Olympus UK E-System User Group
Olympus UK E-System User Group

Join our unique resource for Olympus Four Thirds E-System DSLR and Pen and OM-D Micro Four Thirds photographers. Show your images via our free e-group photo gallery. Please read the e-group.uk.net forum terms and conditions before posting for the first time. Above all, welcome!


Go Back   Olympus UK E-System User Group > Cameras, lenses and system accessories > Software

Software Discuss Olympus Master, Studio and Viewer software applications as well as third party programs like Adobe Photoshop, Lightroom, Apple Aperture, and others.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 16th September 2014
Greytop's Avatar
Greytop Greytop is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Berkshire, UK.
Posts: 6,624
Thanks: 1,140
Thanked 614 Times in 562 Posts
Likes: 1,632
Liked 888 Times in 311 Posts
Capture One Pro 8....

Has been released link
__________________
Regards Huw


Olympus equipment
Capture One Pro
My flickr
Reply With Quote
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to Greytop For This Useful Post:
Chevvyf1 (16th September 2014), OlyPaul (16th September 2014), Rawcoll (16th September 2014)
  #2  
Old 16th September 2014
Chevvyf1's Avatar
Chevvyf1 Chevvyf1 is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Devon, UK
Posts: 12,269
Thanks: 1,744
Thanked 1,281 Times in 1,112 Posts
Likes: 1,169
Liked 522 Times in 392 Posts
Re: Capture One Pro 8....

Yes I got an email offering the Upgrade - but I am not sure which "software way" way I shall go in the long run and now Retired, I cannot afford to upkeep/upgrade all my Corel Draw & Photopaint and Paintshop and Painter and Essentials AND Pro8 too decisions, decisions ... I shall put that to the bottom of the pile as they will have upgrades out soon
__________________
.
.
[I].
.
I Lurve Walking in our Glorious Countryside; Photography;
Riding Ducati Motorbikes; Reading & Cooking ! ...


http://www.flickr.com/photos/photomagicf1_chevvy/sets/

the ONE photo album
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 16th September 2014
Rawcoll's Avatar
Rawcoll Rawcoll is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Oxfordshire
Posts: 377
Thanks: 26
Thanked 62 Times in 34 Posts
Likes: 24
Liked 45 Times in 27 Posts
Re: Capture One Pro 8....

As I mentioned on another thread, an upgrade from C1 Express to C1 8 Pro is only 69 Euro + vat, dicounted from 173 Euro. This is the same as the C1 Pro 7 to 8 upgrade price! So if you've got Express, now might be the time to upgrade to Pro, with its additional features.

See http://www.phaseone.com/Online-Store...ureone=upgrade
__________________
Ian

(I can never think of anything witty to say when under pressure!)

GH2, G50, various m4/3rds lenses, Fuji X-T1 system

My website: www.icimaging.co.uk
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 16th September 2014
Chevvyf1's Avatar
Chevvyf1 Chevvyf1 is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Devon, UK
Posts: 12,269
Thanks: 1,744
Thanked 1,281 Times in 1,112 Posts
Likes: 1,169
Liked 522 Times in 392 Posts
Re: Capture One Pro 8....

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rawcoll View Post
As I mentioned on another thread, an upgrade from C1 Express to C1 8 Pro is only 69 Euro + vat, dicounted from 173 Euro. This is the same as the C1 Pro 7 to 8 upgrade price! So if you've got Express, now might be the time to upgrade to Pro, with its additional features.

See http://www.phaseone.com/Online-Store...ureone=upgrade
Very Interesting but why do 7 users have to pay more for 8 I wonder
__________________
.
.
[I].
.
I Lurve Walking in our Glorious Countryside; Photography;
Riding Ducati Motorbikes; Reading & Cooking ! ...


http://www.flickr.com/photos/photomagicf1_chevvy/sets/

the ONE photo album
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 16th September 2014
Rawcoll's Avatar
Rawcoll Rawcoll is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Oxfordshire
Posts: 377
Thanks: 26
Thanked 62 Times in 34 Posts
Likes: 24
Liked 45 Times in 27 Posts
Re: Capture One Pro 8....

Not quite sure I follow what you are querying there Chevvy. C1 Express is cheaper to buy outright than C1 Pro, so upgrading from Express to Pro is normally more expensive than upgrading from Pro to Pro. In this instance though, the upgrade price (v7 to v8) for Express 7 to Pro 8 is the same as Pro 7 to Pro 8. Most software manufacturers charge for edition upgrades, as opposed to the incremental upgrades, which are usually free. Can't help thinknig you know that already, so I suspect I've not answered your question!
__________________
Ian

(I can never think of anything witty to say when under pressure!)

GH2, G50, various m4/3rds lenses, Fuji X-T1 system

My website: www.icimaging.co.uk
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 16th September 2014
Chevvyf1's Avatar
Chevvyf1 Chevvyf1 is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Devon, UK
Posts: 12,269
Thanks: 1,744
Thanked 1,281 Times in 1,112 Posts
Likes: 1,169
Liked 522 Times in 392 Posts
Re: Capture One Pro 8....

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rawcoll View Post
Not quite sure I follow what you are querying there Chevvy. C1 Express is cheaper to buy outright than C1 Pro, so upgrading from Express to Pro is normally more expensive than upgrading from Pro to Pro. In this instance though, the upgrade price (v7 to v8) for Express 7 to Pro 8 is the same as Pro 7 to Pro 8. Most software manufacturers charge for edition upgrades, as opposed to the incremental upgrades, which are usually free. Can't help thinknig you know that already, so I suspect I've not answered your question!
Ian, I misunderstood your post sorry
__________________
.
.
[I].
.
I Lurve Walking in our Glorious Countryside; Photography;
Riding Ducati Motorbikes; Reading & Cooking ! ...


http://www.flickr.com/photos/photomagicf1_chevvy/sets/

the ONE photo album
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 23rd September 2014
Ross the fiddler's Avatar
Ross the fiddler Ross the fiddler is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Blue Mtns, NSW Australia
Posts: 14,231
Thanks: 2,090
Thanked 1,339 Times in 1,044 Posts
Likes: 5,535
Liked 2,181 Times in 1,163 Posts
Re: Capture One Pro 8....

I only upgraded from CO Express 7 at the end of June (at half price) to Pro 7, so was not that keen to spend again, but maybe I should have another look at it. Is it really worth going from 7 to 8?
__________________
Ross
I fiddle with violins (when I'm not fiddling with a camera).
Flickr: https://www.flickr.com/photos/ross-the-fiddler/
Cameras: OM-D E-M1 & Mk II, Olympus Stylus 1, OM-D E-M5.
Lenses: M.ZD7-14mm f2.8 PRO Lens, M.ZD12-40mm f2.8 PRO Lens, M.ZD40-150mm f2.8 PRO Lens, MC-14, MC-20, M.ZD12-50, M.ZD60 Macro, M.ZD75-300 Mk II, MMF-3, ZD14-54 II, Sigma 150mm F2.8 APO Macro DG HSM.
Flashes: FL36R X2, FL50R, FL50.
Software: Capture One Pro 10 (& Olympus Viewer 3).
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 23rd September 2014
OlyPaul's Avatar
OlyPaul OlyPaul is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: West Midlands
Posts: 5,470
Thanks: 140
Thanked 715 Times in 577 Posts
Likes: 177
Liked 875 Times in 355 Posts
Re: Capture One Pro 8....

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ross the fiddler View Post
I only upgraded from CO Express 7 at the end of June (at half price) to Pro 7, so was not that keen to spend again, but maybe I should have another look at it. Is it really worth going from 7 to 8?
Ross in my opinion yes, why do you not take advantage of the free trial like I did to see if it is for you.

Advantages

On my machine it runs faster and more efficient.

Many more extras on local adjustment layer masks that are much more friendly and usable than LR's

New highlight and shadow tool that actually works and as good if not better than LR

You can also now clone and heal on adjustment layers.

You will just have to try it to discover the rest.

Everything that is now available for use on adjustment layers.

__________________
Regards Paul.
One day I hope to be the person my dogs think I am.

https://www.flickr.com/photos/paul_silk/
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to OlyPaul For This Useful Post:
Ross the fiddler (23rd September 2014)
  #9  
Old 23rd September 2014
Greytop's Avatar
Greytop Greytop is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Berkshire, UK.
Posts: 6,624
Thanks: 1,140
Thanked 614 Times in 562 Posts
Likes: 1,632
Liked 888 Times in 311 Posts
Re: Capture One Pro 8....

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ross the fiddler View Post
I only upgraded from CO Express 7 at the end of June (at half price) to Pro 7, so was not that keen to spend again, but maybe I should have another look at it. Is it really worth going from 7 to 8?
My experience hasn't been quite so positive as Paul's as yet Ross. Whilst I'm impressed with the functionality I've had it freeze twice and the preview seems to take forever to sharpen up.
My PC is no slouch so I would put it down to a slight lack of testing. I will definitely upgrade when they have released a patch but for the moment I'm sticking with 7Pro YMMV
__________________
Regards Huw


Olympus equipment
Capture One Pro
My flickr
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Greytop For This Useful Post:
Ross the fiddler (23rd September 2014)
  #10  
Old 23rd September 2014
Rawcoll's Avatar
Rawcoll Rawcoll is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Oxfordshire
Posts: 377
Thanks: 26
Thanked 62 Times in 34 Posts
Likes: 24
Liked 45 Times in 27 Posts
Re: Capture One Pro 8....

Quote:
Originally Posted by Greytop View Post
I've had it freeze twice and the preview seems to take forever to sharpen up.
My PC is no slouch so I would put it down to a slight lack of testing.
Greytop, re. the freezing, it might be worth seeing whether OpenCL is off or on auto. If it's on auto, maybe switching it off might help. On the other hand, with it on auto, the application gains speed as it uses other processors in the system (i.e. video card), if I understand correctly.

David Grover of Phase 1 introduced C1v8 on the Luminous Landscape forum, and there is a lot of discusson there. See http://www.luminous-landscape.com/fo...?topic=93485.0
__________________
Ian

(I can never think of anything witty to say when under pressure!)

GH2, G50, various m4/3rds lenses, Fuji X-T1 system

My website: www.icimaging.co.uk
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 23rd September 2014
Greytop's Avatar
Greytop Greytop is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Berkshire, UK.
Posts: 6,624
Thanks: 1,140
Thanked 614 Times in 562 Posts
Likes: 1,632
Liked 888 Times in 311 Posts
Re: Capture One Pro 8....

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rawcoll View Post
Greytop, re. the freezing, it might be worth seeing whether OpenCL is off or on auto. If it's on auto, maybe switching it off might help. On the other hand, with it on auto, the application gains speed as it uses other processors in the system (i.e. video card), if I understand correctly.

David Grover of Phase 1 introduced C1v8 on the Luminous Landscape forum, and there is a lot of discusson there. See http://www.luminous-landscape.com/fo...?topic=93485.0
Thanks Ian, I did try and play about with the Open CL settings but to no avail. I can remember the initial version of 7 having similar issues with my then PC which were sorted out after some updates.
I'll reinstall and give it a go at some point in the next few days.
Lots of topics on the Phase One forum here too.
__________________
Regards Huw


Olympus equipment
Capture One Pro
My flickr
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Greytop For This Useful Post:
Rawcoll (23rd September 2014)
  #12  
Old 24th September 2014
Rawcoll's Avatar
Rawcoll Rawcoll is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Oxfordshire
Posts: 377
Thanks: 26
Thanked 62 Times in 34 Posts
Likes: 24
Liked 45 Times in 27 Posts
Re: Capture One Pro 8....

Another thing worth noting is that they will not be continuing with C1 Express, so it is probably worth taking advantage of the cheaper C1 Express to Pro upgrade.
__________________
Ian

(I can never think of anything witty to say when under pressure!)

GH2, G50, various m4/3rds lenses, Fuji X-T1 system

My website: www.icimaging.co.uk
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 24th September 2014
Ross the fiddler's Avatar
Ross the fiddler Ross the fiddler is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Blue Mtns, NSW Australia
Posts: 14,231
Thanks: 2,090
Thanked 1,339 Times in 1,044 Posts
Likes: 5,535
Liked 2,181 Times in 1,163 Posts
Re: Capture One Pro 8....

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rawcoll View Post
Another thing worth noting is that they will not be continuing with C1 Express, so it is probably worth taking advantage of the cheaper C1 Express to Pro upgrade.
If that's what you have at present, yes, it is excellent value. For myself, I have only had the Pro 7 (at half price upgrade from Express 7) for 3 months & Pro 8 needs to be pretty special for me to upgrade again right now. I am kicking myself because I paid 99 EUR then & I could have had the lot now for 69 EUR. I guess it is still something to think about.
__________________
Ross
I fiddle with violins (when I'm not fiddling with a camera).
Flickr: https://www.flickr.com/photos/ross-the-fiddler/
Cameras: OM-D E-M1 & Mk II, Olympus Stylus 1, OM-D E-M5.
Lenses: M.ZD7-14mm f2.8 PRO Lens, M.ZD12-40mm f2.8 PRO Lens, M.ZD40-150mm f2.8 PRO Lens, MC-14, MC-20, M.ZD12-50, M.ZD60 Macro, M.ZD75-300 Mk II, MMF-3, ZD14-54 II, Sigma 150mm F2.8 APO Macro DG HSM.
Flashes: FL36R X2, FL50R, FL50.
Software: Capture One Pro 10 (& Olympus Viewer 3).
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 24th September 2014
Rawcoll's Avatar
Rawcoll Rawcoll is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Oxfordshire
Posts: 377
Thanks: 26
Thanked 62 Times in 34 Posts
Likes: 24
Liked 45 Times in 27 Posts
Wink Re: Capture One Pro 8....

I feel your irritation Ross! Mind you, the 50% deal was a good one, and I expect in the fullness of time there'll be another deal on the Pro v7 to Pro v8 upgrade. Depends on how well you can hold off

I went straight for the Pro version, and at that time the offer price only covered my VAT! Trouble is, none of us knows what's around the corner.
__________________
Ian

(I can never think of anything witty to say when under pressure!)

GH2, G50, various m4/3rds lenses, Fuji X-T1 system

My website: www.icimaging.co.uk
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Rawcoll For This Useful Post:
Ross the fiddler (24th September 2014)
  #15  
Old 10th October 2014
Greytop's Avatar
Greytop Greytop is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Berkshire, UK.
Posts: 6,624
Thanks: 1,140
Thanked 614 Times in 562 Posts
Likes: 1,632
Liked 888 Times in 311 Posts
Re: Capture One Pro 8....

Version 8.0.1 has been released and appears to have sorted the problems I was having.
So now it's certainly more of a thumbs up from me and as a consequence I've gone ahead and upgraded.
__________________
Regards Huw


Olympus equipment
Capture One Pro
My flickr
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Greytop For This Useful Post:
Ross the fiddler (11th October 2014)
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Capture One 7 Tip OlyPaul Software 1 10th May 2014 11:09 AM
HELP! Capture One Pro 7 Chevvyf1 The lounge 14 29th October 2012 10:53 PM
capture One 6.4 drmarkf Olympus OM-D E-M5 1 1st May 2012 11:02 PM
Capture one 4 again Scapula Memory Software 5 6th February 2008 11:08 PM
Capture One 4 Andrew Riddell Software 4 23rd January 2008 07:07 PM


All times are GMT. The time now is 05:21 AM.


The Write Technology Ltd, 2007-2019, All rights reservedAd Management plugin by RedTyger