Olympus UK E-System User Group
Olympus UK E-System User Group

Join our unique resource for Olympus Four Thirds E-System DSLR and Pen and OM-D Micro Four Thirds photographers. Show your images via our free e-group photo gallery. Please read the e-group.uk.net forum terms and conditions before posting for the first time. Above all, welcome!


Go Back   Olympus UK E-System User Group > Cameras, lenses and system accessories > Lens focus

Lens focus The place to talk about your camera's glassware.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11th November 2008
Dicky
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
E300 focusing screen

ive just found on E-Bay a split image focusing screen for my E300 ( a bit liike they used to have in OM slr's)has anyone had any expieriencs fitting one of these ?? it's only £16 ic post so i am tempted as i use my old OM lenses often
is there any articals on changing focus screens anywhere ???
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12th November 2008
Naughty Nigel's Avatar
Naughty Nigel Naughty Nigel is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Land of the Prince Bishops
Posts: 9,910
Thanks: 406
Thanked 574 Times in 487 Posts
Likes: 3,421
Liked 2,415 Times in 1,589 Posts
Re: E300 focusing screen

I would check first that the E300's screen can be changed.

ASAIK, only the E1 (and possibly the E3) had interchangeable screens.

The E500 certainly cannot be changed, as it has LEDs embedded in it.
__________________
---------------

Naughty Nigel


Difficult is worth doing
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12th November 2008
Dicky
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Re: E300 focusing screen

ive just had a look at the KATZ EYE web page they say that the E300 screen they suply cannot be changed by non profesionals allso their screen for the E500.. thanx for the help
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12th November 2008
crimbo crimbo is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Shetland
Posts: 1,736
Thanks: 100
Thanked 149 Times in 130 Posts
Likes: 22
Liked 122 Times in 62 Posts
Re: E300 focusing screen

I did try a low cost split screen on an E400 and to be honest it was too low cost and slightly too thick so the focus point was not accurate... this was fun with the old 50mm f1.2!!
So i went back to the original screen and focus visually off that...though to be honest the focus point for that is not as tight as the old OM screens.
If Katz eye can change it then so can you but it can be nerve racking with shims flying out all over the place.
So my bottom lne would be dont bother unless it is essential.
I gather that there are autofocus adapters for manual lenses that have the appropriate circuitry in them but have no experience of then...
__________________
chris
shetland
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12th November 2008
Dicky
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Re: E300 focusing screen

i dont think i'kk bother it just looked a good buy if it had been as easy as changing the screens on my OM 1n and OM 4 used to be .i'll look out for the focus confirm 4/3 rds to OM adapters as i like to use my OM lenses and was considering getting more adaaptors to keep on the OM lenses instead of messing around with just one adaptor thanx
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12th November 2008
crimbo crimbo is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Shetland
Posts: 1,736
Thanks: 100
Thanked 149 Times in 130 Posts
Likes: 22
Liked 122 Times in 62 Posts
Re: E300 focusing screen

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dicky View Post
.... .i'll look out for the focus confirm 4/3 rds to OM adapters as i like to use my OM lenses and was considering getting more adaaptors to keep on the OM lenses instead of messing around with just one adaptor thanx
If you do get one tell us how you get on with it
__________________
chris
shetland
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 13th November 2008
HughofBardfield's Avatar
HughofBardfield HughofBardfield is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Great Bardfield, Essex, UK
Posts: 730
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Re: E300 focusing screen

IMHO the only focusing screens worth buying are Katz Eye. The one I had on my E500 was brilliant and worked perfectly. I can't speak for the E300 myself, but changing the E500 screen is actually quite easy (albeit scary). The LEDs are not affected, but you lose the little box markings around them. On the E510, you do lose sight of the LEDs (the main reason I sold my focusing screen when I upgraded to the E510). According to Katz Eye, the E300 is a different matter.

Having bought a cheap Chinese clone screen for my E1, I would not touch the Chinese clones again with a bargepole. The focusing was inaccurate and the metering was all over the place (ie inconsistently erroneous - consistent variation I could have lived with...).

I should point out that a number of people on one of Flickr Groups I Admin ( http://www.flickr.com/groups/om_four_thirds_adapter/ ) say they've had good results with Chinese clones, but Caveat Emptor.

As to the "focus confirm" adaptors, there is a current discussion thread on the above-mentioned group about these. Experiences vary... but there seems to be a concensus that they are quite fiddly.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Focusing issue geirsan Olympus E-500 4 27th August 2008 05:22 PM
Screen Protector HughofBardfield General accessories 7 18th June 2008 06:11 PM
FS2 Focus Screen, is it any good? theenigma Olympus E-1 7 1st April 2008 04:51 PM
Focusing issues with the E-510 Rawcoll Olympus E-510 20 12th March 2008 05:35 PM
E-3 Focusing probelms not mentioned in magazines in UK and USA? dennisg Olympus E-3 4 26th February 2008 10:07 PM


All times are GMT. The time now is 09:49 PM.


© The Write Technology Ltd, 2007-2019, All rights reservedAd Management plugin by RedTyger