Olympus UK E-System User Group
Olympus UK E-System User Group

Join our unique resource for Olympus Four Thirds E-System DSLR and Pen and OM-D Micro Four Thirds photographers. Show your images via our free e-group photo gallery. Please read the e-group.uk.net forum terms and conditions before posting for the first time. Above all, welcome!


Go Back   Olympus UK E-System User Group > Cameras, lenses and system accessories > Camera conference > Micro Four Thirds > Olympus OM-D E-M10

Olympus OM-D E-M10 The smallest and lightest Micro Four Thirds camera from Olympus with an integrated Electronic Viewfinder

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 24th January 2015
Jim Gordon Jim Gordon is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Cumbria, UK
Posts: 131
Thanks: 3
Thanked 20 Times in 19 Posts
Likes: 3
Liked 48 Times in 18 Posts
can you connect to E-M10 via a laptop?

I know that you can do it using the OLY share app on a smartphone, but can't find any way of doing it with a laptop via wireless.

I am assuming that as long as you had the ssid and password, the laptop would pick up an IP address by DHCP, then if you had the Network address you could browse to the camera via a web browser ?

Has anyone got the info needed ?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 24th January 2015
Ross the fiddler's Avatar
Ross the fiddler Ross the fiddler is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Blue Mtns, NSW Australia
Posts: 14,321
Thanks: 2,098
Thanked 1,344 Times in 1,049 Posts
Likes: 5,602
Liked 2,225 Times in 1,175 Posts
Re: can you connect to E-M10 via a laptop?

Today is your lucky day because there is a third party program that does it well. https://rebs.biz/cc/en/index.html

You might try asking Graham of Rainham about it as I believe he uses it.
__________________
Ross
I fiddle with violins (when I'm not fiddling with a camera).
Flickr: https://www.flickr.com/photos/ross-the-fiddler/
Cameras: OM-D E-M1 & Mk II, Olympus Stylus 1, OM-D E-M5.
Lenses: M.ZD7-14mm f2.8 PRO Lens, M.ZD12-40mm f2.8 PRO Lens, M.ZD40-150mm f2.8 PRO Lens, MC-14, MC-20, M.ZD45mm f1.8, M.ZD12-50, M.ZD60 Macro, M.ZD75-300 Mk II, MMF-3, ZD14-54 II, Sigma 150mm F2.8 APO Macro DG HSM.
Flashes: FL36R X2, FL50R, FL50.
Software: Capture One Pro 10 (& Olympus Viewer 3).
Reply With Quote
The Following User Liked This Post:
Graham_of_Rainham (24th January 2015)
  #3  
Old 24th January 2015
Graham_of_Rainham's Avatar
Graham_of_Rainham Graham_of_Rainham is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Rainham
Posts: 8,223
Thanks: 647
Thanked 951 Times in 735 Posts
Likes: 2,313
Liked 1,624 Times in 937 Posts
Re: can you connect to E-M10 via a laptop?

Hi Jim,

I use the "Camera Control" (link above) and it works well. I set it up to only download small jpgs (shooting RAW+JPG) as the RAW files take a while to transfer.

You can as you say, connect directly to the camera via WiFi, but I only do that if I haven't got a USB cable or card reader as RAW transfers are slow.

I also use OiShare to the iPhone and transfer to the PC via iCloud or other iPhone/PC links.

It's all getting quite easy to do by these various means and most useful.

Any questions, get back to me...

__________________
Graham

We often repeat the mistakes we most enjoy...
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 24th January 2015
Jim Gordon Jim Gordon is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Cumbria, UK
Posts: 131
Thanks: 3
Thanked 20 Times in 19 Posts
Likes: 3
Liked 48 Times in 18 Posts
Re: can you connect to E-M10 via a laptop?

Thanks Ross/Graham....actually found the IP address of the camera on another site, so managed to do it (192.168.0.10).

will have a look at the link - I found a windows 8.1 app called 'camera control', but it only seemed to act as a remote trigger.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 24th January 2015
paullus's Avatar
paullus paullus is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: England.
Posts: 681
Thanks: 147
Thanked 117 Times in 72 Posts
Likes: 143
Liked 78 Times in 40 Posts
Re: can you connect to E-M10 via a laptop?

I posted a how to back in November but it's got very limited functionality.
http://e-group.uk.net/forum/showthread.php?t=35484

***Steve***
__________________
See some of my pictures at: http://www.flickr.com/photos/tagbartok/

https://picasaweb.google.com/tagbartok/


This is to remind myself that I'm sitting indoors instead of out there taking photos!
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 24th January 2015
IainMacD's Avatar
IainMacD IainMacD is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Drumnadrochit
Posts: 4,037
Thanks: 1,228
Thanked 552 Times in 493 Posts
Likes: 1,932
Liked 880 Times in 245 Posts
Re: can you connect to E-M10 via a laptop?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Graham_of_Rainham View Post
Hi Jim,

I use the "Camera Control" (link above) and it works well. I set it up to only download small jpgs (shooting RAW+JPG) as the RAW files take a while to transfer.

You can as you say, connect directly to the camera via WiFi, but I only do that if I haven't got a USB cable or card reader as RAW transfers are slow.

I also use OiShare to the iPhone and transfer to the PC via iCloud or other iPhone/PC links.

It's all getting quite easy to do by these various means and most useful.

Any questions, get back to me...

Hi Graham (or Ross)
I have tried this today but cannot get the Camera Control to connect with the E-M10? I downloaded the instructions which are in German and used Google translate but have got completely lost now!
Do you have any hints on a simple way to set it up?
Thanks
__________________
Iain

E-M1, E-M1 II, E-M5 II, 7.5, 8-18, 12-40, 25, 40-150, 45, 60, 300

Website
Flickr
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 24th January 2015
Jim Gordon Jim Gordon is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Cumbria, UK
Posts: 131
Thanks: 3
Thanked 20 Times in 19 Posts
Likes: 3
Liked 48 Times in 18 Posts
Re: can you connect to E-M10 via a laptop?

Ian,

I just pressed the wi-fi button on my camera, and then selected the camera from the 'Networks' list on my laptop. I didn't even have to enter a password.

my laptop is running windows 8.1, not sure whether that is relevent.

Rgds
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 26th January 2015
IainMacD's Avatar
IainMacD IainMacD is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Drumnadrochit
Posts: 4,037
Thanks: 1,228
Thanked 552 Times in 493 Posts
Likes: 1,932
Liked 880 Times in 245 Posts
Re: can you connect to E-M10 via a laptop?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim Gordon View Post
Ian,

I just pressed the wi-fi button on my camera, and then selected the camera from the 'Networks' list on my laptop. I didn't even have to enter a password.

my laptop is running windows 8.1, not sure whether that is relevent.

Rgds
Thanks Jim, oddly enough, once I rebooted the PC and did as you described it all worked perfectly??
I am quite impressed with this free software, but not sure how often I will use it?
__________________
Iain

E-M1, E-M1 II, E-M5 II, 7.5, 8-18, 12-40, 25, 40-150, 45, 60, 300

Website
Flickr
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 26th January 2015
Jim Gordon Jim Gordon is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Cumbria, UK
Posts: 131
Thanks: 3
Thanked 20 Times in 19 Posts
Likes: 3
Liked 48 Times in 18 Posts
Re: can you connect to E-M10 via a laptop?

I will probably use it for work more than anything. the fact that you can capture directly to a folder on the hard drive makes is useful for when I am surveying. (mostly low quality jpegs that don't require any processing)

I have also been trying to capture birds at the feeders by placing the camera and then using OI share as a remote trigger, but my phone screen keeps locking and when it doesn't I can hardly see anything anyway. My 19" laptop screen will be much better!
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 26th January 2015
Graham_of_Rainham's Avatar
Graham_of_Rainham Graham_of_Rainham is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Rainham
Posts: 8,223
Thanks: 647
Thanked 951 Times in 735 Posts
Likes: 2,313
Liked 1,624 Times in 937 Posts
Re: can you connect to E-M10 via a laptop?

I've got my laptop set up to automatically connect to the WiFi of the camera, whenever this is activated.

It works really well.
__________________
Graham

We often repeat the mistakes we most enjoy...
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
laptop sapper The lounge 25 2nd February 2015 08:15 AM
SanDisk Releases 64GB SanDisk connect wireless flash drive and enhances functionality across entire Digital Photography Now General photography news from DPNow.com 0 9th January 2014 07:00 PM
HELP! Connect E400 to Win 7 PC mitchell65 Software 21 6th June 2013 03:21 PM
New Laptop Rocknroll59 The lounge 1 27th December 2012 06:05 PM
Olympus Studio 1.3, Camra wont connect scanny Software 2 15th February 2008 11:01 PM


All times are GMT. The time now is 08:11 PM.


The Write Technology Ltd, 2007-2019, All rights reservedAd Management plugin by RedTyger