSLR and Pen and OM-D Micro Four Thirds photographers. Show your images via our free e-group photo gallery. Please read the e-group.uk.net forum terms and conditions before posting for the first time. Above all, welcome!


Go Back   Olympus UK E-System User Group > Cameras, lenses and system accessories > Camera conference > Olympus E-520

Olympus E-520 E-520 specific discussion.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 27th June 2009
Trausti Hraunfjord
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Locking AEL

Hi all.

I just purchased E-520, and would like to know how to lock the AEL, so that I don't have to hold the button down during the whole shoot session (over 30 photos used for panoramas). Of course there is the panorama function, but I would like to be able to lock it in AEL and in either M or P.

Any advice would be highly appreciated.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 27th June 2009
crimbo crimbo is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Shetland
Posts: 1,736
Thanks: 100
Thanked 149 Times in 130 Posts
Likes: 22
Liked 122 Times in 62 Posts
Re: Locking AEL

Turn to A and set the aperture you want
Look at the exposure time of the scene
Turn to M
set the exposure time that you just measured
Exposure is now fixed until you change something
__________________
chris
shetland
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 27th June 2009
theMusicMan's Avatar
theMusicMan theMusicMan is offline
E-3 Enthusiast....:)
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: South Wales
Posts: 5,878
Thanks: 143
Thanked 267 Times in 178 Posts
Likes: 8
Liked 30 Times in 19 Posts
Re: Locking AEL

If you're doing a multi-shot pano, don't forget that before you do this you should also set the WB to something other than Auto!
__________________
John

Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 27th June 2009
Trausti Hraunfjord
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Re: Locking AEL

Thank you's! I will have a go at this in the morning (half way there already).
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 27th June 2009
OlyPaul's Avatar
OlyPaul OlyPaul is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: West Midlands
Posts: 5,470
Thanks: 140
Thanked 715 Times in 577 Posts
Likes: 177
Liked 875 Times in 355 Posts
Re: Locking AEL

I have all my Oly's set up so that one press of the AEL button locks the exposure and another press of it unlocks it. In fact I have mine set up to suit my way of working, which is that using the shutter button to lock exposure uses the set metering mode at the time (usually ESP) and using the AEL button to lock exposure uses spot metering.

You will find this feature and how to use it in your manual. but it is usally found (depending on the model) under spanner 1 > spanner B to turn AEl lock on and spanner D to set the metering mode for that feature
__________________
Regards Paul.
One day I hope to be the person my dogs think I am.

https://www.flickr.com/photos/paul_silk/
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 27th June 2009
Ian's Avatar
Ian Ian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Hemel Hempstead, Hertfordshire, UK
Posts: 11,568
Thanks: 424
Thanked 2,522 Times in 1,269 Posts
Likes: 865
Liked 1,700 Times in 769 Posts
Re: Locking AEL

Quote:
Originally Posted by theMusicMan View Post
If you're doing a multi-shot pano, don't forget that before you do this you should also set the WB to something other than Auto!
This is very good advice if you are only shooting JPEGs, but (especially if you are using Lightroom or Aperture, where you can apply settings to a wide selection of images in one go) if shooting RAW there is no need to worry about white balance settings as you can correct the white balance easily and accurately when developing from RAW.

Ian
__________________
Founder and editor of:
Olympus UK E-System User Group (http://e-group.uk.net)
Four Thirds User (http://fourthirds-user.com)
Digital Photography Now (http://dpnow.com)
Olympus camera, lens, and accessory hire (http://e-group.uk.net/hire)

Twitter: www.twitter.com/ian_burley
Flickr: www.flickr.com/photos/dpnow/
Pinterest: www.pinterest.com/ianburley/
NEW: My personal BLOG ianburley.com
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 17th July 2009
Adagio's Avatar
Adagio Adagio is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Marchwood, Hampshire
Posts: 816
Thanks: 49
Thanked 40 Times in 36 Posts
Likes: 78
Liked 68 Times in 37 Posts
Re: Locking AEL

Quote:
Originally Posted by crimbo View Post
Turn to A and set the aperture you want
Look at the exposure time of the scene
Turn to M
set the exposure time that you just measured
Exposure is now fixed until you change something
I find it even easier to select M set the aperture you want, half press exposure button and adjust exposure level indicator to 0 or +- a bit by adjusting time. Exposure now fixed.
__________________
David


Flickr
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Locking up fault Ross Olympus E-3 16 3rd July 2009 03:11 PM
E-3 Locking Up? Dick Bowman Olympus E-3 3 18th December 2007 06:33 PM


All times are GMT. The time now is 06:52 AM.


The Write Technology Ltd, 2007-2019, All rights reservedAd Management plugin by RedTyger