Olympus UK E-System User Group
Olympus UK E-System User Group

Join our unique resource for Olympus Four Thirds E-System DSLR and Pen and OM-D Micro Four Thirds photographers. Show your images via our free e-group photo gallery. Please read the e-group.uk.net forum terms and conditions before posting for the first time. Above all, welcome!


Go Back   Olympus UK E-System User Group > Cameras, lenses and system accessories > Camera conference > Olympus E-620/600

Olympus E-620/600 An Olympus 12.1MP mid-range compact DSLR, the E-620 and the feature-reduiced version, the E-600.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 19th December 2010
snaarman's Avatar
snaarman snaarman is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Baaarkshire UK
Posts: 6,838
Thanks: 494
Thanked 417 Times in 325 Posts
Likes: 492
Liked 1,291 Times in 498 Posts
Doh! Custom reset woes

Is it just me or is Custom Reset 1 and 2 really difficult to get the hang of? (E600 E620, but I suspect this applies to most of the menus)

After a recent swap to spot meter and back to CW, I figured I would park these two as separate settings in the Custom reset slots. But the words Oly chose to use on the menu are really confusing.

You go to reset 1 and right click and it says "set" and "reset". OK... Is that reset as in reset the camera to this (erm) reset, or is it set, as in set the camera to this reset. I tried reset, now it says No Data. Aha. I can see what that meant. So, reset 1 -> reset means clear this custom reset.

Now I check my camera settings, and try to record them into custom reset 1. I do reset 1 -> set and it now has data. Excellent - I think I've put my settings in there. How do I prove it? Where is the button for "Use" this custom reset?

So as an experiment I try the "Reset" menu entry as opposed to the custom reset. Oh dear, that did a factory reset so now all the settings are wrong. Fortunately I have them recorded in a spreadsheet, so 10 minutes later I have it back as I want it.

Finally I worked it out. If you go to the point where you get the choice of reset 1 and reset 2... don't follow the tempting right arrow or you end up at paragraph 3 above. No, just click OK and you will "use" this custom reset, assuming you put data in it.

Why couldn't they have had words like "save" "erase" "use" instead of multiple and confusing instances of the word "reset"???

Grrr

Later I came across My mode 1 and 2. Can I use those? No, if I do I think I lose my DoF button. Wouldn't it be great if you could use my mode under those stupid scene settings on the top dial.... Woops, watch out. Flying Pig.

Pete

PS, I didn't really RTFM, even if I had it wouldn't have helped a lot.
__________________
Look, I'm an old man. I shouldn't be expected to put up with this.


Pete's photoblog Misleading the public since 2010.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 19th December 2010
StephenL's Avatar
StephenL StephenL is offline
Senior Pixelmonger
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Yorkshire Dales
Posts: 9,863
Thanks: 984
Thanked 1,126 Times in 921 Posts
Likes: 658
Liked 755 Times in 499 Posts
Re: Doh! Custom reset woes

I gave up on this function. I just couldn't get my old head round it.
__________________
Stephen

A camera takes a picture. A photographer makes a picture

Fuji X system, + Leica and Bronica film

My Flickr site
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 20th December 2010
Ross the fiddler's Avatar
Ross the fiddler Ross the fiddler is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Blue Mtns, NSW Australia
Posts: 14,065
Thanks: 2,081
Thanked 1,326 Times in 1,033 Posts
Likes: 5,425
Liked 2,134 Times in 1,140 Posts
Re: Doh! Custom reset woes

You also need to check the manual for function & settings that are storable in the custom reset & also my mode, because it can be frustrating when a certain setting you use is not included & after a custom reset, the item not included then has to changed back again.
__________________
Ross
I fiddle with violins (when I'm not fiddling with a camera).
Flickr: https://www.flickr.com/photos/ross-the-fiddler/
Cameras: OM-D E-M1 & Mk II, Olympus Stylus 1, OM-D E-M5.
Lenses: M.ZD12-40mm f2.8 PRO Lens, M.ZD40-150mm f2.8 PRO Lens, MC-14, MC-20, M.ZD12-50, M.ZD60 Macro, M.ZD75-300 Mk II, MMF-3, ZD14-54 II, Sigma 150mm F2.8 APO Macro DG HSM.
Flashes: FL36R X2, FL50R, FL50.
Software: Capture One Pro 10 (& Olympus Viewer 3).
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HELP! Factory reset on E-300 peak4 Olympus E-300 2 14th August 2010 11:08 PM
e-520 save custom settings? davidcassell Olympus E-520 9 3rd January 2010 10:01 AM
HELP! Computer Woes! Zuiko Software 13 17th November 2009 11:09 AM
Share your favourite 'Custom Reset' and 'My Mode' Settings Chillimonster Olympus E-3 6 23rd October 2008 02:34 PM
Custom avatars on the forum Ian Site news 0 28th November 2007 09:09 AM


All times are GMT. The time now is 03:45 AM.


The Write Technology Ltd, 2007-2019, All rights reservedAd Management plugin by RedTyger