Olympus UK E-System User Group
Olympus UK E-System User Group

Join our unique resource for Olympus Four Thirds E-System DSLR and Pen and OM-D Micro Four Thirds photographers. Show your images via our free e-group photo gallery. Please read the e-group.uk.net forum terms and conditions before posting for the first time. Above all, welcome!


Go Back   Olympus UK E-System User Group > Cameras, lenses and system accessories > Accessory talk

Accessory talk Those important extra system components.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 19th December 2017
Matt_Hirst Matt_Hirst is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: South Yorkshire
Posts: 104
Thanks: 10
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Likes: 12
Liked 14 Times in 9 Posts
Using a tripod

Ok, so my christmas present is a tripod and head Benro V1e and Benro TMA38.

My question is, do I have to alter any settings within the camera to use the tripod - or do I leave it all as is whether on the tripod or not.

Matt
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 19th December 2017
Ross the fiddler's Avatar
Ross the fiddler Ross the fiddler is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Blue Mtns, NSW Australia
Posts: 13,933
Thanks: 2,058
Thanked 1,309 Times in 1,024 Posts
Likes: 5,355
Liked 2,066 Times in 1,119 Posts
Re: Using a tripod

Quote:
Originally Posted by Matt_Hirst View Post
Ok, so my christmas present is a tripod and head Benro V1e and Benro TMA38.

My question is, do I have to alter any settings within the camera to use the tripod - or do I leave it all as is whether on the tripod or not.

Matt
Which model camera will be used on the tripod? Initially, it was always advised to turn off Image Stabilisation, but the later models seem to be fine if left on.

__________________
Ross
I fiddle with violins (when I'm not fiddling with a camera).
Flickr: https://www.flickr.com/photos/ross-the-fiddler/
Cameras: OM-D E-M1 & Mk II, Olympus Stylus 1, OM-D E-M5.
Lenses: M.ZD12-40mm f2.8 PRO Lens, M.ZD40-150mm f2.8 PRO Lens, MC-14, MC-20, M.ZD12-50, M.ZD60 Macro, M.ZD75-300 Mk II, MMF-3, ZD14-54 II, Sigma 150mm F2.8 APO Macro DG HSM.
Flashes: FL36R X2, FL50R, FL50.
Software: Capture One Pro 10 (& Olympus Viewer 3).
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Ross the fiddler For This Useful Post:
Matt_Hirst (22nd December 2017)
  #3  
Old 19th December 2017
Matt_Hirst Matt_Hirst is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: South Yorkshire
Posts: 104
Thanks: 10
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Likes: 12
Liked 14 Times in 9 Posts
Re: Using a tripod

It's an em1 mk2.

I recollect reading that it's best to turn off is, but can't find where I read it?

Regards,


Matt
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 19th December 2017
Otto's Avatar
Otto Otto is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: North Yorkshire
Posts: 2,970
Thanks: 91
Thanked 270 Times in 238 Posts
Likes: 1,022
Liked 858 Times in 549 Posts
Re: Using a tripod

Both my E-M5 mk1 and PEN-F manuals recommend IS is switched off when using a tripod. It's under "Cautions" on the IS page in the full manual. I often forget though and I haven't noticed any problems.
__________________
Regards
Richard
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Otto For This Useful Post:
Matt_Hirst (22nd December 2017)
The Following Users Liked This Post:
Jim Ford (19th December 2017), Ross the fiddler (19th December 2017)
  #5  
Old 19th December 2017
pdk42's Avatar
pdk42 pdk42 is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Leamington Spa
Posts: 5,710
Thanks: 370
Thanked 1,257 Times in 942 Posts
Likes: 150
Liked 5,995 Times in 1,953 Posts
Re: Using a tripod

I think the latest cameras can detect the fact that a tripod is in use and will automatically de-activate IS. I do a lot of tripod work with long exposure landscapes where any movement becomes very apparent. I never turn off IS and it works fine.
__________________
Paul
E-M1ii, Pen-F and too many lenses
flickr
Portfolio Site
Instagram
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to pdk42 For This Useful Post:
Matt_Hirst (22nd December 2017)
  #6  
Old 19th December 2017
MJ224's Avatar
MJ224 MJ224 is online now
Full member
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Carmarthenshire
Posts: 12,902
Thanks: 870
Thanked 680 Times in 632 Posts
Likes: 6,453
Liked 3,486 Times in 1,626 Posts
Re: Using a tripod

I usual just forget to switch the IS off, no significant problem seem (em1ii)..

Try both on and off to satisfy yourself which is best.........
__________________
My Sailing Page

My Flickr
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to MJ224 For This Useful Post:
Matt_Hirst (22nd December 2017)
  #7  
Old 19th December 2017
Matt_Hirst Matt_Hirst is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: South Yorkshire
Posts: 104
Thanks: 10
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Likes: 12
Liked 14 Times in 9 Posts
Re: Using a tripod

OK thanks guys, will just leave it as is and if I notice anything change it.

Matt
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 21st December 2017
Matt_Hirst Matt_Hirst is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: South Yorkshire
Posts: 104
Thanks: 10
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Likes: 12
Liked 14 Times in 9 Posts
Re: Using a tripod

Ok, so one other question I got a remote release - again for me to try.

So the scenario is your cameras up on a tripod, is the idea to manually focus and then use the remote release to take the shot or what or how do you set focus prior to taking a pic?

Sorry for asking possibly a stupid question.


Matt
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 21st December 2017
pdk42's Avatar
pdk42 pdk42 is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Leamington Spa
Posts: 5,710
Thanks: 370
Thanked 1,257 Times in 942 Posts
Likes: 150
Liked 5,995 Times in 1,953 Posts
Re: Using a tripod

I separate focus from the shutter for pretty much all the time (so-called back-button focus). It's almost essential for tripod use IMHO (short of using MF). If you want to try it, just Google back-button focus OMD and you'll likely find instructions. If you struggle, ping me and I'll put together some instructions.
__________________
Paul
E-M1ii, Pen-F and too many lenses
flickr
Portfolio Site
Instagram
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to pdk42 For This Useful Post:
Matt_Hirst (22nd December 2017)
The Following User Liked This Post:
Matt_Hirst (22nd December 2017)
  #10  
Old 21st December 2017
MJ224's Avatar
MJ224 MJ224 is online now
Full member
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Carmarthenshire
Posts: 12,902
Thanks: 870
Thanked 680 Times in 632 Posts
Likes: 6,453
Liked 3,486 Times in 1,626 Posts
Re: Using a tripod

Quote:
Originally Posted by Johnheatingman View Post
Hi Matt,

It's not a stupid question at all. I sometimes set up a tripod and camera to a pre-determined area such as a birds nest in the garden. I use a very cheap Chinese "wireless" remote release which has a key fob type control that will operate up to 100ft away from the camera. This simply acts the same way as the shutter button with a half press to focus and full press to take the shot. It's a very useful piece of kit with numerous uses but, I'm not sure if this is the type of thing you were thinking of though when you ask about a remote release. A cable remote release should have the same half press to focus and full press to take the photo.

Best regards
John
Is that for the Em1 ii John, Be good to have more details about that........

Mark j
__________________
My Sailing Page

My Flickr
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 21st December 2017
chris's Avatar
chris chris is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Yorkshire
Posts: 1,209
Thanks: 145
Thanked 69 Times in 62 Posts
Likes: 709
Liked 364 Times in 105 Posts
Re: Using a tripod

For my em10ii I use a Hahnel Giga T pro remote (not the same model as above) that I had also previously used on a epl2. It works either wired or wirelessly with a massive range. It also works as a programmable intervalometer. It’s a nice bit of kit if you’re looking for a wireless remote, but not the cheapest at about 40 - 50
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to chris For This Useful Post:
  #12  
Old 22nd December 2017
Bassman51's Avatar
Bassman51 Bassman51 is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: NJ, USA
Posts: 50
Thanks: 2
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
Likes: 5
Liked 18 Times in 14 Posts
Re: Using a tripod

When shooting landscapes or other things which don’t move from a tripod, I use the two second timer instead of a remote release. I also have a Custom Myset which sets the camera for this use:

2 second timer
Electronic shutter (Heart)
IBIS off
f/5.6
S-AF, Center point

I always use back-button focus, as described above. And of course, I might modify these default settings for a given image. For instance, in windy conditions I would leave IBIS on.
__________________
Instagram: TheBassmanBlog
My Blog: TheBassmanBlog.com
My Pictures: abbeyworks.smugmug.com
Reply With Quote
The Following User Liked This Post:
cedge (13th May 2019)
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Always use a tripod ..... Bengeo Foto Fair 20 7th July 2014 05:02 PM
WANTED Tripod for E3 banjukes For sale or wanted small ads 13 26th May 2014 09:13 PM
Tripod - should I get one? jalanb Accessory talk 16 28th January 2010 08:34 AM
70-300 on a tripod, the right way meach Telephoto 4 27th January 2010 06:26 PM
Tripod? Lisa Accessory talk 9 2nd July 2009 11:02 PM


All times are GMT. The time now is 11:05 AM.


The Write Technology Ltd, 2007-2019, All rights reservedAd Management plugin by RedTyger