Olympus UK E-System User Group
Olympus UK E-System User Group

Join our unique resource for Olympus Four Thirds E-System DSLR and Pen and OM-D Micro Four Thirds photographers. Show your images via our free e-group photo gallery. Please read the e-group.uk.net forum terms and conditions before posting for the first time. Above all, welcome!


Go Back   Olympus UK E-System User Group > Cameras, lenses and system accessories > Camera conference > Olympus E-3

Olympus E-3 E-3 specific discussion.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 18th October 2009
Melaka's Avatar
Melaka Melaka is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Bucks
Posts: 2,153
Thanks: 746
Thanked 213 Times in 143 Posts
Likes: 652
Liked 272 Times in 112 Posts
Send a message via ICQ to Melaka
E3 problem

I have a 4Gb Extreme III card and, as fall back, a 2Gb XD card in my E3.

Last week I took a large number of photos using the CF card, leaving, I think, 79 unused frames. I have a vague recollection there were fewer frames showing than I had expected before I started, but cannot be sure. I copied the pix to the PC and then deleted them from the CF card using Windows.

This morning I switched on and only 79 frames were showing. I formatted the CF card but still only got 79. I switched to the XD and that showed 79 also. I took 11 pix on the XD and 24 on the CF at the end of which both cards showed 43. I took both cards out and inserted a 2Gb Extreme III which also showed 43 frames. I formatted that and still only got 43.

It appears the problem lies in the camera rather than the cards. Can anyone help please?
__________________
David

EM1i, EM5ii, EM10ii

Last edited by theMusicMan; 20th October 2009 at 12:32 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 18th October 2009
EH1
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Re: E3 problem

Have you tried to reset the camera? this often sorts problems out on the E-3.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 18th October 2009
Melaka's Avatar
Melaka Melaka is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Bucks
Posts: 2,153
Thanks: 746
Thanked 213 Times in 143 Posts
Likes: 652
Liked 272 Times in 112 Posts
Send a message via ICQ to Melaka
Re: E3 problem

Thank you. I've given it a try but just lost all my old settings without getting any more frames! It looks as if it will have to go back to Olympus.
__________________
David

EM1i, EM5ii, EM10ii
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 18th October 2009
Joop Joop is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Holland
Posts: 18
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Likes: 0
Liked 3 Times in 1 Post
Re: E3 problem

Quote:
Originally Posted by Melaka View Post
I have a 4Gb Extreme III card and, as fall back, a 2Gb XD card in my E3.

Last week I took a large number of photos using the CF card, leaving, I think, 79 unused frames. I have a vague recollection there were fewer frames showing than I had expected before I started, but cannot be sure. I copied the pix to the PC and then deleted them from the CF card using Windows.

This morning I switched on and only 79 frames were showing. I formatted the CF card but still only got 79. I switched to the XD and that showed 79 also. I took 11 pix on the XD and 24 on the CF at the end of which both cards showed 43. I took both cards out and inserted a 2Gb Extreme III which also showed 43 frames. I formatted that and still only got 43.

It appears the problem lies in the camera rather then the cards. Can anyone help please?
You have to format the cards in the camera, don't do anything in Windows then only copying to a folder. Also deleting in camera is better than deleting by Windows. The reason for this is that (small) bugs are repaired by Microsoft when you log on for an update while the software in the E-3 might have an other version of that program if they are the same, which I don't believe. Due to these upgrades small changes might be made to the toc of the card. This can give problems in the camera.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 19th October 2009
Melaka's Avatar
Melaka Melaka is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Bucks
Posts: 2,153
Thanks: 746
Thanked 213 Times in 143 Posts
Likes: 652
Liked 272 Times in 112 Posts
Send a message via ICQ to Melaka
Re: E3 problem

Thank you. The formatting was done in camera and I'm increasingly sure it's a camera issue not a card one as even cards that have not been used recently in the camera exhibit the same problem.
__________________
David

EM1i, EM5ii, EM10ii
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 19th October 2009
Nick Temple-Fry's Avatar
Nick Temple-Fry Nick Temple-Fry is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Wiltshire
Posts: 4,395
Thanks: 17
Thanked 190 Times in 142 Posts
Likes: 0
Liked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Re: E3 problem

Well, this a strange one.

I might try
  • shooting all 43 (or 79) and see if it recalculates (seems to do so in the last 10-15 shots)
  • trying a completely new card (the cheapest you can get in Tescos etc) just to rule out any card header corruption coming from your computer/card reader.
  • Taking out the battery for 48hrs +, just in case it's a memory field that's stuck.
Let us know how you get on - I think we are all intrigued.

Nick
__________________
Nick Temple-Fry

Medicine as a science ranks somewhere between archaeology and economics.

www.theChurchPhotographer.co.uk 90 Churches -- Fairford St Mary's, exceptionally splendid
www.temple-fry.co.uk
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 19th October 2009
Melaka's Avatar
Melaka Melaka is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Bucks
Posts: 2,153
Thanks: 746
Thanked 213 Times in 143 Posts
Likes: 652
Liked 272 Times in 112 Posts
Send a message via ICQ to Melaka
Re: E3 problem

Thanks. I fired off the remaining 43 shots until I got to zero. I then did a reset and formatted the card. Bingo it showed 256 frames (it was the 2Gb card). I've shot off a few and am now waiting to put in another card and see what that reads.
__________________
David

EM1i, EM5ii, EM10ii
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 19th October 2009
Nick Temple-Fry's Avatar
Nick Temple-Fry Nick Temple-Fry is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Wiltshire
Posts: 4,395
Thanks: 17
Thanked 190 Times in 142 Posts
Likes: 0
Liked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Re: E3 problem

Sounds promising - let's hope there is no relapse.

Nick
__________________
Nick Temple-Fry

Medicine as a science ranks somewhere between archaeology and economics.

www.theChurchPhotographer.co.uk 90 Churches -- Fairford St Mary's, exceptionally splendid
www.temple-fry.co.uk
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 20th October 2009
Melaka's Avatar
Melaka Melaka is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Bucks
Posts: 2,153
Thanks: 746
Thanked 213 Times in 143 Posts
Likes: 652
Liked 272 Times in 112 Posts
Send a message via ICQ to Melaka
Re: E3 problem

Phew! It seems to have worked. Many thanks to all who offered advice.
__________________
David

EM1i, EM5ii, EM10ii
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 20th October 2009
PeterD PeterD is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Portsmouth
Posts: 2,248
Thanks: 44
Thanked 88 Times in 73 Posts
Likes: 14
Liked 37 Times in 12 Posts
Re: E3 problem

David,

I had the same problem as you see http://e-group.uk.net/forum/showthread.php?t=5903

I re-formatted using the PC.
__________________
Best Regards

PeterD

www.imageinuk.com/
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 20th October 2009
Melaka's Avatar
Melaka Melaka is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Bucks
Posts: 2,153
Thanks: 746
Thanked 213 Times in 143 Posts
Likes: 652
Liked 272 Times in 112 Posts
Send a message via ICQ to Melaka
Re: E3 problem

Thanks for flagging that up - I had forgotten about it. I think the difference in my case was that all three cards (two CF and one XD) I tried showed the reduced number of available frames which is what led me to think it was a camera rather than a card problem.
__________________
David

EM1i, EM5ii, EM10ii
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 20th October 2009
PeterD PeterD is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Portsmouth
Posts: 2,248
Thanks: 44
Thanked 88 Times in 73 Posts
Likes: 14
Liked 37 Times in 12 Posts
Re: E3 problem

Quote:
Originally Posted by Melaka View Post
Thanks for flagging that up - I had forgotten about it. I think the difference in my case was that all three cards (two CF and one XD) I tried showed the reduced number of available frames which is what led me to think it was a camera rather than a card problem.
It may well be worth having a trouble shooting tips section on the site (Faqs). These sorts of issues which can easily be resolved are lost in the mountain of posts. What about it Ian?
__________________
Best Regards

PeterD

www.imageinuk.com/
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Problem Registering E-420 R MacE Olympus E-420 0 10th July 2009 04:06 PM
Anyone Had This Problem? E-3 EH1 Olympus E-3 2 27th May 2009 06:00 PM
Is this a problem on my E3? brob108 Olympus E-3 17 12th February 2009 08:08 PM
50-200SWD Problem knikki Lens focus 7 15th October 2008 03:15 PM
70-300 problem? Yorkie Telephoto 7 2nd December 2007 10:23 AM


All times are GMT. The time now is 06:41 AM.


The Write Technology Ltd, 2007-2019, All rights reservedAd Management plugin by RedTyger