Olympus UK E-System User Group
Olympus UK E-System User Group

Join our unique resource for Olympus Four Thirds E-System DSLR and Pen and OM-D Micro Four Thirds photographers. Show your images via our free e-group photo gallery. Please read the e-group.uk.net forum terms and conditions before posting for the first time. Above all, welcome!


Go Back   Olympus UK E-System User Group > Cameras, lenses and system accessories > Camera conference > Olympus E-5

Olympus E-5 E-5 specific discussion.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 13th February 2016
Ivor
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Generic shutter release cables stopped working

Hi,

I have successfully been using a generic shutter release/inervalometer on my E-5. It suddenly stopped functioning. I bought another and it does not work either.

If I lock the shutter release on the cable, the shutter on the camera will fire if I half the shutter release button on the camera.

The cable won't wake the camera up from 'sleep.'

I've tried unplugging and replugging, selecting

Is there something hidden in the menus that I haven't found? I suspect it is something in camera that has stopped working.

I can shoot Tethered using Olympus Studio and the USB port.

Thanks,

Ivor
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 13th February 2016
sapper sapper is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Leigh on Sea, Essex
Posts: 5,128
Thanks: 207
Thanked 462 Times in 263 Posts
Likes: 426
Liked 1,000 Times in 382 Posts
Re: Generic shutter release cables stopped working

Is the release set on 'bulb'?
__________________
Dave
Reply With Quote
The Following User Liked This Post:
Ivor (13th February 2016)
  #3  
Old 13th February 2016
Graham_of_Rainham's Avatar
Graham_of_Rainham Graham_of_Rainham is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Rainham
Posts: 8,229
Thanks: 647
Thanked 951 Times in 735 Posts
Likes: 2,316
Liked 1,626 Times in 938 Posts
Re: Generic shutter release cables stopped working

One of the best features on the E-5 is the two-button re-set...

If Studio is working OK then I expect there's a problem with the "generic" kit.
__________________
Graham

We often repeat the mistakes we most enjoy...
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 13th February 2016
Ivor
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Re: Generic shutter release cables stopped working

Thanks for the replies.

Two button reset? What's that? (The open door, switch on, hold OK and Menu doesn't work on the E-5. Is there another method of doing a factory reset?)

EDIT: Found it. ISO and +/- buttons. Done a reset and it sill doesn't work.

I've tried all the different settings on the intervalometer/release cable and no joy.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 13th February 2016
Imageryone Imageryone is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Suffolk,England
Posts: 4,934
Thanks: 1,101
Thanked 797 Times in 755 Posts
Likes: 656
Liked 564 Times in 336 Posts
Re: Generic shutter release cables stopped working

Is this a wired remote ?
__________________
The picture tells the story, great when you have a bad memory.DW.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 13th February 2016
Ivor
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Re: Generic shutter release cables stopped working

Yes, it is wired. Connects to the three pin socket under the little cap on the side of the camera. The two remotes are exhibiting exactly the same behaviour.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 13th February 2016
David M's Avatar
David M David M is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: A Brit now living in Ontario, Canada.
Posts: 6,624
Thanks: 39
Thanked 678 Times in 640 Posts
Likes: 254
Liked 1,345 Times in 802 Posts
Re: Generic shutter release cables stopped working

If it's a wired remote have you checked the pins in the socket? Some generic wired remotes have damaged the pins on the single digit models.
__________________
It's the image that's important, not the tools used to make it.

David M's Photoblog
Reply With Quote
The Following User Liked This Post:
Ivor (13th February 2016)
  #8  
Old 13th February 2016
Ivor
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Re: Generic shutter release cables stopped working

Yes, I have checked those and they look fine. None are loose.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 13th February 2016
Graham_of_Rainham's Avatar
Graham_of_Rainham Graham_of_Rainham is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Rainham
Posts: 8,229
Thanks: 647
Thanked 951 Times in 735 Posts
Likes: 2,316
Liked 1,626 Times in 938 Posts
Re: Generic shutter release cables stopped working

I'd be tempted to try testing the wires on the release, with a meter.

I have a spare cable that plugs into the camera and has a 2.5mm jack plug on the other end, with the 3 "standard" connections (Tip, Middle, Base)

By shorting Base to Middle the camera finds focus, then shorting Base to Tip the Shutter Fires.

You can borrow that to test camera function, if you like.

__________________
Graham

We often repeat the mistakes we most enjoy...
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Graham_of_Rainham For This Useful Post:
The Following User Liked This Post:
Ivor (13th February 2016)
  #10  
Old 13th February 2016
Ivor
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Re: Generic shutter release cables stopped working

Quote:
Originally Posted by Graham_of_Rainham View Post
I'd be tempted to try testing the wires on the release, with a meter.

I have a spare cable that plugs into the camera and has a 2.5mm jack plug on the other end, with the 3 "standard" connections (Tip, Middle, Base)

By shorting Base to Middle the camera finds focus, then shorting Base to Tip the Shutter Fires.

You can borrow that to test camera function, if you like.

Thanks for that Graham. The newer of the two releases came with that same cable, so I will give it a go with that. I was a bit unsure about putting straight shorts across the terminals as I was not sure whether it required a direct short or a resistive one - I didn't want to blow up the camera's circuitry. I also didn't know which terminals did what. I do now!

Thank-you for that help.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 13th February 2016
Ivor
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Re: Generic shutter release cables stopped working

Okay,

Now I know what it wrong. It's the adapter cable that came with the new shutter release. I plugged the adapter into the socket on the camera and I could get it to focus but not shoot. I then tried shorting out the pins inside the socket and I can get it to both focus and shoot.

That the fault with the original intervalometer and the new one are the same is coincidence.

Thanks Graham_of_Rainham!

Ivor
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 13th February 2016
Imageryone Imageryone is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Suffolk,England
Posts: 4,934
Thanks: 1,101
Thanked 797 Times in 755 Posts
Likes: 656
Liked 564 Times in 336 Posts
Re: Generic shutter release cables stopped working

If the worse happens, Ivor, I have a spare Olympus release you are more than welcome to borrow for the cost of postage to see if that works.
__________________
The picture tells the story, great when you have a bad memory.DW.
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Imageryone For This Useful Post:
The Following Users Liked This Post:
Graham_of_Rainham (13th February 2016), Ivor (13th February 2016)
  #13  
Old 13th February 2016
Ivor
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Re: Generic shutter release cables stopped working

Thank-you Imageryone. That's very kind. I have sent a p.m.

People here are great!
Reply With Quote
The Following User Liked This Post:
Graham_of_Rainham (13th February 2016)
  #14  
Old 13th February 2016
Graham_of_Rainham's Avatar
Graham_of_Rainham Graham_of_Rainham is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Rainham
Posts: 8,229
Thanks: 647
Thanked 951 Times in 735 Posts
Likes: 2,316
Liked 1,626 Times in 938 Posts
Re: Generic shutter release cables stopped working

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ivor View Post
...I was a bit unsure about putting straight shorts across the terminals as I was not sure whether it required a direct short or a resistive one - I didn't want to blow up the camera's circuitry. I also didn't know which terminals did what. I do now!

Thank-you for that help.
I've "modified" some of these to be activated by various switchs, both electronic and mechanical, so completely happy that a short is completely safe on that circuit.

Pleased to hear you have it sorted (somewhat)

__________________
Graham

We often repeat the mistakes we most enjoy...
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HELP! Remote shutter release not working Woody Olympus E-420 4 22nd November 2011 11:15 PM
HELP! My E-P1 Viewfinder has stopped working OperaNut1972 Olympus Pen E-P1 3 5th October 2010 10:21 AM
Olympus is dead! (My camera stopped working) roadkill_6mm Foto Fair 17 3rd October 2010 05:51 PM
My Camera Has Stopped Working! Zuiko The lounge 10 20th September 2010 08:40 AM
Camera stopped working sapper Olympus E-3 5 21st September 2009 02:23 PM


All times are GMT. The time now is 06:11 PM.


The Write Technology Ltd, 2007-2019, All rights reservedAd Management plugin by RedTyger