Olympus UK E-System User Group
Olympus UK E-System User Group

Join our unique resource for Olympus Four Thirds E-System DSLR and Pen and OM-D Micro Four Thirds photographers. Show your images via our free e-group photo gallery. Please read the e-group.uk.net forum terms and conditions before posting for the first time. Above all, welcome!


Go Back   Olympus UK E-System User Group > Out of Focus area > The lounge

The lounge Relax, take a break from photo and camera talk - have a chat about something else for a change. Just keep it clean and polite!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 23rd June 2017
Invicta's Avatar
Invicta Invicta is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Third rock from the sun
Posts: 1,019
Thanks: 66
Thanked 241 Times in 124 Posts
Likes: 18
Liked 82 Times in 47 Posts
Virgin Media urges password change

If you have broadband from Virgin Media and are using the default password on a Super Hub 2 router check out this advice to change the default password to prevent a hacking risk.

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-40371373
Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Invicta For This Useful Post:
Jim Ford (23rd June 2017), OM USer (23rd June 2017)
  #2  
Old 23rd June 2017
Jim Ford Jim Ford is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Watford, Herts..
Posts: 8,263
Thanks: 450
Thanked 583 Times in 505 Posts
Likes: 2,616
Liked 1,614 Times in 1,033 Posts
Re: Virgin Media urges password change

I've got a Virgin 'Super Hub 2', but VM haven't yet bothered to contact me about the problem!

I'm not really concerned, as the Hub only feeds into my 'Tomato' router, which is pretty secure AFAIK.

Jim
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 23rd June 2017
OM USer's Avatar
OM USer OM USer is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: London
Posts: 12,022
Thanks: 2,371
Thanked 1,493 Times in 1,421 Posts
Likes: 6,169
Liked 1,405 Times in 896 Posts
Re: Virgin Media urges password change

If you don't have remote access enabled then there should (theoretically) be no way to log into your super hub from outside your network. Your default LAN network passwords are randomized for each hub and printed on the information plate. Presumably someone who makes the hubs will know (given the serial ID of each hub) what these passwords are but gaining that information is hacking the manufacturer and not the hub itself. The article does not mention which account (i.e. password setting) it is that needs changing so is not much help.

As with Jim my virgin hub only hooks into another router to provide me with my domestic LAN.
__________________
Cameras: E-M5, E-PM2, OM40, OM4Ti
Lenses (M.Zuiko Digital): 7-14mm/F2.8, 12-40mm/F2.8, 40-150mm/F2.8+TC1.4x, 12-50mm/F3.5-6.3, 14-42mm/F3.5-5.6 EZ, M.ZD 40-150 F4-5.6 R, 75-300mm/F4.8-6.7 Mk1, 12mm/F2, 17mm/F1.8
Lenses (OM Zuiko): 50mm/F1.2, 24mm/F2, 35mm/F2.8 shift
Lenses (OM Fit): Vivitar Series II 28-105mm/F2.8-3.8, Sigma 21-35mm/F3.4-4.2, Sigma 35-70mm/F2.8-4, Sigma 75-200mm/F2.8-3.5, Vivitar Series II 100-500mm/F5.6-8.0, Centon 500mm/F8 Mirror
Learn something new every day
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 23rd June 2017
Invicta's Avatar
Invicta Invicta is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Third rock from the sun
Posts: 1,019
Thanks: 66
Thanked 241 Times in 124 Posts
Likes: 18
Liked 82 Times in 47 Posts
Re: Virgin Media urges password change

I am not sure what model of super hub I have.

This is a quote from another news site

Quote:
To the extent that technology allows this to be done, we regularly support our customers through advice and updates and offer them the chance to upgrade to a Hub 3.0 which contains additional security provisions
From

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sciencete...passwords.html

If you are already on a Hub 3 that maybe why Virgin Media have not contacted you. I tried to phone Virgin Media but they just ran some automatic tests and asked me to ring back in 10 minutes via an automated message. I will try later and see if I can get past this automated response.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 23rd June 2017
Invicta's Avatar
Invicta Invicta is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Third rock from the sun
Posts: 1,019
Thanks: 66
Thanked 241 Times in 124 Posts
Likes: 18
Liked 82 Times in 47 Posts
Re: Virgin Media urges password change

Well I definitely do not have a Super hub 3, looks nothing like this:

https://www.broadbandchoices.co.uk/g...adband-routers
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 23rd June 2017
Invicta's Avatar
Invicta Invicta is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Third rock from the sun
Posts: 1,019
Thanks: 66
Thanked 241 Times in 124 Posts
Likes: 18
Liked 82 Times in 47 Posts
Re: Virgin Media urges password change

Done some research and spoke to Virgin Media support

Super Hub 1 - glossy black

Super Hub 2 - Matt black - This is the unit in the news item. Virgin Media recommend changing the password from the default which will fix the security issue

Super Hub 3 - White

Also not just the Virgin Media Super Hub 2 affected, other items are too including the Amazon Echo see this well known source of IT for a list of devices:

https://www.thesun.co.uk/tech/386583...password-risk/
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Alternative to Virgin Media's 'Catch Up' facility? Jim Ford The lounge 3 9th January 2017 01:51 PM
A Virgin in the evening sun timmypreston Foto Fair 7 7th October 2014 08:40 AM
eBay password issues Ricoh The lounge 11 4th June 2014 08:49 AM
Silver Virgin Zuiko Looking for improvement 39 30th September 2012 11:55 PM
Virgin Media tip for existing customers Ian The lounge 10 12th August 2012 11:00 AM


All times are GMT. The time now is 06:01 PM.


The Write Technology Ltd, 2007-2019, All rights reservedAd Management plugin by RedTyger