Olympus UK E-System User Group
Olympus UK E-System User Group

Join our unique resource for Olympus Four Thirds E-System DSLR and Pen and OM-D Micro Four Thirds photographers. Show your images via our free e-group photo gallery. Please read the e-group.uk.net forum terms and conditions before posting for the first time. Above all, welcome!


Go Back   Olympus UK E-System User Group > Cameras, lenses and system accessories > Software

Software Discuss Olympus Master, Studio and Viewer software applications as well as third party programs like Adobe Photoshop, Lightroom, Apple Aperture, and others.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #31  
Old 2nd August 2015
Miketoll Miketoll is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Suffolk
Posts: 582
Thanks: 100
Thanked 85 Times in 60 Posts
Likes: 75
Liked 126 Times in 80 Posts
Re: Windows 10

Quote:
Originally Posted by Woofmix View Post
I have a partition tool that enables me to change the partition sizes but this partition appears to be locked by the system and won't allow me to make any changes to it at all. It's a EFI boot partition.
I'll try to do a clean install of Win 10 at some stage, if it doesn't work I'll format the SSD reinstall Win 8 then upgrade to Win 10.

Paul
Yes I know it's locked, mine was too put the programme still did it. Set the new size, programme informed me it would have to reboot to carry out the enlargement, clicked OK, then a reboot followed during which it did it's magic and hey-presto that partition was enlarged.
Reply With Quote
  #32  
Old 2nd August 2015
Kiwi Paul
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Re: Windows 10

It's Minitool partition wizard I'm using, it can't expand the partition.

Paul

Quote:
Originally Posted by Miketoll View Post
Yes I know it's locked, mine was too put the programme still did it. Set the new size, programme informed me it would have to reboot to carry out the enlargement, clicked OK, then a reboot followed during which it did it's magic and hey-presto that partition was enlarged.
Reply With Quote
  #33  
Old 2nd August 2015
Miketoll Miketoll is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Suffolk
Posts: 582
Thanks: 100
Thanked 85 Times in 60 Posts
Likes: 75
Liked 126 Times in 80 Posts
Re: Windows 10

Quote:
Originally Posted by Woofmix View Post
It's Minitool partition wizard I'm using, it can't expand the partition.

Paul
Oops, sorry I was trying to be helpful!

In that case a clean install seems the only way.

My machines are not Dell, well one was a Dell with Vista on which I did a clean install of 7 on so in that sense does not count.
Reply With Quote
  #34  
Old 2nd August 2015
Kiwi Paul
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Re: Windows 10

Quote:
Originally Posted by Miketoll View Post
Oops, sorry I was trying to be helpful!

In that case a clean install seems the only way.

My machines are not Dell, well one was a Dell with Vista on which I did a clean install of 7 on so in that sense does not count.
I appreciate your help
I've emailed a couple of computer forums to see if anyone can advise but I'm not too hopeful. It's not Dells fault it the Acronis file thats causing the issue, I've also put a massage up on the Acronis forum.

cheers,

Paul
Reply With Quote
  #35  
Old 2nd August 2015
Jim Ford Jim Ford is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Watford, Herts..
Posts: 8,264
Thanks: 451
Thanked 583 Times in 505 Posts
Likes: 2,616
Liked 1,614 Times in 1,033 Posts
Re: Windows 10

Quote:
Originally Posted by Internaut View Post
Multiple desktops are also supported.
That one made me laugh when I saw it mentioned on the television the other day! Various 'flavours' of Linux have had it for many years.

Quote:
Nothing broken, so far.... More when I know more.
It's Windows - it'll break at some point!

Jim
Reply With Quote
The Following User Liked This Post:
Ross the fiddler (9th August 2015)
  #36  
Old 8th August 2015
shenstone's Avatar
shenstone shenstone is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Cardiff
Posts: 3,372
Thanks: 166
Thanked 318 Times in 242 Posts
Likes: 408
Liked 506 Times in 280 Posts
Re: Windows 10

Well I hit the at about 10 pm button tonight

it took 35 minutes and I have not found any issues yet - just back on-line now so I have not had a full look around, but it went smoothly

I just thought I should try the edge browser and it works fine here :-)

Regards
Andy
__________________
My Kit (OK I'm a hoarder...)
4/3 E500, E510, E30 + 35macro, 50macro, 7-14, 11-22, 14-45 (x2), 14-54, 40-150 (both types), 50-200, 70-300, 50-500,
m 4/3 EM1MkII + 60 macro, 12-100 Pro
FL20, FL36 x2 , FL50, cactus slaves etc.
The Boss (Mrs Shenstone) E620, EM10-II, 14-41Ez, 40-150R, 9 cap and whatever she can nick from me when she wants it

My places
http://www.shenstone.me.uk
http://landroverkaty.blogspot.com/
https://vimeo.com/shenstone
http://cardiffnaturalists.org.uk/

Last edited by shenstone; 8th August 2015 at 09:41 PM. Reason: from edge
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to shenstone For This Useful Post:
Ross the fiddler (8th August 2015)
  #37  
Old 8th August 2015
Internaut Internaut is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Manchester
Posts: 2,986
Thanks: 329
Thanked 314 Times in 293 Posts
Likes: 1,582
Liked 686 Times in 296 Posts
Re: Windows 10

I've heard a couple of horror stories from Samsung PC owners. Both Samsung and Sony have a long history of none standard drivers that have been known to cause issues when upgrading. If you're using something from Dell, HP, Acer, Asus, Lenovo or something you've thrown together yourself, then odds are (I think) pretty good. Overall, what I'm hearing from friends and colleagues is a mixed bag. I think it's safe to say odds are better, with a newer Windows 8 PC, than an older Windows 7 PC.

Remember, this isn't Apple. Microsoft somehow supports hardware that Microsoft has never seen!
Reply With Quote
  #38  
Old 9th August 2015
Miketoll Miketoll is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Suffolk
Posts: 582
Thanks: 100
Thanked 85 Times in 60 Posts
Likes: 75
Liked 126 Times in 80 Posts
Re: Windows 10

So far so good for me with two old Dell laptops (32bit and 64bit) one ancient desktop whose manufacturer went out of business about 10 years ago (32 bit, originally had XP on it then 7) and a more modern Chillblast.
The only Samsung item we have is a monitor connected to my wifes computer which is still running 8.1. The one problem I have read about is problems with NVidea graphics cards because Windows updates and NVideas own updates clash. Hope they get that sorted quickly as all our desktops have NVidea cards.

I find Edge works fine but I do not like it because it does not support any extensions so I cannot run things like a password manager or AV safe searches and such like so I am sticking to my usual Firefox.
Reply With Quote
  #39  
Old 9th August 2015
Kiwi Paul
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Re: Windows 10

Quote:
Originally Posted by Miketoll View Post
Oops, sorry I was trying to be helpful!

In that case a clean install seems the only way.

My machines are not Dell, well one was a Dell with Vista on which I did a clean install of 7 on so in that sense does not count.
Update....

Managed to solve the issue with the EFI boot partition been full.
After assigning the EFI partition a drive letter I then had to open file manager (Windows explorer) with Admin rights, it opens without admin rights by default......

Open a command prompt,
taskkill .im explorer.exe /f
explorer.exe

Then open file manager and open the EFI dive, now I could delete the offending folder and file freeing up the disk space on that partition.

Then downloaded and installed Windows 10 yay

Easy when you know how, I was lucky, stumbled upon the solution just before I was about to reinstall the Dell recovery software meaning all my Apps would ahve needed to be reinstalled too.

Paul
Reply With Quote
The Following User Liked This Post:
Ross the fiddler (9th August 2015)
  #40  
Old 9th August 2015
Miketoll Miketoll is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Suffolk
Posts: 582
Thanks: 100
Thanked 85 Times in 60 Posts
Likes: 75
Liked 126 Times in 80 Posts
Re: Windows 10

Quote:
Originally Posted by Woofmix View Post
Update....Then downloaded and installed Windows 10 yay
Paul
Great, glad you found a way to do it in the end without having to do a clean install and having the time consuming hassle of re-installing all your programmes and apps.
I would have hoped that Microsoft put some automatic way of solving these installation problems into the upgrade package, there must be quite a few people out there who would just give up and miss out. Still at least you can enjoy that warm glow of satisfaction of having solved it!
Reply With Quote
  #41  
Old 10th August 2015
Otto's Avatar
Otto Otto is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: North Yorkshire
Posts: 2,976
Thanks: 91
Thanked 270 Times in 238 Posts
Likes: 1,024
Liked 862 Times in 550 Posts
Re: Windows 10

I attempted the upgrade on my Lenovo net-top. It told me to expect a ten-second check of the machine followed by agreement of the EULA. After ten minutes of a box saying "working on it" with very little apparent activity and no sign of an EULA I closed the window. Is this normal? I intend to have another go later today or tomorrow.
__________________
Regards
Richard
Reply With Quote
  #42  
Old 10th August 2015
Wally's Avatar
Wally Wally is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Land of the Prince Bishops
Posts: 3,779
Thanks: 257
Thanked 1,117 Times in 700 Posts
Likes: 522
Liked 1,460 Times in 729 Posts
Re: Windows 10

Kerching time has arrived
__________________
It's not what inspires us that is important, it's where the journey takes us.

Wally and his Collie with our Oly bits & bobs

Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Wally For This Useful Post:
Ross the fiddler (10th August 2015)
  #43  
Old 10th August 2015
Otto's Avatar
Otto Otto is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: North Yorkshire
Posts: 2,976
Thanks: 91
Thanked 270 Times in 238 Posts
Likes: 1,024
Liked 862 Times in 550 Posts
Re: Windows 10

Thanks John, I'm actually running Windows 7 with all updates installed. I'll check Defender status and try again. I don't use any antivirus products, I've always found ZoneAlarm and Mailwasher between them have been adequate protection, and the MacAfee AV software supplied with the machine actually prevented it from working properly so I removed it completely!

I have made a HDD image on a USB drive so if it all goes pear-shaped I should be able to restore the status quo.
__________________
Regards
Richard
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Otto For This Useful Post:
  #44  
Old 11th August 2015
Adagio's Avatar
Adagio Adagio is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Marchwood, Hampshire
Posts: 816
Thanks: 49
Thanked 40 Times in 36 Posts
Likes: 78
Liked 68 Times in 37 Posts
Re: Windows 10

Have just done upgrade from Win 8.1 on my desktop. Made backup image of boot drive "just in case". Apart from a slightly nervous moment or two when it seemed to hang on 25% for what seemed like an age it was an entirely smooth and painless experience. All my software and printers seem to work - am impressed.
__________________
David


Flickr
Reply With Quote
  #45  
Old 11th August 2015
shenstone's Avatar
shenstone shenstone is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Cardiff
Posts: 3,372
Thanks: 166
Thanked 318 Times in 242 Posts
Likes: 408
Liked 506 Times in 280 Posts
Re: Windows 10

I got around to testing my website under Edge today (the IE replacement for those not in the know yet)

it worked fine

regards
Andy
__________________
My Kit (OK I'm a hoarder...)
4/3 E500, E510, E30 + 35macro, 50macro, 7-14, 11-22, 14-45 (x2), 14-54, 40-150 (both types), 50-200, 70-300, 50-500,
m 4/3 EM1MkII + 60 macro, 12-100 Pro
FL20, FL36 x2 , FL50, cactus slaves etc.
The Boss (Mrs Shenstone) E620, EM10-II, 14-41Ez, 40-150R, 9 cap and whatever she can nick from me when she wants it

My places
http://www.shenstone.me.uk
http://landroverkaty.blogspot.com/
https://vimeo.com/shenstone
http://cardiffnaturalists.org.uk/
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Who uses & like Windows 8? Ross the fiddler Software 46 19th July 2013 11:28 AM
Anybody tried out windows 8 pro yet Daveart Software 31 27th December 2012 07:23 PM
Windows 7 Phill D Software 10 2nd August 2011 06:04 AM
HELP! Windows for Mac. andym Software 11 25th August 2010 04:10 PM
windows on mac sapper Software 14 2nd March 2010 10:08 AM


All times are GMT. The time now is 12:29 PM.


The Write Technology Ltd, 2007-2019, All rights reservedAd Management plugin by RedTyger