Olympus UK E-System User Group
Olympus UK E-System User Group

Join our unique resource for Olympus Four Thirds E-System DSLR and Pen and OM-D Micro Four Thirds photographers. Show your images via our free e-group photo gallery. Please read the e-group.uk.net forum terms and conditions before posting for the first time. Above all, welcome!


Go Back   Olympus UK E-System User Group > Cameras, lenses and system accessories > Software

Software Discuss Olympus Master, Studio and Viewer software applications as well as third party programs like Adobe Photoshop, Lightroom, Apple Aperture, and others.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 16th April 2008
Graham_of_Rainham's Avatar
Graham_of_Rainham Graham_of_Rainham is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Rainham
Posts: 8,102
Thanks: 642
Thanked 939 Times in 727 Posts
Likes: 2,263
Liked 1,580 Times in 910 Posts
Question Resize Question

Hi All,

What is the quick any easy way to resize a file from RAW to 512kb ready for upload to this site?

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 16th April 2008
Ian's Avatar
Ian Ian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Hemel Hempstead, Hertfordshire, UK
Posts: 11,563
Thanks: 421
Thanked 2,522 Times in 1,269 Posts
Likes: 862
Liked 1,692 Times in 768 Posts
Re: Resize Question

Quote:
Originally Posted by Graham_of_Rainham View Post
Hi All,

What is the quick any easy way to resize a file from RAW to 512kb ready for upload to this site?

Thanks
This rather depends on what software you are using. If you can give details, I can formulate a procedure for you.

I recommend uploading to around 800 pixels on the longest side of the image and aiming for a file size of no larger than around 200K.

Ian
__________________
Founder and editor of:
Olympus UK E-System User Group (http://e-group.uk.net)
Four Thirds User (http://fourthirds-user.com)
Digital Photography Now (http://dpnow.com)
Olympus camera, lens, and accessory hire (http://e-group.uk.net/hire)

Twitter: www.twitter.com/ian_burley
Flickr: www.flickr.com/photos/dpnow/
Pinterest: www.pinterest.com/ianburley/
NEW: My personal BLOG ianburley.com
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 17th April 2008
Graham_of_Rainham's Avatar
Graham_of_Rainham Graham_of_Rainham is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Rainham
Posts: 8,102
Thanks: 642
Thanked 939 Times in 727 Posts
Likes: 2,263
Liked 1,580 Times in 910 Posts
Re: Resize Question

Ian,

Thanks for the advice, that is useful. However...

I need to change the question a bit.

What is the best software (quickest and easiest) to convert RAW to Web-Post size pictures.

Preferably freeware or shareware (cheap) and able to do batch process of files would be useful

Thanks

Graham
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 17th April 2008
Ian's Avatar
Ian Ian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Hemel Hempstead, Hertfordshire, UK
Posts: 11,563
Thanks: 421
Thanked 2,522 Times in 1,269 Posts
Likes: 862
Liked 1,692 Times in 768 Posts
Re: Resize Question

Quote:
Originally Posted by Graham_of_Rainham View Post
Ian,

Thanks for the advice, that is useful. However...

I need to change the question a bit.

What is the best software (quickest and easiest) to convert RAW to Web-Post size pictures.

Preferably freeware or shareware (cheap) and able to do batch process of files would be useful

Thanks

Graham
I'd still like to know what photo editing software you use as it's possible that could be configured to work exactly as you need

I'm now using Adobe Photoshop Lightroom with increasing enthusiasm. You can set a preset that remembers the size of image, file format, colour space, compression, etc. and you can then output any number of selected images, which it will do automatically, one image after another.

If you have Photoshop, you can do something similar using Actions, though it's not as elegant and streamlined as Lightroom, but it can work very well.

As usual, I'd recommend that in Photoshop, don't use Save for Web if you wish to retain your image exif metadata info.

Ian
__________________
Founder and editor of:
Olympus UK E-System User Group (http://e-group.uk.net)
Four Thirds User (http://fourthirds-user.com)
Digital Photography Now (http://dpnow.com)
Olympus camera, lens, and accessory hire (http://e-group.uk.net/hire)

Twitter: www.twitter.com/ian_burley
Flickr: www.flickr.com/photos/dpnow/
Pinterest: www.pinterest.com/ianburley/
NEW: My personal BLOG ianburley.com
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 17th April 2008
Graham_of_Rainham's Avatar
Graham_of_Rainham Graham_of_Rainham is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Rainham
Posts: 8,102
Thanks: 642
Thanked 939 Times in 727 Posts
Likes: 2,263
Liked 1,580 Times in 910 Posts
Thumbs up Re: Resize Question

Ian,

As always that's really helpfull. Thank you

I have Elements 4, PS2, Master 2 and Picassa, each of which I use for different things (often on different computers)

Regards

Graham
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 17th April 2008
theMusicMan's Avatar
theMusicMan theMusicMan is offline
E-3 Enthusiast....:)
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: South Wales
Posts: 5,878
Thanks: 143
Thanked 267 Times in 178 Posts
Likes: 8
Liked 30 Times in 19 Posts
Re: Resize Question

I echo what Ian has suggested regarding Post Processing i.e. that Lightroom is indeed very hard to beat. One can create a 'preset' that does everything you want to an image, then export it at a certain size, pixel depth, etc - all with minimal clicks of the mouse.

I even have a plug-in for Lightroom that allows me upload images directly to my Zenfolio gallery account once I have processed them. I don't have to do any uploading from other applications - simply select an existing gallery, or even add the details for a new one, and let Lightroom do the rest.
__________________
John

Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 17th April 2008
Chillimonster
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Re: Resize Question

another Lightroom user here, but i ten to do my pics in batches using the synchronise tool (for example last night i shot raw, and deliberatley underexpose the pictures as it was indoor skiing, adjusted one then sync'd the batch)

But agree that the output features of Lightroom are hard to beat.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 18th April 2008
Graham_of_Rainham's Avatar
Graham_of_Rainham Graham_of_Rainham is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Rainham
Posts: 8,102
Thanks: 642
Thanked 939 Times in 727 Posts
Likes: 2,263
Liked 1,580 Times in 910 Posts
Re: Resize Question

Thanks guys,

Looks like Lightroom is going to get seriously "Looked at"

Regards

Graham
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 18th April 2008
Ian's Avatar
Ian Ian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Hemel Hempstead, Hertfordshire, UK
Posts: 11,563
Thanks: 421
Thanked 2,522 Times in 1,269 Posts
Likes: 862
Liked 1,692 Times in 768 Posts
Re: Resize Question

Quote:
Originally Posted by Graham_of_Rainham View Post
Thanks guys,

Looks like Lightroom is going to get seriously "Looked at"

Regards

Graham
There is a fully functional 30 day trial version available for download from the Adobe site. It has been difficult to log on since the 1.41 update was released last week, so good luck

Ian
__________________
Founder and editor of:
Olympus UK E-System User Group (http://e-group.uk.net)
Four Thirds User (http://fourthirds-user.com)
Digital Photography Now (http://dpnow.com)
Olympus camera, lens, and accessory hire (http://e-group.uk.net/hire)

Twitter: www.twitter.com/ian_burley
Flickr: www.flickr.com/photos/dpnow/
Pinterest: www.pinterest.com/ianburley/
NEW: My personal BLOG ianburley.com
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 18th April 2008
shenstone's Avatar
shenstone shenstone is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Cardiff
Posts: 3,372
Thanks: 166
Thanked 318 Times in 242 Posts
Likes: 408
Liked 505 Times in 279 Posts
Re: Resize Question

Quote:
Originally Posted by Graham_of_Rainham View Post
Ian,

Thanks for the advice, that is useful. However...

I need to change the question a bit.

What is the best software (quickest and easiest) to convert RAW to Web-Post size pictures.

Preferably freeware or shareware (cheap) and able to do batch process of files would be useful

Thanks

Graham
Faststone fits yout specifications by a mile !
http://www.faststone.org/FSViewerDetail.htm

Easy to install, free, Batch processing options are very good and it handles E500 ( which I believe you have) very well thanks...

Regards
Andy
__________________
My Kit (OK I'm a hoarder...)
4/3 E500, E510, E30 + 35macro, 50macro, 7-14, 11-22, 14-45 (x2), 14-54, 40-150 (both types), 50-200, 70-300, 50-500,
m 4/3 EM1MkII + 60 macro, 12-100 Pro
FL20, FL36 x2 , FL50, cactus slaves etc.
The Boss (Mrs Shenstone) E620, EM10-II, 14-41Ez, 40-150R, 9 cap and whatever she can nick from me when she wants it

My places
http://www.shenstone.me.uk
http://landroverkaty.blogspot.com/
https://vimeo.com/shenstone
http://cardiffnaturalists.org.uk/
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Elements 6 question Scapula Memory Software 16 7th April 2008 08:22 AM
New member with a question Steve Lane Introduce yourself 10 26th February 2008 01:23 PM
HDR Question Ijay37 Software 7 18th February 2008 09:08 PM
E3 question. Scapula Memory Olympus E-3 5 2nd February 2008 06:23 PM
Another 70-300 question steve518 Telephoto 0 6th December 2007 08:37 PM


All times are GMT. The time now is 10:16 PM.


The Write Technology Ltd, 2007-2019, All rights reservedAd Management plugin by RedTyger