Olympus UK E-System User Group
Olympus UK E-System User Group

Join our unique resource for Olympus Four Thirds E-System DSLR and Pen and OM-D Micro Four Thirds photographers. Show your images via our free e-group photo gallery. Please read the e-group.uk.net forum terms and conditions before posting for the first time. Above all, welcome!


Go Back   Olympus UK E-System User Group > Cameras, lenses and system accessories > Software

Software Discuss Olympus Master, Studio and Viewer software applications as well as third party programs like Adobe Photoshop, Lightroom, Apple Aperture, and others.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #91  
Old 22nd March 2019
OM USer's Avatar
OM USer OM USer is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: London
Posts: 12,379
Thanks: 2,432
Thanked 1,528 Times in 1,452 Posts
Likes: 6,371
Liked 1,448 Times in 925 Posts
Re: Olympus Workspace - Replacement for OV3

In OV3 under the RAW editing tab you could see the camera settings for White Balance, Picture Mode, Highlight/Shadow Control, Gradation, Contrats, Sharpness, Saturation, Noise etc. Against each of these labels is the camera setting in force i.e. ON/OFF, 0/1/2/3, LOW/MEDIUM/HIGH, Vivid/Natural/Portrait... etc and underneath is a dropdown box alllowing you to override the camera setting with one of your own choosing to revert back to "as shot".

I see no such "as shot" in Olympus Workspace. If open up a RAW file does it apply the camera settings to what you see? If you export (save) the RAW file as a JPEG will it be the same as the in camera settings JPEG or will it apply all the settings as the factory default?

For some settings like Picture Mode it does start with the camera setting in the drop down box (but no specific area to display the camera setting) and if you make a change by selcting another option the the tick box gets ticked to show you have made a change. Unticking the box reverts the drop down box back to the in camera setting but re-ticking the box does not put it back to the setting you had selected.

Some settings like Sharpness do not seem to know what the camera setting was and always start with the factory default.

And some settings like Noise Filter do not revert back when you untick the box.

Can anyone explain please? Is it me or is this all a backward step from OV3?
__________________
Cameras: E-M5, E-PM2, OM40, OM4Ti
Lenses (M.Zuiko Digital): 7-14mm/F2.8, 12-40mm/F2.8, 40-150mm/F2.8+TC1.4x, 12-50mm/F3.5-6.3, 14-42mm/F3.5-5.6 EZ, M.ZD 40-150 F4-5.6 R, 75-300mm/F4.8-6.7 Mk1, 12mm/F2, 17mm/F1.8
Lenses (OM Zuiko): 50mm/F1.2, 24mm/F2, 35mm/F2.8 shift
Lenses (OM Fit): Vivitar Series II 28-105mm/F2.8-3.8, Sigma 21-35mm/F3.4-4.2, Sigma 35-70mm/F2.8-4, Sigma 75-200mm/F2.8-3.5, Vivitar Series II 100-500mm/F5.6-8.0, Centon 500mm/F8 Mirror
Learn something new every day
Reply With Quote
  #92  
Old 23rd March 2019
Ross the fiddler's Avatar
Ross the fiddler Ross the fiddler is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Blue Mtns, NSW Australia
Posts: 14,236
Thanks: 2,090
Thanked 1,339 Times in 1,044 Posts
Likes: 5,539
Liked 2,182 Times in 1,164 Posts
Re: Olympus Workspace - Replacement for OV3

Quote:
Originally Posted by OM USer View Post
In OV3 under the RAW editing tab you could see the camera settings for White Balance, Picture Mode, Highlight/Shadow Control, Gradation, Contrats, Sharpness, Saturation, Noise etc. Against each of these labels is the camera setting in force i.e. ON/OFF, 0/1/2/3, LOW/MEDIUM/HIGH, Vivid/Natural/Portrait... etc and underneath is a dropdown box alllowing you to override the camera setting with one of your own choosing to revert back to "as shot".

I see no such "as shot" in Olympus Workspace. If open up a RAW file does it apply the camera settings to what you see? If you export (save) the RAW file as a JPEG will it be the same as the in camera settings JPEG or will it apply all the settings as the factory default?

For some settings like Picture Mode it does start with the camera setting in the drop down box (but no specific area to display the camera setting) and if you make a change by selcting another option the the tick box gets ticked to show you have made a change. Unticking the box reverts the drop down box back to the in camera setting but re-ticking the box does not put it back to the setting you had selected.

Some settings like Sharpness do not seem to know what the camera setting was and always start with the factory default.

And some settings like Noise Filter do not revert back when you untick the box.

Can anyone explain please? Is it me or is this all a backward step from OV3?
I don't think OWS is necessarily a backward step but does do things differently, although there may be somethings I might like to be more familiar but it's more a case of getting to know how to use OWS instead & its little foibles etc.

The following were two ways OV3 could edit raw files,

OV3 raw edit.jpg OV3 edit (JPEG & RAW).jpg

while OWS does it this way with all tabs accessible for various modes of editing.

OlyWorkspace edit.jpg

Note the WB values in Custom WB. It shows what the RAW file settings are.
The point you made about the Noise Filter not returning to previous setting (or 'As Shot') is not a disadvantage or fault because as soon as you 'untick' it you notice the image updating with the little wheel at the top left of the image, as it reverts back to 'as shot' Noise Filter. I do agree there are certain things that need to be refined (& fixed). The cropping is one area needing attention. If cropping the Original it does not maintain aspect or have the option to do so & if cropping from one of the selected aspects (4:3, 3:2 etc) it can only be cropped in the same aspect & not in portrait aspect if it is a landscape image when trying to change its size as it annoyingly changes back to landscape etc. Try it & see what I mean.
__________________
Ross
I fiddle with violins (when I'm not fiddling with a camera).
Flickr: https://www.flickr.com/photos/ross-the-fiddler/
Cameras: OM-D E-M1 & Mk II, Olympus Stylus 1, OM-D E-M5.
Lenses: M.ZD7-14mm f2.8 PRO Lens, M.ZD12-40mm f2.8 PRO Lens, M.ZD40-150mm f2.8 PRO Lens, MC-14, MC-20, M.ZD45mm f1.8, M.ZD12-50, M.ZD60 Macro, M.ZD75-300 Mk II, MMF-3, ZD14-54 II, Sigma 150mm F2.8 APO Macro DG HSM.
Flashes: FL36R X2, FL50R, FL50.
Software: Capture One Pro 10 (& Olympus Viewer 3).
Reply With Quote
  #93  
Old 23rd March 2019
OM USer's Avatar
OM USer OM USer is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: London
Posts: 12,379
Thanks: 2,432
Thanked 1,528 Times in 1,452 Posts
Likes: 6,371
Liked 1,448 Times in 925 Posts
Re: Olympus Workspace - Replacement for OV3

Ross, thank you for images showing what's going on.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ross the fiddler View Post
...Note the WB values in Custom WB. It shows what the RAW file settings are... The point you made about the Noise Filter not returning to previous setting (or 'As Shot') is not a disadvantage or fault because as soon as you 'untick' it you notice the image updating with the little wheel at the top left of the image, as it reverts back to 'as shot' Noise Filter.
The WB and the Noise Filter setting appear to have the same quirks. Yes, the applied setting does revert to the in-camera setting when you untick the little box.... but you don't know what thet setting was (unless you can remember it) making it difficult to move the setting up or down one notch from the in-camera setting. However if you click on a different thumbnail and then click back it does revert the drop down box display back to the in-camera setting. Given that OV3 told you explicitly what the in-camera setting was I feel that OWS is a backwards step in this regard. For those that shoot RAW with the default settings and do all changes in post then this will not be a problem.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ross the fiddler View Post
I do agree there are certain things that need to be refined (& fixed). The cropping is one area needing attention. If cropping the Original it does not maintain aspect or have the option to do so & if cropping from one of the selected aspects (4:3, 3:2 etc) it can only be cropped in the same aspect & not in portrait aspect if it is a landscape image when trying to change its size as it annoyingly changes back to landscape etc. Try it & see what I mean.
I just did... and it seems bizzare. My pedantic nature says that "original" cropping is free form (as that preserves the aspect ratio orientation if rotate the crop box and then adjust one side/corner) whereas if you select "16:9" then you must mean "16:9" and not "9:16".

If you are editing a RAW file in OWS then the "adjust colour" option is greyed out, when editing a JPEG there is no "noise" option. OV3 gave you distinct tabs for editing the RAW and the JPEG in the same view (the second of your images), the RAW tab corresponded closely with the camera options, and the JPEG options were always availabe to edit the rendered (developed) RAW. Why can't I "adjust colour" on my RAW file in OWS and where has the JPEG noise reduction gone? The in-camera and OV3 RAW tab options for sharpness and contrast range from -2 to +2, the OV3 JPEG Edit tab allowed you to further refine this with options from -7 to + 7 and -100 to +100. This has been rolled out to OWS with the RAW and JPEG edit options of OV3 being split depending on whether you are editing a RAW or JPEG and not giving you both sets when editing RAW. So, If edting RAW the "detail" sharpness goes from -2 to +2 (same as camera) and the "basic" contrast also goes from -2 to +2 (same as camera). If edting JPEG the "detail" sharpness goes from -7 to +7 (same as OV3 jpeg edit tab) and the "basic" contrast goes from -100 to +100 (same as OV3 jpeg edit tab). Why should the values change depending on the file type you are editing?

Here is an example workflow. I set up some in-camera options and create both the RAW and JPEG. I edit the JPEG and refine it and save it. In OV3 I can go back to the RAW, apply the in-camera settings (by not overwriting them), make the same JPEG refine edits, and save that to get an identical JPEG. In OWS I need to edit the RAW, apply the in-camera settings, then SAVE (export) to a new JPEG so that I can open the new JPEG and get the jpeg refine options to further refine the image further and save it for a second time.
__________________
Cameras: E-M5, E-PM2, OM40, OM4Ti
Lenses (M.Zuiko Digital): 7-14mm/F2.8, 12-40mm/F2.8, 40-150mm/F2.8+TC1.4x, 12-50mm/F3.5-6.3, 14-42mm/F3.5-5.6 EZ, M.ZD 40-150 F4-5.6 R, 75-300mm/F4.8-6.7 Mk1, 12mm/F2, 17mm/F1.8
Lenses (OM Zuiko): 50mm/F1.2, 24mm/F2, 35mm/F2.8 shift
Lenses (OM Fit): Vivitar Series II 28-105mm/F2.8-3.8, Sigma 21-35mm/F3.4-4.2, Sigma 35-70mm/F2.8-4, Sigma 75-200mm/F2.8-3.5, Vivitar Series II 100-500mm/F5.6-8.0, Centon 500mm/F8 Mirror
Learn something new every day
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to OM USer For This Useful Post:
Ross the fiddler (23rd March 2019)
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Request Olympus E5 LCD replacement Graham grimshaw Tutorials, Informative & Classic threads 12 8th August 2018 09:33 PM
WANTED Replacement for my FT 12-60 SWD RobEW For sale or wanted small ads 16 12th May 2018 10:27 PM
BLN-1 Replacement DekHog General accessories 12 24th April 2018 04:10 PM
For sale Olympus E-M1 Battery Grip HLD-7 Replacement rosco For sale or wanted small ads 3 8th December 2015 10:05 PM
1.99 for a Energizer Ol1 Replacement Li-Ion Olympus Bll-1 WPJ Olympus E-1 2 26th December 2010 01:35 PM


All times are GMT. The time now is 12:33 AM.


The Write Technology Ltd, 2007-2019, All rights reservedAd Management plugin by RedTyger